![]() |
NF 4-44-5 Traveling
During a scramble for a loose ball, A1 gets possession of the ball, while on both knees. With no defensive pressure, A1 moves one leg from from having the knee on the floor to a foot. There is no apparent "...attempt to get up or stand." -- NF 4-44-5 b. A1 then passes the ball to a A2 and play continues.
Coach B protests that the knee to foot movement is traveling. Is there any written statement that changing the position of one leg from knee contact with the floor to foot contact, constitutes an "attempt to get up or stand" and thus a traveling violation? |
Judgment call
|
Traveling. Going from a knee to a foot IS part of an attempt to get up. You could break the "get up" in to many small pieces and they'd still be part of getting up.
The only movement allowed in an "updward" manner is sitting up if they are on their back. |
Quote:
|
Gotta agree with Mr. Rust. Why else would the player go from the knee to the foot unless they are making an effort to stand up? Sounds like a travel to me.
|
I'm not sure I disagree, I'm just not sure I agree either. I think it might be similar to using a pivot foot. Not trying to get up, but getting the balance needed to make the pass. I don't know - I just think the wording in the rules makes it too vague to say with absolute certainty.
|
Quote:
I generally allow them to get up before blowing instead of making interpretations about what the player was trying to accomplish. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Any call we can make via a discernable act, rather than via judgment, makes thing more objective than subjective, and is better for everyone involved. |
Quote:
|
Favorite Color Is Gray ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thats the reason why I would wait & see if a knee to foot is an truly an attempt to get up or just an attempt to get off that sore knee. I believe there is a difference. Afterall, whenever I attempt to get up, I always wind up in a standing position on my feet. IMO, being patient on violations & giving ourselves a chance to replay it in our minds before blowing is the best practice. In the OP he passed the ball immediately after going knee to foot. Too bad we cant see the play. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Most times it is spitting hairs about whether a player did something or not and I'm fine with staying out of those.....such as a travel call when the dribble release and foot movement were really close in time. In this case, a clear change of position is hard to dispute. From two knees to a foot and a knee is hard to dispute. You can say it isn't part of getting up but if it isn't, why is the player doing it...it gives them a more advantageous stance from which to make a play. |
Quote:
If he wants to lift the knee slightly, that will get him off a sore knee...but he doesn't need to get to a foot to accomplish that. Do you let players travel who have a sore ankle? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
My opinion comes from the fact that it is a violation to contact the ground with any part of the body other than a hand or foot while holding the ball. I see that breaking contact with the ground of the same situation as the attempt to get up....aside from the permitted act of sitting up. |
He doesn't have to get up to travel.
He has to ATTEMPT to get up. He didn't need to go from his knee to foot to make a pass. Going from knee to foot is is an attempt, whether he actually gets up or not. That's the NFHS interpretation, not anyone that posts here. It amazes me some of the things that are debated here sometimes. |
Quote:
Just trying to help as we haven't heard much from Mr. Annoying Grammar Guy recently. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Addendum
In the OP, I was about to make the traveling call, and then realized that the intent of the player was not to "get up or stand". The coach wouldn't let it go, and because we have a good relationship, I told him I'd look for some official interp. But, as evidenced by the entries on this thread, so far, there's no reference that would define the issue.
I really don't care which way an official interp may go. I find it curious that we haven't been able to quote a recognized source - NFHS, IAABO, etc, other than the practiced, well respected opinions of our colleagues, which do carry some weight and value. As stated by several posters, the ambiguity may be the real point. |
Quote:
If they had to document every potentital scenario in the book, then they'd be still printing the First Edition. |
If a player is on his knees and then shifts his position, placing a foot on the floor, this is a normal progression of events toward standing, even if it was not the player's intent to do so. This is a violation every time.
|
Quote:
|
Agree ...
Quote:
|
Hmmm....how would you call this play....
A1 has the ball while on both knees. A1 lifts his left knee and returns it to the floor. What is your call? Does it matter if the lift is 2" or 10"? A1 then lifts his right knee and returns it to the floor. Do you have a call now? If not, What if A1 repeats the above actions 2 times, 3 times, 10 times? Still not traveling? How many times can A1 lift a knee and put it back down on the floor? How far can A1 move using such a technique? If the traveling rule only regulates foot movement, and not knee movement, is this a legal tactic? Or, does it make sense to consider the lifting and returning to the floor of a foot/knee while the player is on the floor as if the knee/foot were a pivot foot? |
Get's 'Em Every Time ...
Quote:
(With apologies to Maxwell Smart, Secret Agent 86.) |
Quote:
+! Travel, travel, travel every time. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:28pm. |