The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Tonight's game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/89023-tonights-game.html)

Adam Fri Feb 17, 2012 04:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 825210)
Fair enough. Travel.



I still think it is not a travel because that one foot is not "technically" a pivot foot. What did you have for the two videos I posted? Where in the rules does it say you can retroactively call that a travel? Your first scenario is retroactive. The second is not retroactive. They just started a dribble after lifting the pivot foot and the ball bounced multiple times before they touched it. I think these are very different scenarios.

It's retroactive in that the travel happens when the dribble starts, but the call could come 50 feet and 8 minutes (conceivably) later.

I honestly couldn't get a good view, but I'm not sure if it's the laptop I'm using or the connection I'm using. At full speed, they looked like they were probably travels but I wouldn't be able to call them because I don't know for sure.

Camron Rust Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825197)
Just fleshing this out a bit:
1. A1, on the run, catches with the right foot on the floor.
2. A1 lifts that foot in his run.
3. A1 starts his dribble.
4. A1 puts his left foot down as part of his run.

On step four, his right foot became the pivot, retroactively.
He had lifted that pivot before the dribble started.
Travel.

Disagree. You have to establish a pivot foot BEFORE the pivot foot restrictions are in effect....and a pivot foot can only be established while holding the ball. Except for one case, all traveling situations occur while holding the ball. If the ball has been released on a dribble before a pivot foot and the restriction on a pivot foot exist, it can't be a travel. Legal play.

EDIT: Additionally, after lifting the first foot, it would still be legal if the player, while still holding the ball, were to come down on both feet simultaneously and even then start a dribble. Why? No pivot was established at all.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825197)
Other play where we retroactively learn of a travel:
A1 catches the ball, pivots, lifts his pivot foot, and then releases a pass towards A2, who has run away from the area.
A1 runs to retrieve the ball.

This is a travel because A1 lifted his pivot before starting his dribble. (The throw in should be at the spot nearest where his pivot foot was lifted.)

Agree.

Sharpshooternes Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 825223)
Disagree. You have to establish a pivot foot BEFORE the pivot foot restrictions are in effect....and a pivot foot can only be established while holding the ball. Except for one case, all traveling situations occur while holding the ball. If the ball has been released on a dribble before a pivot foot and the restriction on a pivot foot exist, it can't be a travel. Legal play.

Agreed with this. Now if his other foot hits before he gets the ball out for a dribble that would be a travel as he has caught on one foot and the second landing makes the first his pivot according to 4-44-2-b-1.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1