The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the Call? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91772-whats-call.html)

Adam Fri Jun 15, 2012 11:29pm

What's the Call?
 
NFHS rules:

Situation 1:

A1 is dribbling the ball, loses his balance and begins to fall.

As he's falling, he attempts to maintain his dribble, but ends up trapping the ball against the floor just before landing on his side.

Travel?

Situation 2:
A1 gets a rebound and starts his shooting motion. A2 loses his balance and falls into his teammate, A1. Official blows the whistle for a foul. A1 releases his try and it's successful.

Official then realizes his mistake and declares an accidental whistle.

Count the basket?

Camron Rust Sat Jun 16, 2012 01:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 846287)
NFHS rules:

Situation 1:

A1 is dribbling the ball, loses his balance and begins to fall.

As he's falling, he attempts to maintain his dribble, but ends up trapping the ball against the floor just before landing on his side.

Travel?

Situation 2:
A1 gets a rebound and starts his shooting motion. A2 loses his balance and falls into his teammate, A1. Official blows the whistle for a foul. A1 releases his try and it's successful.

Official then realizes his mistake and declares an accidental whistle.

Count the basket?

#1. No. I don't consider a player to be holding the ball when it is trapped between his hand and the floor..

#2. No...by rule, the ball became dead at the whistle since there was no foul by the defense involved. A's ball for the IW.

Nevadaref Sat Jun 16, 2012 03:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 846304)
#1. No. I don't consider a player to be holding the ball when it is trapped between his hand the floor..

#2. No...by rule, the ball became dead at the whistle since there was no foul by the defense involved. A1' ball for the IW.

I agree with Camron. :)

BillyMac Sat Jun 16, 2012 07:57am

Embarrassed To Say, Been There, Done That ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 846287)
A2 loses his balance and falls into his teammate, A1. Official blows the whistle for a foul.

This can really happen. I've whistled this type of foul twice in thirty one years.

bainsey Sat Jun 16, 2012 09:16am

#1 If you pinned the ball to the floor and requested a time out, you won't get it. Pinning the ball to the floor is not control. No control, no travel.

#2 There's got to be something under the realm of advantage/disadvantage that would allow the shot to count. Thoughts?

Camron Rust Sat Jun 16, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 846337)
#2 There's got to be something under the realm of advantage/disadvantage that would allow the shot to count. Thoughts?

Yo might be able to get away with doing something like that but it wouldn't be correct under the rules.

APG Sat Jun 16, 2012 03:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 846337)
#2 There's got to be something under the realm of advantage/disadvantage that would allow the shot to count. Thoughts?

It would be the "fair" thing to do...to count the basket, but as Camron alluded to, by rule, you'd be wrong by rule.

JetMetFan Sat Jun 16, 2012 03:46pm

Agree with CR. No control falling to the floor in #1. No continuous motion in #2...basically, take the contact out of the equation and you have an IW with A1 holding the ball.

Adam Sat Jun 16, 2012 09:49pm

Both of these happened in my games this weekend. I was L when T called #1 a travel. The C agreed with the call (he and I talked after the game.) While I could follow the logic, I disagreed with it.

On #2, we ended up counting the basket. I know, by rule, it was not the right call, but it certainly wasn't worth even having a discussion. The firestorm that would have followed would not have been worth it.

I'm curious about what our rules guru will say about #1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:03am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1