![]() |
Quote:
LGP requires the defender to be in the path of the opponent with 2 feet on the floor and facing the opponent. That's it. Right??? The path the opponent takes is right over the block (reference point only). So, that is the only path that matters. The defender is facing the opponent the entire time...check. The defender is in a possible path, but is not in "the" actual path of the opponent until the defender gets her body over the block. (an arm, foot, or leg in the path is not in the path). She has 2 feet on the floor prior to getting to the block but not being in "the" path of the opponent yet, that is not sufficient. Both feet must be on the floor while being in the path. When she is over the block and in "the" path, contact occurs before she can establish position by getting the 2nd foot down. Again, what am I adding? |
Guess I was just confused by all the stuff about the block in your other post...but - initial LGP is established when the player has both feet on the ground and the torso facing the opponent...then the defender may move/change within the limits provided in the rules. So the whole "in the path" stuff seems to be your addition.
|
Quote:
NFHS Rule 4, Section 23 ART. 1 . . . Guarding is the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. ...... A player who extends an arm, shoulder, hip or leg into the path of an opponent is not considered to have a legal position if contact occurs. ART. 2 . . . To obtain an initial legal guarding position: a. The guard must have both feet touching the playing court. b. The front of the guard’s torso must be facing the opponent. NCAA Rule 4, Section 35 Art. 1. Guarding shall be the act of legally placing the body in the path of an offensive opponent. Art. 4. To establish an initial legal guarding position on the player with the ball: a. The guard shall have both fee touching the playing court... |
Please Come Home ...
Did we scare him away? Where's Jurassic Referee when you really need him?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
When he made the call he looked to be about 3-4' above the FT line extended - not ideal but I'm guessing that's where he felt he had to stop to be able to see the dribbler. |
Junkyard Dog ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
What you describe is obtaining initial legal guarding position. Art 3 of Rule 4-23 continues to say that after initial LGP is obtained, a) the guard may have one or both feet on the playing court or be airborne, provided he/she has inbound status b) the guard is not required to continue facing the opponent c) the guard may move laterally or obliquely to maintain position, provided it is not toward the opponent when contact occurs ..... The dragging left foot, which looks off the floor on the first camera angle, is still sliding in place on contact, but isn't this the case of maintaining LGP and not really obtaining it? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Jerk. Now shutup. :D |
Quote:
|
Quote:
If you don't, agree, how about this play.... B3 trailing A4 down the court from behind momentarily has both feet on the floor and is facing A4. B2 is fast enough to pass A4 and steps into A4's path with one foot down and his/her back to A4 just as A4 runs into B3. B2 previously had both feet on the floor and was facing A4 (all from behind) and is now in A4's path. Are you saying this is a charge? Additionally, since all players have two feet down at some point in the game why have that requirement in obtaining LGP if it didn't go with the additional qualifier of being in the path with two feet down (and facing)? |
In order to establish LGP, the defender has to have both feet on the floor and the torso facing the offensive player...they are then allowed to move to maintain that LGP. If they move "into the path" with LGP then their movement is legal...they don't have to be "in the path" to obtain LGP.
|
Quote:
See my play above. Block or Charge? From AR 246...(Blue) If having two feet on the floor is all that is needed, why does the blue part require the two feet down again after jumping into the path of the dribbler if they were already on the floor before moving into the path? (Red) If the guard is allowed to shift to maintain their position in the path of the dribbler, doesn't that imply they had to first obtain a position in the path of a dribbler. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:11pm. |