![]() |
loose ball in backcourt
Last night...
Partner is three seconds into a ten second count when ball is knocked away by the defense on full court press. Partner drops his count. The ball bounces around in the back court for a good five seconds when it is finally picked up again by the same team deep in their own backcourt. Three seconds later, the dribbler is double teamed and stopped, still in his backcourt. As new lead (two man) I am helping cover the press from about half court. Do I call the ten second violation, even though there is no visible count? |
Is that your area? Is that your responsibility? j/k :D
Personally, I'm leaving this one alone (especially in the wreck environment) but I would talk to my partner about when the b/c count ends/restarts. |
Unfortunately, I think you are right, tref.
Since I didn't have a count, I waited about five more seconds, then made the call. It wasn't a very popular call. On the other hand, The defense had now held in the backcourt for sixteen seconds. It didn't seem fair to them not to reward their effort. But I had a credibility problem for the rest of the night, because no one else in the gym (including my partner) understood team control. They all thought I was crazy. |
So you are saying the defensive team never gained possession? They just got a hand on a ball or two? Just want to understand what happened.
|
No. This one is on your partner.
|
Quote:
|
This one is all on him. Let him eat it if he screws up. I'd rather do that than step on his toes and take the heat the rest of the night for it.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now I wouldn't make this call right at 10 seconds, but like you said in the OP, you were at 16 with basically no end in sight, I probably would have done the same. There are 2-3 officials on the court for a reason. That's a normal point in pre-games I am a part of. If something happens in my area and I have a mental lapse, I want my partner(s) to come help. My feelings will not be hurt. Now a 50/50 call is something totally different. Why would you care about credibility with people that don't understand team control? Personally, I'm not losing sleep over that one. However, if I don't make that backcourt call and that team eventually scored on that possession and they end up winning the game by 1 point, then I would probably have a tougher time sleeping. IMHO, there is a fine line with letting you're partner eat a non-call verses helping your partner on an obvious foul or violation. And when I say obvious, I mean obvious to any other basketball official that actually knows the rules. |
I would not touch this. I have my reasons.
|
I would never call this. And I might have a word with my partner, but if my partner doesn't know this basic rule then what's he doing on the court to begin with? Probably not going to waste my time unless it is a new official that has an excuse to not know it.
|
If there's a shot clock, I would absolutely call it based on the time left on the shot clock and point at the shot clock.
|
Quote:
If you recognize that your partner is not an experienced official, then I can see stepping it up. Similarly, if were the trail, and I instinctively (albeit incorrectly) dropped my count in the backcourt, I'd appreciate my partner having my back like that. Meanwhile, as already stated, if others don't understand the concept of team control, that's not on you. |
My problem is this: What if *I* decided that there was a change in team control in the backcourt and then you as the lead come up and tell me it's a 10-second violation?
I'd leave. It. Alone. |
I'm going based on what is in the OP which says 'the ball was bouncing around and then controlled again by the same team '. What you're 'what if-ing' is something closer to a 50/50 and not 'obvious', thus I'd agree with you.
However, in this case, at least from how the play was described, I'd say it was obvious that team control had not changed, thus a partner that was fully engaged on the play should help his/her partner. |
Visible Count ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Two Wrongs Do Not Make A Right ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
BillyMac I hear ya! FTR, Im laying off this one as well.
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Another tip RSL, get the time from the GAME CLOCK on change in possession. That is all you need to resolve 10-second violations, shot clock discrepencies, etc. |
Quote:
Whoop there it is! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
But I really think FOV needs to be clarified or redfined! To some FOV seems to mean tunnel vision while others tend to believe FOV means officiating your PCA while still being cognizant of what else is going on on the court. I believe that exceptional officials tend to chew bubble gum & walk at the same time, while decent/good officials just chew bubble gum. |
Quote:
|
I can dig it! Those are tough situations to provide help on. Now, if the game is on the line I'm sure you would do whats right for the game.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
NCAA ten-second A.R.
A.R. 225. (Men) The game clock indicates that 1:13 is left in the second half when Team A makes a throw-in after a charged timeout. Team A is charged with a 10-second back-court violation, but the game clock shows that only eight seconds were used. The official timer indicates that the game clock started when the throw-in was touched by a player on the playing court.
RULING: Violation. Team B shall be awarded a throw-in at a designated spot nearest to where the violation occurred. Rule 2-12 does not provide for the correction of an error made in the referee’s counting of seconds. (Rule 9-10 and 7-5.1) |
Quote:
That is not to say that one can't use the clocks to help guide your count and increase its accuracy, but an official can't just go by what is on the clocks without a physical count. That's not allowed by rule. 5.10.1 SITUATION B: Team A leads by one point when they inbound the ball in their backcourt with 12 seconds remaining in the fourth quarter. A1's throw-in pass is to A2 who dribbles in the backcourt until the horn sounds. The trail official does not make a 10-second call because he/she "lost the count." RULING: The game is over. The clock may not be reset as there are no rule provisions to do this. If the count was not accurate or was not made, it cannot be corrected. There is no provision for the correction of an error made in the official's accuracy in counting seconds. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00pm. |