The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   As Reqested From Fiasco (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89528-reqested-fiasco.html)

rockyroad Mon Feb 27, 2012 11:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 828062)

In women's three-person they'd have our head for making that call across the lane

Not sure where you are working Women's 3 person mechanics, but around here they would have our heads for NOT having a whistle on this play from Lead as it was a secondary defender who came from L's primary area.

Granted, L was in a bad position and the evaluator would ream the L for that first, but that secondary defender should have been L's call.

twocentsworth Mon Feb 27, 2012 12:49pm

imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!

M&M Guy Mon Feb 27, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 828185)
imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!

So, you base the call against the defense on the type of shot the offense takes?

Where do I find more information on this?

Adam Mon Feb 27, 2012 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 828185)
imho, 95% of the time when an offensive player takes a "running-floater", the defensive player DID NOT establish LGP prior to the shooter leaving the ground.....

this play (and the 95% of the other ones like this) is a BLOCK!

This play may be a block, but your first paragraph is just wrong, IMHO.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 27, 2012 01:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 828111)
I beg to differ.

His right foot was down but his left foot was still moving into position as the shooter went airborne.

The last time his left foot touched, perhaps....but it was down 1-2 times before that. He was in the path and had both feet down several times before he reached his final position....but he was moving forward after the shooter was airborne.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 828111)
Also, he couldn't have attained LGP until he was out of the RA since he was a secondary defender so the position of his feet on his final two steps matters even more.

Even you agree since you're mentioning his final two steps....the previous steps satisfied the two-feet on the court provision.

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 828111)
In terms of his body, he satified part B of the rule since his torso was facing A1 as he tried to establish. It's parts A and D where he missed.


And a player can have LGP in the RA. Until the play develops, you can't conclude he is a secondary defender. If the dribbler/driver stops, pivots and then collides, he has become a primary defender and the position is legal. If the driver/dribbler continues in one motion, the position is not legal.

JetMetFan Mon Feb 27, 2012 03:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 828160)
Not sure where you are working Women's 3 person mechanics, but around here they would have our heads for NOT having a whistle on this play from Lead as it was a secondary defender who came from L's primary area.

Granted, L was in a bad position and the evaluator would ream the L for that first, but that secondary defender should have been L's call.

Sorry, I meant as the primary whistle on that play. If he's secondary - which he should be - that's a different story. But if he's across the lane his whistle should come in later than the C's.

I still don't have a problem with L not putting a whistle on this particular play since he appeared to be straight-lined when the contact took place. He probably should've rotated once there was pressure in front of Valentine but he hesitated.

JetMetFan Mon Feb 27, 2012 03:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 828205)
The last time his left foot touched, perhaps....but it was down 1-2 times before that. He was in the path and had both feet down several times before he reached his final position....but he was moving forward after the shooter was airborne.



Even you agree since you're mentioning his final two steps....the previous steps satisfied the two-feet on the court provision.




And a player can have LGP in the RA. Until the play develops, you can't conclude he is a secondary defender. If the dribbler/driver stops, pivots and then collides, he has become a primary defender and the position is legal. If the driver/dribbler continues in one motion, the position is not legal.

Okay, so as the play developed it became apparent the Duke player was a secondary defender which meant he couldn't establish LGP inside the RA. That means he had to establish outside the RA and he didn't. It was very close but he didn't. His left foot wasn't down outside the RA before the shooter went airborne.

fullor30 Mon Feb 27, 2012 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 828157)
If it's close enough that I have to go to that much trouble to see it was a block, I'd like to think I'd go PC.

A valid point.

fullor30 Mon Feb 27, 2012 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 828191)
So, you base the call against the defense on the type of shot the offense takes?

Where do I find more information on this?


;););););)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:21am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1