![]() |
Player goes out of bounds and returns (NCAA)
NCAA rules (9-4-1). A defensive player deflects a pass, and his momentum carries him out of bounds. He then re-establishes himself on the court, and is the first to touch the loose ball. I believe there is no violation in that circumstance. The casebook only deals with a play where an offensive player leaves the court to avoid a screen.
What say you, my brothers of the stripes? |
Not sure where you get a 9-4-4 in the NCAA rule bok. The one I use has 9-4 article I and article II
I see nothing in the rule that differentiates between offense and defense. It does use term that the player leaves on own volition and comes back in and gets ball |
Take a look at 7.1.1 B, C and D. I think you'll find what you're looking for.
|
I agree the issue of offense vs. defense is irrelevant. The issue is the interpretation of "his own volition". My recollection is that this provision is intended to deal with a player who runs out of bounds to avoid a screen. I do not believe it is intended to apply to a player whose momentum carries him out of bounds after a steal.
|
That's correct. There is no violation if the player's momentum caused him/her to go out. And coming back inbounds requires something touching inbounds, and nothing touching out of bounds.
|
Rob: I was talking NCAA, but your post got me to the right spot in the casebook. A.R. 174 Legal play.
|
So, is it the same, NFHS and NCAA?
|
For the play situation I presented, the result is the same under NCAA or NFHS. In other situations, the results can be different. In NFHS, a player who intentionally goes out of bounds has violated the moment he goes out. Not so in NCAA.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:24am. |