![]() |
Dribble or not
Can a player place the ball on the floor beside him/her ,then pick up the ball and start to dribble
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Can fumble-dribble-fumble, correct? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Assuming a player is on the floor:
Set the ball down, get up, pick up the ball and start dribbling: TRAVEL. Set the ball down, roll over, pick up the ball and start dribbling: LEGAL. |
Quote:
4.44.5 SITUATION B: A1 dives for a loose ball and slides after gaining control. A1 is in a position either on his/her back or stomach. What can A1 do without *violating? RULING: A1 may pass, shoot, start a dribble or call a time-out. Once A1 has the ball and is no longer sliding, he/she may not roll over. If flat on his/her back, A1 may sit up without violating. Any attempt to get to the feet is *traveling unless A1 is dribbling. It is also traveling if A1 puts the ball on the floor, then rises and is first to touch the ball. (4-44-5b) |
Quote:
In my second case, the player does NOT get up. |
Wouldn't the player have to rollover again to pickup the ball?
|
Quote:
Quote:
Maybe so, but that case is establishing the principle that a player is not allowed to subvert the travel rule by setting the ball down on the floor then moving in a way to gain an advantage (i.e., get a more advantageous position) that would be traveling had they continued to hold the ball. If they set the ball down, roll over, then pick it back up in a position that is more favorable, I'm calling traveling. |
Is this situation legal or not
the player is standing up , and just puts the ball on the floor with no defense around guarding |
Quote:
Are you asking if a player who is sitting down can put the ball on the floor, stand up, and then pick up the ball again? The "defense" part is irrelavent. |
Quote:
"...It is not a dribble when a player stands still and holds the ball and touches it to the floor once or more than once." So...it would appear from the comment that once A1 lets go of the ball A1 has dribbled, meaning A1 cannot pick up the ball and dribble again. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Setting the ball on the floor is only a problem if the player gets up in the middle of the process; because the rules makers didn't want players taking advantage of a loophole. Otherwise, I see nothing wrong with it because it doesn't create an advantage of any kind and it's not specifically disallowed. Unless I'm missing something, which is possible.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Now as I play weather vane :) , the other thought that comes to mind is to travel a player has to have control. A player has control when - among other things - he/she is holding or dribbling a live ball. In the OP the player isn't doing either of those but they don't appear to have completely given up the ball, either. Yet another hmmmmmmm. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm. |