The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Celtics play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/90523-celtics-play.html)

Adam Tue Apr 10, 2012 06:59pm

Celtics play
 
APG, can you get the block charge from today's game at 6:58 in the 2nd?

Mark Padgett Tue Apr 10, 2012 07:54pm

Then please see if you can get Labron's drive to the basket with 5:18 left in the 3rd. It looked to me like he traveled (even under NBE rules) twice, once at the beginning of the drive and then again after he gathered the ball. The Celtics were complaining, too. Thanks.

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 03:35am

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/sorD9K48Vj0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="640" height="360" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/8GhIwqDdU18" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

JugglingReferee Wed Apr 11, 2012 06:49am

Eeek.

I've got a PC and two travels, even by NBE standards.

ref3808 Wed Apr 11, 2012 07:08am

I see a PC and an easy travel call that my rec league middle school "officials" would spot 99% of the time.

There were some other questionable calls as well, I think in the 4th quarter Pierce took a what should have been a charge from Lebron that went as a no call. I can't recall the others.

JeroenB Wed Apr 11, 2012 07:32am

That travel is just horrible, even by NBA standards...

Scrapper1 Wed Apr 11, 2012 07:38am

PC, but I'm not 100% sure on the travel at the end of Lebron's drive. Remember that the NBA changed their traveling rule to allow 2 steps after establishing a pivot foot. That means (I think) that you can establish a pivot foot, step with the other foot (thus lifting the pivot) and then step again (placing the pivot back on the floor) and this is legal.

And I think that's what Lebron did at the end of that drive. It's hard to see exactly when he gathers the ball, but I think he only steps twice after gathering.

tref Wed Apr 11, 2012 08:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref3808 (Post 836822)
I see a PC and an easy travel call that my rec league middle school "officials" would spot 99% of the time.

Lets complete that thought...
Wreck league middle school officials also spot travels that didnt occur.

That being said, looks like a tough ICC on the first play. How many times do we see defenders taking block/charge plays in the b/c??

And I dont see a travel off the pass, but after the gather he does take 3.



The day ANY of us has a perfect game we should retire. Leave on a "high note" like George Costanza.

JugglingReferee Wed Apr 11, 2012 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 836828)
PC, but I'm not 100% sure on the travel at the end of Lebron's drive. Remember that the NBA changed their traveling rule to allow 2 steps after establishing a pivot foot. That means (I think) that you can establish a pivot foot, step with the other foot (thus lifting the pivot) and then step again (placing the pivot back on the floor) and this is legal.

And I think that's what Lebron did at the end of that drive. It's hard to see exactly when he gathers the ball, but I think he only steps twice after gathering.

Since the right foot was last to touch, and therefore would be the step to possibly rule as a travel, the question becomes is the left on the ground when he gathered the ball.

I think it is. In fact, I think he has two hands on the ball when the left is still touching the floor.

JugglingReferee Wed Apr 11, 2012 09:02am

The only was that there is no travel at the beginning of LeBron's possession, is if the NBE dribble step allotment is identical to the shot allotment.

JRutledge Wed Apr 11, 2012 09:44am

Wasn't he fouled? If he is fouled before he travels and it looks like that based on that would be the only contact that would negate any travel. They did not show the angle from the official's point of view so I am wondering how much of a foul it was, but it appears a foul was called in real time on the right arm while LeBron is in the act of shooting. It may have actually been a travel first, but it appears the call was about a foul as a result. What would have been a better question is should the basket could on a foul where the player "travels" after being fouled?

Peace

truerookie Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836846)
Wasn't he fouled? If he is fouled before he travels and it looks like that based on that would be the only contact that would negate any travel. They did not show the angle from the official's point of view so I am wondering how much of a foul it was, but it appears a foul was called in real time on the right arm while LeBron is in the act of shooting. It may have actually been a travel first, but it appears the call was about a foul as a result. What would have been a better question is should the basket could on a foul where the player "travels" after being fouled?

Peace


Yes, travel did not occur until after the hit on the arm. I tend to believe that if you did/do not call the travel why negate the foul called. Thus, count the basket.

Raymond Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 836849)
Yes, travel did not occur until after the hit on the arm. I tend to believe that if you did/do not call the travel why negate the foul called. Thus, count the basket.

If a player in the act of shooting gets fouled and then travels before releasing the shot then you should wipe the basket and award 2 free-throws.

letemplay Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:12am

I'll agree with most on the travel, but disagree with most on the PC.

truerookie Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 836851)
If a player in the act of shooting gets fouled and then travels before releasing the shot then you should wipe the basket and award 2 free-throws.

BNR,

I understand that. I knew you would come along to make sure I knew it..:D

JRutledge Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 836849)
Yes, travel did not occur until after the hit on the arm. I tend to believe that if you did/do not call the travel why negate the foul called. Thus, count the basket.

I was not saying negate the foul, just asking if we should count the basket or not on this kind of play if the foul takes place? Then after the foul technically travels, do we count the basket? Or do we give 2 shots instead if the ball goes in anyway?

But it appears you got the gist of what I was saying.

Peace

truerookie Wed Apr 11, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836867)
I was not saying negate the foul, just asking if we should count the basket or not on this kind of play if the foul takes place? Then after the foul technically travels, do we count the basket? Or do we give 2 shots instead if the ball goes in anyway?

But it appears you got the gist of what I was saying.

Peace

JRut,

I did get the gist. The point you brought up was valid too. Do we count or not count the basket if the travel occurs while in the act of shooting? Award two shots for the foul. These discussions are helpful..

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 836821)
Eeek.

I've got a PC and two travels, even by NBE standards.

Well you're wrong on the first play. This is a blocking foul and this is an easy call under NBA rules (and is pretty damn close under NFHS/NCAA rules). A defender must allow a player who receives a pass outside the lower defensive box the opportunity to land and stop and/or change direction. The defender in the above play did not do that thus, he did not have a legal position.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 836828)
PC, but I'm not 100% sure on the travel at the end of Lebron's drive. Remember that the NBA changed their traveling rule to allow 2 steps after establishing a pivot foot. That means (I think) that you can establish a pivot foot, step with the other foot (thus lifting the pivot) and then step again (placing the pivot back on the floor) and this is legal.

And I think that's what Lebron did at the end of that drive. It's hard to see exactly when he gathers the ball, but I think he only steps twice after gathering.

A player is allowed two steps after they've gathered the ball....not after they've established a pivot foot. The first step occurs after the player has gathered the ball and takes a step. So for example, a player gathers the ball with a left foot on the floor...step one occurs when he steps with the right foot...step two occurs when he steps with the left foot. In that case, the right foot is the pivot foot. And the first example, that would be a travel under NCAA/NFHS rules. Second example: Player gathers the ball with the left foot on the floor. Player steps with the right foot (step 1), then jumps off the right foot and lands simultaneously on both feet (considered step 2). This is a travel under NFHS/NCAA rules but a legal play under NBA rules (and the player wouldn't be able to pivot afterward). Third example...player gathers the ball with the left foot on the floor....he jumps off that left foot and lands on both feet simultaneously (considered step 1). Player is allowed to pivot here but wouldn't under NFHS/NCAA rules.

As to the second play, I have nothing at the beginning of the dribble. Player gathered the all with the left foot on the floor, steps with the right, the starts the dribble as the 2nd foot comes to the floor. I do have a travel at the end of the dribble though as I have the player gathering the ball in mid air, stepping with the right foot (step 1), stepping with the left foot (step 2), then stepping with the right again (step 3).

Adam Wed Apr 11, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836846)
Wasn't he fouled? If he is fouled before he travels and it looks like that based on that would be the only contact that would negate any travel. They did not show the angle from the official's point of view so I am wondering how much of a foul it was, but it appears a foul was called in real time on the right arm while LeBron is in the act of shooting. It may have actually been a travel first, but it appears the call was about a foul as a result. What would have been a better question is should the basket could on a foul where the player "travels" after being fouled?

Peace

Haven't we discussed this extensively; with the conclusion being that you wave off the score and award two shots?

The ball does not become dead on the foul if it's by the defense and the shooting motion has begun. It does, however, become dead when the offense commits a violation. Thus no basket, but two shots.

rwest Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:04pm

No such rule in NFHS
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836886)
Well you're wrong on the first play. This is a blocking foul and this is an easy call under NBA rules (and is pretty damn close under NFHS/NCAA rules). A defender must allow a player who receives a pass outside the lower defensive block the opportunity to land and stop and/or change direction. The defender in the above play did not do that thus, he did not have a legal position.

In NFHS there is no rule specific to the lower defensive block. Also Wade wasn't in the air so there was no reason to give him a landing spot. He was running. A defender does not have to give a player any time or distance if the offensive player has the ball. Wade clearly was in possession. The defender had two feet on the floor with his torso facing Wade. Clearly he had LGP. PC in NFHS all the way.

berserkBBK Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836886)
Well you're wrong on the first play. This is a blocking foul and this is an easy call under NBA rules (and is pretty damn close under NFHS/NCAA rules). A defender must allow a player who receives a pass outside the lower defensive block the opportunity to land and stop and/or change direction. The defender in the above play did not do that thus, he did not have a legal position.

I did not know this rule exists in the NBA. The area works the same as a player giving one step on a screen. Would this be the same on a rebound as a pass?

Under NFHS/NCAA I have a PC foul.

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 836902)
In NFHS there is no rule specific to the lower defensive block. Also Wade wasn't in the air so there was no reason to give him a landing spot. He was running. A defender does not have to give a player any time or distance if the offensive player has the ball. Wade clearly was in possession. The defender had two feet on the floor with his torso facing Wade. Clearly he had LGP. PC in NFHS all the way.

I never said it wasn't a charge under NF/NCAA rules...I just said it was close...especially since people here were applying NFHS/NCAA rules to that play and thinking it was an obvious charge even by their "NBE" standards. And I meant to say lower defensive box rather than block...got ahead of myself.

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 836903)
I did not know this rule exists in the NBA. The area works the same as a player giving one step on a screen. Would this be the same on a rebound as a pass?

Under NFHS/NCAA I have a PC foul.

Let me just clarify one point real quick...I meant to say lower defensive box rather than block...got ahead of myself as to what the correct call was on this play.

To your question, need a little bit more information...where did the play occur? Describe more aptly what happened before contact.

berserkBBK Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:13pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836905)
I never said it wasn't a charge under NF/NCAA rules...I just said it was close...especially since people here were applying NFHS/NCAA rules to that play and thinking it was an obvious charge even by their "NBE" standards. And I meant to say lower defensive box rather than block...got ahead of myself.

defensive box meaning the defensive lane area?

tref Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 836903)
The area works the same as a player giving one step on a screen.

One step on a blind screen but even a screen in the FOV requires the screener to give the defense an opportunity to stop &/or change directions.

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 836909)
defensive box meaning the defensive lane area?

The lower defensive box is an area in the frontcourt bound by the 3 foot marks on each side of the lane and the lower tip of the free throw circle. So in English haha:

There's a mark on the court, 3 feet outside each lane line. That's the outside edge of the lower defensive box. The top portion would be the lower part of the free throw circle (remember they have this because the NBA doesn't use the AP method).

The lower defensive box is important in determining whether the restricted area applies on a block/charge play and to whether a player has to afford a player who receives a pass an opportunity to stop and change direction.

JugglingReferee Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836886)
Well you're wrong on the first play. This is a blocking foul and this is an easy call under NBA rules (and is pretty damn close under NFHS/NCAA rules). A defender must allow a player who receives a pass outside the lower defensive box the opportunity to land and stop and/or change direction. The defender in the above play did not do that thus, he did not have a legal position.

Good to learn! Thanks.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836905)
I never said it wasn't a charge under NF/NCAA rules...I just said it was close...especially since people here were applying NFHS/NCAA rules to that play and thinking it was an obvious charge even by their "NBE" standards. And I meant to say lower defensive box rather than block...got ahead of myself.

My "NBE standards" applied to the travel clip, not to the B/C clip. Perhaps my punctuation was in error.

berserkBBK Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836915)
The lower defensive box is a area on the court bound by the 3 foot marks on each side of the lane and the lower tip of the free throw circle. So in English haha:

There's a mark on the court, 3 feet outside each lane line. That's the outside edge of the lower defensive box. The top portion would be the lower part of the free throw circle (remember they have this because the NBA doesn't use the AP method).

The lower defensive box is important in determining whether the restricted area applies on a block/charge play and to whether a player has to afford a player who receives a pass an opportunity to stop and change direction.

I think I got it, but just for the sake of easiness lets just say a defensive rebound occurs where the pass in the first play was made. Player turns takes a step and crashes into a player before the step was completed.

JRutledge Wed Apr 11, 2012 12:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836894)
Haven't we discussed this extensively; with the conclusion being that you wave off the score and award two shots?

The ball does not become dead on the foul if it's by the defense and the shooting motion has begun. It does, however, become dead when the offense commits a violation. Thus no basket, but two shots.

Not sure I remember or were directly involved in those discussions here, but there are discussions I have had about this issue previously. But in this discussion people seem to be intent on that there was a travel and did not seem to focus on the foul that might have affected any travel being called. That is the only reason I pointed that out.

Peace

APG Wed Apr 11, 2012 01:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 836917)
I think I got it, but just for the sake of easiness lets just say a defensive rebound occurs where the pass in the first play was made. Player turns takes a step and crashes into a player before the step was completed.

No time or distance is required to be given to a dribbler when trying to get in a legal position. Strictly speaking, if the player got the ball on the run, then no time or distance is required to be given. If the player jumps to grab the ball, then a defensive player must allow airborne players outside the LDB to land and stop/change direction.

Adam Wed Apr 11, 2012 01:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 836921)
Not sure I remember or were directly involved in those discussions here, but there are discussions I have had about this issue previously. But in this discussion people seem to be intent on that there was a travel and did not seem to focus on the foul that might have affected any travel being called. That is the only reason I pointed that out.

Peace

By rule, it seems pretty simple. Although in practice it won't always be that clear.

Jump shooter goes up, gets fouled, comes down, and releases his shot that goes in. Easy to give him two shots and discount the basket. Player on the floor gets pushed into a travel before he can release the shot, it's a little more complicated.

tref Wed Apr 11, 2012 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836933)
Player on the floor gets pushed into a travel before he can release the shot, it's a little more complicated.

Not if he gathered the ball & we put a lil' verbal behind the whistle. IJS

Adam Wed Apr 11, 2012 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 836936)
Not if he gathered the ball & we put a lil' verbal behind the whistle. IJS

By rule, it's a shooting foul but not basket. What are you "just sayin" you'd do? And how does air in the whistle help?

twocentsworth Wed Apr 11, 2012 03:29pm

block (don't understand why there's so much discussion...pretty clear - block)
travel on reception and travel prior to shot.

tref Wed Apr 11, 2012 03:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836933)
Jump shooter goes up, gets fouled, comes down, and releases his shot that goes in. Easy to give him two shots and discount the basket.

vs.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836933)
Player on the floor gets pushed into a travel before he can release the shot, it's a little more complicated.

Just sayin it wouldnt be complicated to award 2 shots here ^^ if we have good post-whistle fundamentals.

Never mentioned air in the whistle...

berserkBBK Wed Apr 11, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 836928)
No time or distance is required to be given to a dribbler when trying to get in a legal position. Strictly speaking, if the player got the ball on the run, then no time or distance is required to be given. If the player jumps to grab the ball, then a defensive player must allow airborne players outside the LDB to land and stop/change direction.

Got it. Thank you... I didn't even realize this was a rule in the NBA

berserkBBK Wed Apr 11, 2012 04:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 836946)
block (don't understand why there's so much discussion...pretty clear - block)
travel on reception and travel prior to shot.

As APG said, block in the NBA based on their rule of defensive box.

However, this is a PC foul under NCAA and NFHS. Player establishes LGP and moves laterally and backwards, taking the contact in the chest.
How is this a "pretty clear - block"?

JRutledge Wed Apr 11, 2012 04:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 836933)
By rule, it seems pretty simple. Although in practice it won't always be that clear.

Jump shooter goes up, gets fouled, comes down, and releases his shot that goes in. Easy to give him two shots and discount the basket. Player on the floor gets pushed into a travel before he can release the shot, it's a little more complicated.

This play is much more common than the one you just described. Actually I have never seen a situation where I had to rule on a foul shot based on the shooter already coming back to the floor an shooting the ball. The LeBron play is very common as to what is likely to be seen. I actually had to T up a coach over a discussion based on a similar play as he wanted to dispute how many steps the shooter took after clearly being fouled.

Peace

Toren Wed Apr 11, 2012 08:29pm

Joining the party late
 
First play I got a travel on Wade.

I don't know NBA rules, so I'm going Fed Rules, PC after the traveling violation.

Second play, viewing it in real time, he traveled initially. I didn't see much contact as he headed to the basket, so I would have no called the rest of the play. Wasn't positive he traveled at the end, again live viewing. Which means I'm not blowing my whistle for traveling, since I'm not positive. I definitely wouldn't have called a foul, since the contact if any was marginal.

twocentsworth Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 836953)
As APG said, block in the NBA based on their rule of defensive box.

However, this is a PC foul under NCAA and NFHS. Player establishes LGP and moves laterally and backwards, taking the contact in the chest.
How is this a "pretty clear - block"?

I do not think the defender established LGP....this is coming from an official who calls more PC fouls than most (thanks to my: "a block is a block, a charge is a charge, and everything else in between is a charge" philosophy).

I would venture a guess that, when this play occurs in an actual game, 80-90% of officials would rule this a block.....

btw, can't see the travel that some are alleging took place. In other circumstances, too many officials rule a travel in situations like this to avoid having to call a block/charge......I think it is mainly because the don't know whether it's a block or charge - so they bail themselves out by calling a travel.

tref Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 837055)
btw, can't see the travel that some are alleging took place. In other circumstances, too many officials rule a travel in situations like this to avoid having to call a block/charge......I think it is mainly because the don't know whether it's a block or charge - so they bail themselves out by calling a travel.

Yeah I think travels should be like 3 seconds, in regards to NOT making that be your best call.

berserkBBK Thu Apr 12, 2012 12:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 836946)
block (don't understand why there's so much discussion...pretty clear - block)
travel on reception and travel prior to shot.

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 837055)
I would venture a guess that, when this play occurs in an actual game, 80-90% of officials would rule this a block.....

These seem contradictory :p but not important


Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 837055)
I do not think the defender established LGP....this is coming from an official who calls more PC fouls than most (thanks to my: "a block is a block, a charge is a charge, and everything else in between is a charge" philosophy).

Looking again it is close, but he has LGP as Wade has his left foot on the ground while turning. I think it is a great defensive play and we reward him with a charge call.
I can't agree with this philosophy as I don't like guessing or making absolutes on plays we should be able to get. I have heard the saying "what did the defense do wrong?" I like that better as a teaching "saying" as it teaches to referee the defense. While we can still get plays wrong, I believe it helps to get more plays correct.

Adam Thu Apr 12, 2012 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 837065)
These seem contradictory :p but not important




Looking again it is close, but he has LGP as Wade has his left foot on the ground while turning. I think it is a great defensive play and we reward him with a charge call.
I can't agree with this philosophy as I don't like guessing or making absolutes on plays we should be able to get. I have heard the saying "what did the defense do wrong?" I like that better as a teaching "saying" as it teaches to referee the defense. While we can still get plays wrong, I believe it helps to get more plays correct.

Watching it live, I had a PC foul, without regard to the NBA difference.

BTW, APG, if you could find it, I'd like to see the play where Kevin Love got hurt against the Nuggets.

APG Thu Apr 12, 2012 11:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 837057)
Yeah I think travels should be like 3 seconds, in regards to NOT making that be your best call.

Make every type of call your best call. ;)

tref Fri Apr 13, 2012 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 837189)
Make every type of call your best call. ;)

True :)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1