![]() |
Alternating Possession Debate
Had a situation Tuesday - inbounds play - ball was kicked by defender before the ball legally touched player or court inbounds - therefore - throw end had not ended. My take is that by rule 4-42-5 the throw in team keeps the ball and the arrow - partner disagrees - what say you?
|
Quote:
|
Reasoning
He thought the throw in ended when touched by the defender - even if touched illegally.
|
Smitty, I know you've been around here long enough to KNOW the answer to this one.
And it's not "what say you", it's "what does the rule book say". ;) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Isn't there a case play on this?
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Thanks for the verification all
You are correct BNR - but when a vet argues with you it sometimes creates some self doubt.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I worked a jv boys game a couple years ago and stayed to watch a really varsity game worked by three veteran guys. Fourth quarter, illegal screen and the vets let the offenedd team shoot one and one. I tried to tell one of the vets from the end line that they were wrong, so did the furious coach. To no avail,both the coach and I lost. When I got home I sent all three a copy of the rule in a nice way and I got apologies from all three. :)
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Kickball ...
Quote:
A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Let's See, Disqualified Player, Thirty Seconds, Or Twenty Seconds ???
Rookie officials have recently spent a lot of time with their heads buried in rulebooks, and casebooks, to prepare for the rookie exam. They are only required to know (with the exception of the "new" team control on a throwin backcourt rule) the most recent set of rules. A difficult, but not impossible task, and some do it quite well.
Veteran officials have been through years, and years, of rule changes, and casebook interpretation changes. Dozens of changes for most. Hundreds of changes for a few. Sometimes these changes can be just as confusing, or more confusing, than the original rules that they learned many, many, years ago. I had a brand new official straighten me out with the "new" kicked ball on a throwin interpretation a few years ago during a freshman game. He was so new that he still had that new official smell. My response to him, "Thanks partner, nice job." |
Quote:
|
Illegal Screen, Bonus, Free Throws, Or No Free Throws ???
Quote:
Quote:
Excessive swinging elbows, with no contact, is a "snap" for a rookie official. A veteran official has to give that interpretation a little thought before making a ruling. One of the jumpers illegally catches a jump ball. Easy-peasy-lemon-squeezy for a rookie official. Veterans need to give that a little thought. Team A is ready to play after using ten seconds of a sixty second time out, that they requested, and were granted. Team B is not ready to play. You make the call? A rookie can do it in his sleep. A veteran has to be awake to make a correct ruling. A defender tries to block a pass with their leg, and the ball hits their leg above the knee. Rookies: Boring. Veterans: Now let me think about this. I've always maintained that the rules are easy, at least they were for me over thirty years ago. It's the rule changes that drive me crazy. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26pm. |