The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Basket Counts ? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89444-basket-counts.html)

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2012 09:10am

Rookie Luck ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bd41flpk (Post 827577)
Rule 6.7 Art 9 Note:If A1's try is "legally" touched in flight (does not differentiate by whom), the goal counts if made, if the period ends BEFORE or AFTER the legal touching.

bd41flpk: Nice citation. Not bad for a newbie with less than thirty posts.

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2012 11:54am

Situation:
A1, losing his balance, launches a prayer from beyond the three point line. His release point is near the floor. B1 is fighting around a screen by A2, and is able to tip the ball as it's released. B1's tip goes off of A2's head and the ball goes in.

The horn sounds between A1's release and B1's tip, and A2 is standing inside the 3 pt line when it hits his head.

1. Does it count.
2. 2 or 3?

BillyMac Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:02pm

It Can Happen ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 827620)
A1, losing his balance, launches a prayer from beyond the three point line.

bainsey was kind enough to post this last month:

<div><iframe frameborder="0" width="576" height="324" src="http://d.yimg.com/nl/vyc/site/player.html#browseCarouselUI=hide&vid=27964164"></iframe></div>

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...tml#post816389

APG Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:13pm

Couldn't one consider A2's deflection as a tap...and thus it would have to be before the horn/light?

Rule 4, Section 41

ART. 5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
ART. 6 . . . A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as in 5-2-5.
ART. 7 . . . The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.

Adam Sat Feb 25, 2012 12:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 827631)
Couldn't one consider A2's deflection as a tap...and thus it would have to be before the horn/light?

Rule 4, Section 41

ART. 5 . . . A tap for goal is the contacting of the ball with any part of a player’s hand(s) in an attempt to direct the ball into his/her basket.
ART. 6 . . . A tap shall be considered the same as a try for field goal, except as in 5-2-5.
ART. 7 . . . The tap starts when the player’s hand(s) touches the ball.

If it's intentional, sure. I don't think we can do that if it's an accident.

Camron Rust Sat Feb 25, 2012 01:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 827634)
If it's intentional, sure. I don't think we can do that if it's an accident.

The last A player to touch the ball is the one making the try/tap....and the time/points are relevant to that last touch.

That is the only way to reconcile the rules around this situation.

The last contact by A be actually be what made the ball go in. If it was after the buzzer, it shouldn't count.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:31pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1