The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sub State Finish (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89786-sub-state-finish.html)

Tebo2526 Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:13pm

Sub State Finish
 
From what I understand, this happened in Tennessee this week.

A Technical was called on #44 black after the TO from the trail official with 1.5 ticks left in a tie-game. You can see #44 say something to the closet official, yet the call was not made by him or the other you see in the frame at around :50 seconds in. From what I read (granted 90% was from ticked off parents on another forum), the closest two refs did not hear what was said and supposedly the trail official's explanation was he read his lips and says #44 gave him the old silent "F-u" after he walked past. That explanation was "hear-say" as well considering the sources.

My question is this, once this got past all the race cards being thrown around and whether or not a game of this magnitude should have ended in this manner, the argument now has gone the direction as to whether or not the barrel role after the loose ball was a travel or not.

A lot to comment on here, yet I couldn't think of a better place to get a true definition as to why or why not this was traveling on the floor.

I don't even know where this is and I don't think it's been posted on here, so I am not involved or have any thing to do with any of this. Just respect you guys opinion and have gotten a lot of answers on here before.

Bradley Central vs. Blackman Substate Controversial Technical Foul - YouTube

SamIAm Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:19pm

No to the "is it a travel" question?

Looks like momentum to me, imo.

bainsey Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tebo2526 (Post 830539)
...whether or not the barrel role after the loose ball was a travel or not.

The rule says that rolling OVER is a travelling violation. I don't consider side-to-butt roll as rolling over.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 02:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 830548)
The rule says that rolling OVER is a travelling violation. I don't consider side-to-butt roll as rolling over.

Just for clarification, if side to butt is not a roll what is?

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830564)
Just for clarification, if side to butt is not a roll what is?

Stomach to back & vice versa... we cant expect a player to freeze on their side after going for a loose ball on the floor, can we?
But if an explanation is needed the easy out is, "coach in my opinion he didnt have control of the ball until his momentum carried him onto his butt."

fullor30 Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Tebo2526 (Post 830539)
From what I understand, this happened in Tennessee this week.

A Technical was called on #44 black after the TO from the trail official with 1.5 ticks left in a tie-game. You can see #44 say something to the closet official, yet the call was not made by him or the other you see in the frame at around :50 seconds in. From what I read (granted 90% was from ticked off parents on another forum), the closest two refs did not hear what was said and supposedly the trail official's explanation was he read his lips and says #44 gave him the old silent "F-u" after he walked past. That explanation was "hear-say" as well considering the sources.

My question is this, once this got past all the race cards being thrown around and whether or not a game of this magnitude should have ended in this manner, the argument now has gone the direction as to whether or not the barrel role after the loose ball was a travel or not.

A lot to comment on here, yet I couldn't think of a better place to get a true definition as to why or why not this was traveling on the floor.

I don't even know where this is and I don't think it's been posted on here, so I am not involved or have any thing to do with any of this. Just respect you guys opinion and have gotten a lot of answers on here before.

Bradley Central vs. Blackman Substate Controversial Technical Foul - YouTube


Explain the race card comment?

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830566)
Stomach to back & vice versa... we cant expect a player to freeze on their side after going for a loose ball on the floor, can we?
But if an explanation is needed the easy out is, "coach in my opinion he didnt have control of the ball until his momentum carried him onto his butt."

Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

bainsey Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830564)
Just for clarification, if side to butt is not a roll what is?

Again, rolling is legal. Rolling OVER is a travel.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 830578)
Again, rolling is legal. Rolling OVER is a travel.

ah, i don't see the relation. Please provide a specific rule to support this.

MD Longhorn Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830577)
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

I guess there's a difference between CAN and SHOULD. One question - what part of rolling from side to sitting are you including in "attempt to get up or stand"?

Tebo2526 Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 830573)
Explain the race card comment?

The whole forum debate took an ugly turn when the video surfaced. Prior to that, it was just about "what a shame" that such a good game had to end like that and a lot of arguing over whether the trail heard something or read lips, etc.

Once the video came out, it went straight to the "all-white vs. all-black" teams with 2 white and 1 black ref with the 1 being the one that made the call at the end.

Unfortunate turn of events...then the thread was shut down and rightfully so.

Sorry for being vague yet didn't want to expound too much on the issue. Last few discussions were about the travel-non travel issue. I should have left that comment out I guess.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbcrowder (Post 830582)
I guess there's a difference between CAN and SHOULD. One question - what part of rolling from side to sitting are you including in "attempt to get up or stand"?

As I understand it, If one is touching the floor with anything other than hand or foot. The options are to either call a time, shoot, pass or start a dribble from that specific position.

In that case, "attempt to get up"

bainsey Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830579)
ah, i don't see the relation. Please provide a specific rule to support this.

Case 4.44.5 B.

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830579)
ah, i don't see the relation. Please provide a specific rule to support this.

Just like the key word in the kicking rule is intentional, the key word in the travel rule is role OVER.

4.44.5 Situation B assists with the Intent & Purpose of the rule.

rwest Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:45pm

You can also....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830587)
As I understand it, If one is touching the floor with anything other than hand or foot. The options are to either call a time, shoot, pass or start a dribble from that specific position.

In that case, "attempt to get up"

If you are on your back, you can bend at the waist to an upright sitting position and that is not considered getting up.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830591)
Just like the key word in the kicking rule is intentional, the key word in the travel rule is role OVER.

4.44.5 Situation B assists with the Intent & Purpose of the rule.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 830594)
If you are on your back, you can bend at the waist to an upright sitting position and that is not considered getting up.

rwest,

I am aware of that. Thanks for poking me in the eye even more. ;)

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830577)
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:59pm

Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick. :)

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830600)
Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.

I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

fullor30 Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830577)
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

Wrong, he didn't attempt to get up, he sat up which is legal.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830602)
Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick. :)

I know. All these discussion does for me is to ensure I stay active in the rule/casebook and not totally rely on my memory. I do have C.R.S you know.:p

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 830608)
Wrong, he didn't attempt to get up, he sat up which is legal.

Big time,

It is not legal if you are going from stomach to sitting.

fullor30 Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830605)
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

Gosh, that would be rolling over

Toren Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 830611)
Gosh, that would be rolling over

Or extremely painful, time to get a sub in. You calling a travel or getting the meds in to have this kid taken out on a stretcher?

haha :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830605)
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830616)
Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.


This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830616)
I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.

Wheres the like button at? :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830617)
This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________

Well, if I would read the whole thread and not type so slow, I would've seen that.

I'm going back to the kitchen and make another batch of cookies.

Carry on. :D

Camron Rust Wed Mar 07, 2012 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830591)
Just like the key word in the kicking rule is intentional, the key word in the travel rule is role OVER.

4.44.5 Situation B assists with the Intent & Purpose of the rule.

Yet, not everyone agrees with what "over" means. Some insist that it mean from full stomach to full back. Some insist that it means from one body surface to another with the side being a different surface than the back or front. (I'm in the latter camp).

BillyMac Wed Mar 07, 2012 05:29pm

What Goes Around, Comes Around ...
 
http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post805524

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 05:31pm

Cam, I respect that... I interpret "roll over" like when one cooks eggs or pancakes, from one side to the other.
Over means over, to me.

zm1283 Wed Mar 07, 2012 06:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830631)
Cam, I respect that... I interpret "roll over" like when one cooks eggs or pancakes, from one side to the other.
Over means over, to me.

I'm in this camp as well. If you go over a fence, you go all the way to the other side. If you flip a burger over on the grill, it is on the complete opposite side. Just how I interpret it.

BillyMac Thu Mar 08, 2012 09:46am

It's True ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 830643)
If you go over a fence, you go all the way to the other side.

Did you hear about the cow that tried to jump over the barbed wire fence?

Udderly destroyed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1