The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Sub State Finish (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89786-sub-state-finish.html)

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830591)
Just like the key word in the kicking rule is intentional, the key word in the travel rule is role OVER.

4.44.5 Situation B assists with the Intent & Purpose of the rule.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rwest (Post 830594)
If you are on your back, you can bend at the waist to an upright sitting position and that is not considered getting up.

rwest,

I am aware of that. Thanks for poking me in the eye even more. ;)

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830577)
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 03:59pm

Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick. :)

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830600)
Are you saying when a player is lying on the floor, sitting up would be a violation?

Check out the wording in case play 4.44.5 Sit B.

I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

fullor30 Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830577)
Tref,

Yes, we can.The player clearly gained control while prone and set up. According to 4-44-5 After gaining control while on the floor and touching with other than hand or foot, may not attempt to get up or stand.

So by the player rolling from side to sitting would be considered a violation.

Wrong, he didn't attempt to get up, he sat up which is legal.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830602)
Seems like I type slower than others.

truerookie - I wasn't meaning to pile on, or twist that stick. :)

I know. All these discussion does for me is to ensure I stay active in the rule/casebook and not totally rely on my memory. I do have C.R.S you know.:p

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 830608)
Wrong, he didn't attempt to get up, he sat up which is legal.

Big time,

It is not legal if you are going from stomach to sitting.

fullor30 Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830605)
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

Gosh, that would be rolling over

Toren Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 830611)
Gosh, that would be rolling over

Or extremely painful, time to get a sub in. You calling a travel or getting the meds in to have this kid taken out on a stretcher?

haha :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830605)
I am saying if a player has gain control while on his/her stomach and attempt to sit up that would be considered a violation. However, if the player is on his/her back and gain control they can sit up.

Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.

truerookie Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830616)
Ah, ok.

The only disagreement we may have regarding the original play, is when did the player actually gain control of the ball, and when did the player stop sliding? The wording in 4.44.5 Sit B says, "Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over." I see the initial "roll" as part of the attempt to gain control, and thus would consider that part of the slide (or as others have mentioned - momentum). Once the player stops that initial momentum, then they cannot roll over.

I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.


This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________

tref Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 830616)
I wouldn't have called a travel, especially from the L, because the player's back was to the L at the beginning of the attempt to control the ball, and there's no way the L could see when control was obtained. However, once the player ended up on their back, and sat up, the TO was properly granted.

Wheres the like button at? :D

M&M Guy Wed Mar 07, 2012 04:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by truerookie (Post 830617)
This was the exchange between tref and myself.

tref,

I seen the rule and the casebook play.

I observed the video again and I am man enough to say. The granting of the time out was correct by the official. The player in white was practically sitting on his buttocks when he requested the time out.
__________________

Well, if I would read the whole thread and not type so slow, I would've seen that.

I'm going back to the kitchen and make another batch of cookies.

Carry on. :D

Camron Rust Wed Mar 07, 2012 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 830591)
Just like the key word in the kicking rule is intentional, the key word in the travel rule is role OVER.

4.44.5 Situation B assists with the Intent & Purpose of the rule.

Yet, not everyone agrees with what "over" means. Some insist that it mean from full stomach to full back. Some insist that it means from one body surface to another with the side being a different surface than the back or front. (I'm in the latter camp).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:16am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1