The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What's the correct call (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89324-whats-correct-call.html)

Refk Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:29am

What's the correct call
 
Watching my son's Varsity game last night .... Our player has the ball just above the key and the defensive player is attempting to tie up the ball. Our player pivots and swings his arms/elbows through unbelivably fast, but does not create contact. The official called a technical foul on him .

My question(s) are:

1. I believe the correct call would be a violation due to excessive swinging of the elbows (if the official believed that occurred) from my vantage point it wasn't b/c he swung through as he was pivoting. Am I correct ?

2) What is the call if he had made contact with the defensive player ?

3) My real concern was for the defensive player, if he had been hit with this motion it really would have caused injury , is there anything we as officials can do ?

Thanks

tref Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826283)
Watching my son's Varsity game last night .... Our player has the ball just above the key and the defensive player is attempting to tie up the ball. Our player pivots and swings his arms/elbows through unbelivably fast, but does not create contact. The official called a technical foul on him .

My question(s) are:

1. I believe the correct call would be a violation due to excessive swinging of the elbows (if the official believed that occurred) from my vantage point it wasn't b/c he swung through as he was pivoting. Am I correct ?

2) What is the call if he had made contact with the defensive player ?

3) My real concern was for the defensive player, if he had been hit with this motion it really would have caused injury , is there anything we as officials can do ?

Thanks

1. Correct

2. Player control unless the official believed it to be INT or Flagrant.

3. Officials blow the whistle AFTER illegal contact occurs.

APG Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826283)
Watching my son's Varsity game last night .... Our player has the ball just above the key and the defensive player is attempting to tie up the ball. Our player pivots and swings his arms/elbows through unbelivably fast, but does not create contact. The official called a technical foul on him .

My question(s) are:

1. I believe the correct call would be a violation due to excessive swinging of the elbows (if the official believed that occurred) from my vantage point it wasn't b/c he swung through as he was pivoting. Am I correct ?

If he thought the player was excessively swinging his elbows (without contact), then it would be a violation rather than a T

Quote:

2) What is the call if he had made contact with the defensive player ?
Player control foul, intentional foul, or flagrant foul though realistically, you'd probably gonna have at the least an intentional foul for excessive contact.

Quote:

3) My real concern was for the defensive player, if he had been hit with this motion it really would have caused injury , is there anything we as officials can do ?
If it's an isolated instance, then no...if you call it the first time it happens, it hopefully curtails the chances of it happening again.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826283)
Watching my son's Varsity game last night .... Our player has the ball just above the key and the defensive player is attempting to tie up the ball. Our player pivots and swings his arms/elbows through unbelivably fast, but does not create contact. The official called a technical foul on him.

My question(s) are:

1. I believe the correct call would be a violation due to excessive swinging of the elbows (if the official believed that occurred) from my vantage point it wasn't b/c he swung through as he was pivoting. Am I correct ?

2) What is the call if he had made contact with the defensive player ?

3) My real concern was for the defensive player, if he had been hit with this motion it really would have caused injury , is there anything we as officials can do ?

Thanks

Sounds like it should have been a violation, because no contact was made. Calling a T is a previous ruling.

If illegal contact was made, I see a PC foul. If I suspected anything else, INT and flagrant are possible.

Refk Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:39am

Thanks for the reply,

I called another official this morning and explained it to him and asked what he thought. He responded that if the elbow was above the shoulder then he would call an intentional. I told him that it didn't matter the location but he disagreed. So I told him I was going to come here .

Thanks again

tref Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826290)
I called another official this morning and explained it to him and asked what he thought. He responded that if the elbow was above the shoulder then he would call an intentional. I told him that it didn't matter the location but he disagreed. So I told him I was going to come here .

Thanks again

Not a problem, an elbow above the shoulder is the NCAA ruling.

bob jenkins Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826290)
Thanks for the reply,

I called another official this morning and explained it to him and asked what he thought. He responded that if the elbow was above the shoulder then he would call an intentional.

That's (sort of) the NCAA rule.

Note that the violation is for swinging the elbows faster than the torso. If it's an entire pivot (and the elbows stay in the same relative spot to the torso), then it's no violation, and can only be a foul (if contact is made).

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:46am

I Went To A Fight And A Basketball Game Broke Out ...
 
It's a stretch, but can't a hard swinging, but no contact, elbow be construed as a "punch that misses" in a fight that might break out, thus the noncontact technical foul? Again, it's a stretch, but I'm trying to figure out why there was a technical foul in this live ball, noncontact, situation. Or, maybe there were some "bad" words exchanged between the players, like some kind of taunt?

I'm not sure, but wasn't the noncontact excessive elbow swing a technical foul (NFHS) several years ago? Hasn't this changed back and forth a few times (violation, technical foul, violation)? Now, where are my house keys?

Refk Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:51am

I was sitting behind our bench (unbelievably small gym) and heard our coach ask why it was a technical .. the response was " it was flagrant swinging of his elbow coach ".

APG Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826295)
It's a stretch, but can't a hard swinging, but no contact, elbow be construed as a "punch that misses" in a fight that might break out, thus the noncontact technical foul? Again, it's a stretch, but I'm trying to figure out why there was a technical foul in this live ball, noncontact, situation. Or, maybe there were some "bad" words exchanged between the players, like some kind of taunt?

Well then someone's getting ejected (sorry, disqualified) in your scenario. No one was ejected in the OP's play.

ballgame99 Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:54am

What is the violation? "Excessive swinging of the arms"? So this would be just like a traveling violation?

PG_Ref Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 826299)
What is the violation? "Excessive swinging of the arms"? So this would be just like a traveling violation?

Correct ... if no contact was made.

APG Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ballgame99 (Post 826299)
What is the violation? "Excessive swinging of the arms"? So this would be just like a traveling violation?

Excessive swinging of the elbows...ball is awarded to the offended team at the OOB spot closest to where the violation occurred. If this occurs, while a try is in flight, by the team who shot the ball, the ball becomes dead and no basket can be scored.

Scrapper1 Tue Feb 21, 2012 11:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826297)
I was sitting behind our bench (unbelievably small gym) and heard our coach ask why it was a technical .. the response was " it was flagrant swinging of his elbow coach ".

If it was flagrant (e.g., an attempt to strike the opponent), then the player should have been disqualified.

The official in your play is using old rules and incorrect terminology.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:10pm

Well, At Least I Gave It A Shot ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 826298)
Well then someone's getting ejected (sorry, disqualified) in your scenario. No one was ejected in the OP's play.

Good point AllPurposeGamer.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:13pm

Was He BillyMac ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826295)
I'm not sure, but wasn't the noncontact excessive elbow swing a technical foul (NFHS) several years ago? Hasn't this changed back and forth a few times (violation, technical foul, violation)? Now, where are my house keys?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 826302)
The official in your play is using old rules and incorrect terminology.

Bingo. Was he bald, or did he have gray hair? Was he using a noose lanyard, and wearing a belt? Was he Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826295)
It's a stretch, but can't a hard swinging, but no contact, elbow be construed as a "punch that misses" in a fight that might break out, thus the noncontact technical foul? Again, it's a stretch, but I'm trying to figure out why there was a technical foul in this live ball, noncontact, situation. Or, maybe there were some "bad" words exchanged between the players, like some kind of taunt?

I'm not sure, but wasn't the noncontact excessive elbow swing a technical foul (NFHS) several years ago? Hasn't this changed back and forth a few times (violation, technical foul, violation)? Now, where are my house keys?


Billy:

You are correct that it could be judged a non-contact FTF. I had such a call in the 1994 AAU Girls' 18U Nationals in Cleveland, Ohio. A1 got the ball in the high post with her back to the basket and B1 defender her from behind. A1 pivots a little bit to her left (enough to see where B1 was) and then swung her left elbow directly for B1's head. B1 saw the elbow coming and pulled back just in time to avoid being slammed in the face with A1's elbow. If A1's elbow had made contact with B1's face, B1 would have gone down for the count.

A1's coach didn't like the call, the two Army assistant coaches who were there scouting A1 didn't like the call, and the Official Scorer (who was on the Colgate Univ. men's team at the time) didn't like the call. The smart aleck from Colgate went so far as to tell me that if I disqualified A1 he wouldn't record it in the book. The Site Manager instantly became the new Official Scorer.

MTD, Sr.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 21, 2012 12:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826304)
Bingo. Was he bald? Did he have gray hair? Was he using a noose lanyard, and wearing a belt? Was he BillyMac?


It was not me; I wear beltless pants. LOL

And I think it was a stupid mistake when the NFHS did make excessive swinging of the elbows a TF when no contact was made. Why? We had officials not calling it when it was a violation (I was not one of the spineless officials.) but the NFHS logic at the time was to make it a TF insuring that nobody would call it.

I will admit that once it became a TF, whenever I had such a situation I had a PCF; with apologies to Lou Costello: "I was a baaad boy." LOL

One time a girls' H.S. varsity HC complained that there was no contact; I told her I could correct call to a TF, to which she replied: "Great call."

But I did make the TF call just once in a girls H.S. varsity game: A1 was about 6'-00" and she got a defensive rebound and started swinging away while B1 (5'-06") tried to guard her. It was obvious that there was no contact but A1's actions where a casebook example of the infraction and I really had no choice but to charge her with a TF. And yes, her HC came close to getting one too, LOL.

MTD, Sr.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 21, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Refk (Post 826297)
I was sitting behind our bench (unbelievably small gym) and heard our coach ask why it was a technical .. the response was " it was flagrant swinging of his elbow coach ".

So he made the incorrect call and used incorrect terminology to explain the incorrect call.

At least he was consistent.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 01:47pm

Who Can Ask For Anything More ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 826332)
At least he was consistent.

Isn't that what we all strive for as officials.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1