![]() |
Video: Not a travel in NBA, but would you call this a travel in HS or NCAA
How many would call this travel in HS or NCAA??
not a travel in NBA : after ball gathered in NBA you get 2 steps Bynum Travel for Lakers basketball - YouTube |
I call this every time I spot it.
|
I would not call that, especially when I see it at full speed.
|
That is not a travel at any level, let alone HS or college. Touching the ball does not constitute possession.
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
This is a travel. The left foot touches the floor after possession is gained, thereby establishing the right foot as the pivot foot. When the right foot touches the floor at a new point of contact before the release for shot, it is a travel.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
Not the same as the crow hop or quick shuffle where a player tries to re-establish their feet because they're used to shooting with the same foot forward, etc. Not doing it to gain an advantage, avoid a defender, or improve position. Pass. |
Quote:
Ok. |
Quote:
To call this a ticky tack call but imply that the crow hop is a good call makes absolutely no sense. |
Absolute travel at HS and NCAA. It really isn't that close. (NBA, I don't have an opinion, not sure what their rule is and don't care to look it up).
At full speed, it may or may not be "easy" to tell, but it was a travel and it isn't really that hard to tell if you look at it...and video backs it up and shows it wasn't really that close at all. He caught the ball as the right foot came down and the left foot was being lifted, he then stepped forward with the left foot making the right the pivot, then again with the right foot (becoming a travel when it touched). This gave him a 2+ foot shorter shot and most definitely improved his situation. For anyone that says it wasn't "much" of a travel, how much is too much? If you can tell he did but it was close, that is no reason to not call it. We're paid to decide if they did or did not travel. We're supposed to interrupt the game when a player infringes on the rules. If they wanted the travel call to allow an extra step, they'd write it that way. |
Quote:
Saying he didn't have "full possession" is just a convenient cop out to avoid making the call. The instant he has 2 hands on the ball (and the ball doesn't subsequently shift from that position) he had possession (was holding the ball). That point occurred practically the instant he touched the ball. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:30am. |