The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   As requested by Snaqwell (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/90569-requested-snaqwell.html)

APG Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:21pm

As requested by Snaqwell: Elbow Foul
 
<iframe src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/YGGplQDphNQ" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="360" width="640"></iframe>

.

Scrapper1 Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:07am

Is this Flagrant 1 in NCAA? It's elbow contact above the shoulders, but it doesn't look like it results from pivoting.

JRutledge Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:11am

I think it was totally inadvertent. John Adams said that we should not call FF1 on plays where there is elbow contact on a normal movement. He did not swing his arms, he was catching a pass above his head. I got nothing in NCAA rules.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 837193)
Is this Flagrant 1 in NCAA? It's elbow contact above the shoulders, but it doesn't look like it results from pivoting.

Yes.

While contact with the elbow need not be an automatic foul if it is incidental, when the contact with the elbow is sufficient for a foul and it is above the shoulders, it is an automatic FF1 (or FF2 if it is from excessive swinging of the elbows).

The was clearly not incidental as they did call an offensive foul on the play. So, under NCAA rules, it would be a FF1.

From the NCAA rulebook:
Men’s Changes for 2012 and 2013
Definitions. 4-29.2.c.6. In summary, contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a is a flagrant 1 personal foul and results in two free throws and the ball awarded to the offended team (2010-2011 rule change).

4-29-2c:
A flagrant 1 personal foul shall be a personal foul that is deemed excessive in nature and/or unnecessary, but not based solely on the severity of the act. Examples include, but are not limited to:
6. Illegal contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a.

BillyMac Fri Apr 13, 2012 06:12am

Mild Concussion ...
 
Timberwolves All-Star Kevin Love suffers mild concussion after taking elbow to head - The Washington Post

Raymond Fri Apr 13, 2012 07:55am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 837194)
I think it was totally inadvertent. John Adams said that we should not call FF1 on plays where there is elbow contact on a normal movement. He did not swing his arms, he was catching a pass above his head. I got nothing in NCAA rules.

Peace

As Camron said, once this was whistled a foul on McGee, because of the contact with the elbow to Love's face, you have to go with at least a FF1 if this were a NCAA game. Choices are nothing (incidental contact/no foul), FF1, or FF2.

JRutledge Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 837219)
As Camron said, once this was whistled a foul on McGee, because of the contact with the elbow to Love's face, you have to go with at least a FF1 if this were a NCAA game. Choices are nothing (incidental contact/no foul), FF1, or FF2.

Well of course as the benefit of replay that is what we could clearly see, but what if you think the contact is not with the elbow alone or the official did not think the contact was with the elbow?

I will go back and look at the bulletins, but I believe that this was address and it was said that all contact was not to be called a FF when it was apart of normal basketball movements. Now this was very close, but I was under the impression at least by interpretation not to make all contact with the elbow a FF.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Apr 13, 2012 12:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 837219)
As Camron said, once this was whistled a foul on McGee, because of the contact with the elbow to Love's face, you have to go with at least a FF1 if this were a NCAA game. Choices are nothing (incidental contact/no foul), FF1, or FF2.

All that said, and even in spite of the result of this foul, I really don't think all elbow fouls should be FF1+. I think there is a class of elbow fouls that are inadvertent but clearly a foul that should still be common fouls....but the NCAA rules do not support that option.

In this case, the action, while sufficient for a foul, really wasn't an "elbow foul" in the sense of what the NCAA rule was trying to address. It happened to involve the elbow but the shooter didn't lead with his elbow anymore than a normal shooter does. It was merely coincidental to a pretty basic player control foul. Yet, the NCAA rules don't give an option less than FF1.

Raymond Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 837264)
All that said, and even in spite of the result of this foul, I really don't think all elbow fouls should be FF1+. I think there is a class of elbow fouls that are inadvertent but clearly a foul that should still be common fouls....but the NCAA rules do not support that option.

In this case, the action, while sufficient for a foul, really wasn't an "elbow foul" in the sense of what the NCAA rule was trying to address. It happened to involve the elbow but the shooter didn't lead with his elbow anymore than a normal shooter does. It was merely coincidental to a pretty basic player control foul. Yet, the NCAA rules don't give an option less than FF1.

I actually was going through that same thought process before I replied so I re-examined the rule and case books to see if there were any allowances for any foul involving contact above the shoulders by an elbow to be deemed as non-Flagrant. As we've both stated there are none.

tref Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 837272)
I actually was going through that same thought process before I replied so I re-examined the rule and case books to see if there were any allowances for any foul involving contact above the shoulders by an elbow to be deemed as non-Flagrant. As we've both stated there are none.

Me too :o

If we dont deem it flagrant our only out is to not put a whistle on it & it falls into incidental contact... right??

bainsey Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:30pm

Interesting. So, how would this translate down to NFHS? Incidental? Foul? (I can't see intentional here.)

Raymond Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 837276)
Me too :o

If we dont deem it flagrant our only out is to not put a whistle on it & it falls into incidental contact... right??

Yep, JA has put out a couple videos demonstrating officials incorrectly downgrading to IW after going to the monitor. And in one of those plays the primary (Lead/New Trail) did not have a whistle but the 2 outside officials did and it turned out there was no contact at all.

However, I wish, that if we go to the monitor and see there is no "elbow/above shoulder" contact that we at least be allowed to downgrade to common foul.

tref Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 837278)
Interesting. So, how would this translate down to NFHS? Incidental? Foul? (I can't see intentional here.)

It can still be a p/c in HS, elbow contact above the shoulders cannot be a p/c in college.

Raymond Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 837278)
Interesting. So, how would this translate down to NFHS? Incidental? Foul? (I can't see intentional here.)

Either PC or nothing, depending on your judgement.

Camron Rust Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 837278)
Interesting. So, how would this translate down to NFHS? Incidental? Foul? (I can't see intentional here.)

On that play, I'd have a basic NFHS PC foul.

JRutledge Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 837283)
Either PC or nothing, depending on your judgement.

I even think it could be a block if you deem the defender not being in a legal position (just for debate purposes). But I do not see this elbow being anything I would call other than a regular foul.

Peace

Camron Rust Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 837276)
If we dont deem it flagrant our only out is to not put a whistle on it & it falls into incidental contact... right??

Not exactly the right thinking.

You don't judge if it was flagrant then decide to blow the whistle. You decide if a foul occurred and call it. If called and it was an elbow above the shoulders, it is automatically upgraded to FF1.

The elbow contact doesn't have to be flagrant in nature to be FF1...just simply a foul above the shoulders involving the elbow.

It is a deterrent to having the elbows in a position that could cause harm, even on basic fouls.

tref Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:49pm

Ok makes sense, I just like to be cognizant of the consequences of my whistles before I blow it.
In the play under NCAA rules, are you calling that a FF1?

JugglingReferee Fri Apr 13, 2012 01:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 837263)
Well of course as the benefit of replay that is what we could clearly see, but what if you think the contact is not with the elbow alone or the official did not think the contact was with the elbow?

I will go back and look at the bulletins, but I believe that this was address and it was said that all contact was not to be called a FF when it was apart of normal basketball movements. Now this was very close, but I was under the impression at least by interpretation not to make all contact with the elbow a FF.

Peace

Normal basketball movement means moving to occupy an empty space, not space already occupied by someone else's head. A2 was responsible to keep his elbows down and legal.

It's akin to the focus on hockey hits in the CHL.

JRutledge Fri Apr 13, 2012 02:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 837295)
Normal basketball movement means moving to occupy an empty space, not space already occupied by someone else's head. A2 was responsible to keep his elbows down and legal.

It's akin to the focus on hockey hits in the CHL.

Maybe that is your definition and that is fine, but when a player is making a catch and going to the basket, that is pretty normal to me. He did not try to throw an elbow or not have his arms raised for anything other than making a play at the basket. It was very unintentional to hit Love in the head with an elbow. And Hockey is much different as they are not shooting at something that is above their head. If they do, there are penalties that can be equated to that action. This is only an NCAA rule now and probably is going to change because of the overemphasis of every contact with an elbow.

Peace

Jeremy Hohn Fri Apr 13, 2012 04:32pm

Sometimes faces beat up elbows.

Nevadaref Fri Apr 13, 2012 07:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 837289)
I even think it could be a block if you deem the defender not being in a legal position (just for debate purposes). But I do not see this elbow being anything I would call other than a regular foul.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 837194)
I think it was totally inadvertent. John Adams said that we should not call FF1 on plays where there is elbow contact on a normal movement. He did not swing his arms, he was catching a pass above his head. I got nothing in NCAA rules.

So would you call a foul or not on this play?

Would you call a foul in an NFHS game?
Would you call a foul in an NCAA game?

Adam Fri Apr 13, 2012 10:42pm

Thanks, the local radio tool in Denver was screaming that it should have been a block.

JRutledge Sat Apr 14, 2012 12:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 837328)
So would you call a foul or not on this play?

Would you call a foul in an NFHS game?
Would you call a foul in an NCAA game?

I do not call the game differently from a HS or college game. The issue I was raising was not if a foul should be called, but if we should call a Flagrant Foul or not according to NCAA Men's Rules (I do not work Women's so I have no idea if there is a different classification).

This is what I found on page 12 of the NCAA Rulebook under the heading, "Major Officiating Concerns for Men."

Flagrant 1 or Flagrant 2 Fouls for Elbow Contact

Officials are reminded that there can be incidental contact with the elbow above
or below the shoulders
; swinging of the elbow is required for the foul to be
classified as a flagrant 1 or 2 foul. Some incidental contact is being penalized
improperly.

The ball handler did not swing the elbows in this play to create space or create contact purposely with the elbows. The ball handler was moving to the basket after they received above their head to likely shoot. Kevin Love seemed to be in a legal position and a foul was properly called a PC foul IMO. Now the NBA does not have the same rules with elbow contact to my understanding so nothing more than an PC or offensive foul was called, which I would agree with if this was an NCAA game. There is no such classification of a FF1 or FF2 in NF Rules, so that would not cross my mind at that level and there are no elbow rules to suggest that only an intentional foul should be called just for these kinds of plays.

Peace

bainsey Sun Apr 15, 2012 08:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 837289)
I even think it could be a block if you deem the defender not being in a legal position (just for debate purposes).

I don't see how. LGP or no LGP, if you take an elbow to the temple, how can that be on you?

BillyMac Sun Apr 15, 2012 09:24am

Been There ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 837435)
If you take an elbow to the temple, how can that be on you?

You've never seen a player "run into an elbow"? In a NFHS game it can be very violent, very bloody, and still not be illegal contact, and thus, no foul.

JRutledge Sun Apr 15, 2012 09:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 837435)
I don't see how. LGP or no LGP, if you take an elbow to the temple, how can that be on you?

Well that is clear that the NCAA does not feel that way and nothing in NF rules suggest what you are saying is true either.

Peace

Scrapper1 Mon Apr 16, 2012 11:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 837195)
While contact with the elbow need not be an automatic foul if it is incidental, when the contact with the elbow is sufficient for a foul and it is above the shoulders, it is an automatic FF1 (or FF2 if it is from excessive swinging of the elbows).

From the NCAA rulebook:
Men’s Changes for 2012 and 2013
Definitions. 4-29.2.c.6. In summary, contact with an elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a is a flagrant 1 personal foul and results in two free throws and the ball awarded to the offended team (2010-2011 rule change).

This comment on the rule is badly written. It does not say what the rule actually means. The comment above says that any elbow contact above the shoulders when the elbows are not swung excessively is a FF1. So technically, by the wording of this comment, if a player jumps for a rebound and, on the way back to the ground, his elbow touches the head of an opponent who didn't even jump, it's a FF1.

But this is not what the rulemakers intended, as evidenced by Jeff's post earlier:

Quote:

Officials are reminded that there can be incidental contact with the elbow above or below the shoulders; swinging of the elbow is required for the foul to be classified as a flagrant 1 or 2 foul. Some incidental contact is being penalized improperly.
The comment quoted by Camron above should read:"contact with a swinging elbow that occurs above the shoulders of an opponent when the elbows are not swung excessively per 4-36.7.a is a flagrant 1 personal foul and results in two free throws and the ball awarded to the offended team."


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1