The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Handing-off of an inbounds pass to the opposing team??? play on or violation? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/91205-handing-off-inbounds-pass-opposing-team-play-violation.html)

DiscoHristo Wed May 16, 2012 01:10am

Handing-off of an inbounds pass to the opposing team??? play on or violation?
 
Tonight we had an interesting play in our game. Instead of the inbounds player handing it off to his own teammate, he handed it off to a player on the opposing team from the inbounds. Basically, the inbounds passer placed the ball over the line and handed it off to the defender. Since, the pass was never thrown in, would that be out of bounds on the defender? out of bounds on the inbounds passer? or play on?

Everyone just kinda stopped for a second and since there was no whistle, play resumed. It just seems akward. I looked all over the rule book and all i can find is that A.) the ball must be passed in. B.) if an inbounds passer hands off to his own teammmate, it is an out of bounds violation.

So my question is, what would the ruling be on this?

APG Wed May 16, 2012 01:31am

7.6.4 SITUATION A: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1’s hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B’s basket.

RULING: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.

JugglingReferee Wed May 16, 2012 12:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DiscoHristo (Post 842064)
Tonight we had an interesting play in our game. Instead of the inbounds player handing it off to his own teammate, he handed it off to a player on the opposing team from the inbounds. Basically, the inbounds passer placed the ball over the line and handed it off to the defender. Since, the pass was never thrown in, would that be out of bounds on the defender? out of bounds on the inbounds passer? or play on?

Everyone just kinda stopped for a second and since there was no whistle, play resumed. It just seems akward. I looked all over the rule book and all i can find is that A.) the ball must be passed in. B.) if an inbounds passer hands off to his own teammmate, it is an out of bounds violation.

So my question is, what would the ruling be on this?

And if B1 and the thrower-in get in a held ball situation, use the arrow. If you were using the arrow, A keeps the APA TI.

DiscoHristo Wed May 16, 2012 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 842065)
7.6.4 SITUATION A: While attempting a throw-in, A1 holds the ball through the plane of the end line. B1: (a) slaps the ball from A1’s hand(s); or (b) simply grabs the ball and then throws it through B’s basket.

RULING: In (a), no violation has occurred and play continues. In (b), score two points for Team B.

thanks.. great explanation

constable Thu May 17, 2012 01:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DiscoHristo (Post 842156)
thanks.. great explanation



I'm sure APG will pass on your kudos to the authors and editors of the NFHS casebook.

APG Thu May 17, 2012 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by constable (Post 842211)
I'm sure APG will pass on your kudos to the authors and editors of the NFHS casebook.

Nope, I'll take full credit. :cool:


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:05pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1