The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Out of subs, and a DQ (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88751-out-subs-dq.html)

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 15, 2012 12:59pm

Out of subs, and a DQ
 
Team A is down to 5 eligible team members. A1 commits his fifth personal foul. Coach is notified, player is notified. Coach has no subs available, so Team A will continue the game with only 4 players. Coach asks if he still gets his 20 seconds for the replacement period.

Do we give it?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 824303)
Team A is down to 5 eligible team members. A1 commits his fifth personal foul. Coach is notified, player is notified. Coach has no subs available, so Team A will continue the game with only 4 players. Coach asks if he still gets his 20 seconds for the replacement period.

Do we give it?


No.

MTD, Sr.

tref Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:08pm

They only have 4, no subs. That being said, whats another 20 seconds? Be compassionate...

Camron Rust Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 824304)
No.

MTD, Sr.

Agree...the 20 seconds is for them to make a decision about who to put in. With no one to put in, no 20 seconds.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:10pm

And if a coach tells his players to "come over here".....

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 824304)
No.

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 824307)
They only have 4, no subs. That being said, whats another 20 seconds? Be compassionate...

This is pretty much what we came up with at our last meeting, too. By rule, they probably shouldn't get it, since the 20 seconds is specifically to replace the DQ'd player and they can't do that. But what is the 20 seconds really going to hurt? Sound the horn after 5 seconds and get them back on the court in 15.

Does anybody think this is a bad approach?

tjones1 Wed Feb 15, 2012 01:44pm

If I were the coach I'd say I have an available sub in the locker room putting his shoes on... then say he's become sick and is no longer available.

mbyron Wed Feb 15, 2012 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 824311)
This is pretty much what we came up with at our last meeting, too. By rule, they probably shouldn't get it, since the 20 seconds is specifically to replace the DQ'd player and they can't do that. But what is the 20 seconds really going to hurt? Sound the horn after 5 seconds and get them back on the court in 15.

Does anybody think this is a bad approach?

It's bad in that no rule or mechanic supports it.

I think I'd find a middle path: "No, I can't give you the 20 seconds, coach, but it might take me 20 seconds to get ready to put the ball in play."

Not that this is decisive, but what's the other coach going to say about that, that I'm slow?

Toren Wed Feb 15, 2012 02:40pm

Why?
 
I don't see anything about having to have an eligible substitute to give the time? All I see if a player is disqualified and we shall direct the timer to give a maximum of 20 seconds.

The fact that the coach has no eligible substitutes doesn't stop him/her from having the allotted time to determine he has no eligible substitutes.

3-12-5

tref Wed Feb 15, 2012 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 824347)
I don't see anything about having to have an eligible substitute to give the time? All I see if a player is disqualified and we shall direct the timer to give a maximum of 20 seconds.

The fact that the coach has no eligible substitutes doesn't stop him/her from having the allotted time to determine he has no eligible substitutes.

3-12-5


Somebody ripped some pages out of my book :eek:

Toren Wed Feb 15, 2012 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 824350)
Somebody ripped some pages out of my book :eek:

haha, my fault 2-12-5

Raymond Wed Feb 15, 2012 04:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JugglingReferee (Post 824310)
And if a coach tells his players to "come over here".....

Then you tell the coach we're ready to play.

Had a disqualification this past Saturday. NCAA-M rules, so calling official went opposite and I came tableside. Before I even had a chance to finish sentence "Coach, that's 5 on..." the coach already had a sub at the table and says "I know, thanks, that's his sub".

As I beckon the sub on the OPPOSING coach calls his players over and I have tell him "Let's go coach, sub is already in". Definitely caught him off-guard that I wouldn't allow him to huddle.

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2012 04:50pm

Let's Go To The Rulebook ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 824357)
2-12-5

Sound a warning signal 15 seconds before the expiration of the 20
seconds (maximum) permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for
a player directed to leave the game.

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2012 04:53pm

Rulz Is Rulz ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824394)
Sound a warning signal 15 seconds before the expiration of the 20
seconds (maximum) permitted for replacing a disqualified or injured player, or for
a player directed to leave the game.

I think that the coach should have twenty seconds to instruct his players on how his team will play four against five. I'm not sure the rules back me up, but I'm also not 100% sure that they don't, I'm just 99% sure that they don't.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 824347)
I don't see anything about having to have an eligible substitute to give the time? All I see if a player is disqualified and we shall direct the timer to give a maximum of 20 seconds.

The fact that the coach has no eligible substitutes doesn't stop him/her from having the allotted time to determine he has no eligible substitutes.

3-12-5

Yes, it does (in my reading at least). No subs, no time. It's not a "time out", it's a "replacement interval".

Toren Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 824409)
Yes, it does (in my reading at least). No subs, no time. It's not a "time out", it's a "replacement interval".

But who would know with certainty if they had any eligible subs? Couldn't the coach still add a player at the cost of a Technical? I say give the time, coach says no subs are available and we move on. Or coach says, I want to add a player to the book and go from there.

While I agree that the time is there for a replacement, who cares what the coach is really using that time for? In most cases the coach doesn't need 20 seconds and they know who the sub is prior to us starting the clock. But they almost always bring their kids over and have a quick word, then finally send the kid in to sub. JMO

bob jenkins Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 824415)
But who would know with certainty if they had any eligible subs? Couldn't the coach still add a player at the cost of a Technical? I say give the time, coach says no subs are available and we move on. Or coach says, I want to add a player to the book and go from there.

The few times this has happened, we knew the team was out. They started with 6 (or 7 or 8) and fouled out 2 (or 3 or 4). It's not rocket science.

And, if a player is added to the book, then s/he is in the game, and the "replacement interval" is over. OF course, the coach can talk to the team while the FTs are being shot. ;)

Nevadaref Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824395)
I think that the coach should have twenty seconds to instruct his players on how his team will play four against five. I'm not sure the rules back me up, but I'm also not 100% sure that they don't, I'm just 99% sure that they don't.

The NFHS ruled on this via POE or interp about four years ago.
I can't remember exactly where the ruling appeared.
It was: No sub available = no replacement period
Just get the game underway after removing the DQ'd player.

APG Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824395)
I think that the coach should have twenty seconds to instruct his players on how his team will play four against five. I'm not sure the rules back me up, but I'm also not 100% sure that they don't, I'm just 99% sure that they don't.

Is that the point of a timeout?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 15, 2012 05:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tjones1 (Post 824329)
If I were the coach I'd say I have an available sub in the locker room putting his shoes on... then say he's become sick and is no longer available.


Meaning he isn't getting a free 20 second TO.

MTD, Sr.

Ignats75 Wed Feb 15, 2012 06:18pm

There's a mechanism available if a coach wants to talk to his team. ITS CALLED A TIMEOUT. By letting him steal a 30, gives him an unfair advantage and makes us look like we are playing favorites.

Toren Wed Feb 15, 2012 06:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Ignats75 (Post 824439)
There's a mechanism available if a coach wants to talk to his team. ITS CALLED A TIMEOUT. By letting him steal a 30, gives him an unfair advantage and makes us look like we are playing favorites.

So do you not let the coach talk to his players throughout the game? And when did a replacement interval become 30 seconds?

And why would the other team not be able to talk to their players during this interval? This would be the only reason that it would look like favorites. The referee's just called a foul that disqualified a player, I doubt anyone will say "Man that referee sure does like that team, they keep calling fouls on them.":confused:

Rich Wed Feb 15, 2012 06:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 824423)
The NFHS ruled on this via POE or interp about four years ago.
I can't remember exactly where the ruling appeared.
It was: No sub available = no replacement period
Just get the game underway after removing the DQ'd player.

What if the coach simply takes the 20 seconds and *then* informs you that he has no replacement?

Nevadaref Wed Feb 15, 2012 08:00pm

If the official isn't aware that no replacements are available, then that is a slightly different situation.
You can only act upon what you know.
Most coaches will quickly say, "I don't have anyone else" or something similar.
When you learn that, you resume play immediately.
Now it may be the case that a player was injured earlier in the contest and the coach may go see if he can return at this time. I have no problem allowing for some time for him to determine that.

BillyMac Wed Feb 15, 2012 09:18pm

The King Is Dead, Long Live The King ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 824423)
I can't remember exactly where the ruling appeared.

What? How can this be? The Nevadaref that we have all come to know, and love, used to be the "King of the Archived Interpretations".

JetMetFan Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:38am

Here's NFHS 10-5-2:

The head coach shall replace or remove a disqualified/injured player, or player directed to leave the game, within 20 seconds when a substitute is available.

and NCAA 10-4-5/10-6-2g

The head coach shall replace a disqualified or injured player within 20
seconds when a substitute is available.

It's in the penalty section but both codes specify replacing a disqualified player when a substitute is available.

I had this happen in a D-3 game last season. The home team had five players. One fouled out about 10 minutes into the second half. The coach asked for the 20 seconds and the official closest to her said "no, you don't have any subs" and we played on. I know we want to be charitable at times but there really isn't any gray area given the way the rule is written. Besides, we're just opening up a can of worms in terms of dealing with the other coach.

As for the coach potentially saying there's another player in the locker room, let's think: before the game don't we tell the scorekeeper to write down the name of anyone who might show up/play? I know I do. In that game where the team had five players we asked beforehand if they thought anyone else would show. What I'm saying is a response like "there's another player in the locker room" shouldn't even be on the table. We should know if someone has a chance of showing up.

just another ref Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 824530)
.....let's think: before the game don't we tell the scorekeeper to write down the name of anyone who might show up/play?

Gotta give a resounding no on this one.

Nevadaref Thu Feb 16, 2012 03:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824482)
What? How can this be? The Nevadaref that we have all come to know, and love, used to be the "King of the Archived Interpretations".

I've had a nasty illness for the past two weeks, just getting back to normal.
I'll have to use that as my excuse for being unable to pinpoint some rulings recently.
I'll be fine by the time that I take the court for postseason.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 07:24am

More Players In Book Than On Floor ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 824534)
Gotta give a resounding no on this one.

There was actually an IAABO (not NFHS) refresher exam question on this about ten years ago. Please don't make me go and dig it out of my file, but is was something about a player missing the bus, and on route to the game. The IAABO (not NFHS) interpretation to this question was that the player's name was not to be written in the book. My local interpreter disagreed with this interpretation, and locally we still allow more names in the book than on the floor, but that may not be the correct IAABO interpretation.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 07:26am

Signed, Epstein's Mother ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 824559)
I'll have to use that as my excuse for being unable to pinpoint some rulings recently. I'll be fine by the time that I take the court for postseason.

Just in case you had better carry a casebook in your back pocket. An added bonus, you can switch the casebook from pocket to pocket to help keep track of the possession arrow.

Welpe Thu Feb 16, 2012 08:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824596)
There was actually an IAABO (not NFHS) refresher exam question on this about ten years ago. Please don't make me go and dig it out of my file, but is was something about a player missing the bus, and on route to the game. The IAABO (not NFHS) interpretation to this question was that the player's name was not to be written in the book. My local interpreter disagreed with this interpretation, and locally we still allow more names in the book than on the floor, but that may not be the correct IAABO interpretation.

On what basis did IAABO have to issue that interpretation? There is absolutely nothing in the rules prohibiting extra names being in the book. The IAABO ruling is essentially setting a team up for a technical foul if the player manages to find another way to the game.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 16, 2012 09:30am

Any game played using NFHS or NCAA Rules: A team can always have more names in the book than the number of players they initially have dressed on the bench.

MTD, Sr,

JetMetFan Thu Feb 16, 2012 09:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824596)
There was actually an IAABO (not NFHS) refresher exam question on this about ten years ago. Please don't make me go and dig it out of my file, but is was something about a player missing the bus, and on route to the game. The IAABO (not NFHS) interpretation to this question was that the player's name was not to be written in the book. My local interpreter disagreed with this interpretation, and locally we still allow more names in the book than on the floor, but that may not be the correct IAABO interpretation.

I found this online today. It's from 2009-10:

Play #4 - Before the game the referee notes that there are 11 team members of Team A warming up. However, there are twelve names in the scorebook. When the referee asks the coach about this, he says that one player missed the bus. The referee orders the player's name and number removed from the book stating that an individual must be present to have their name entered in the book. Was the referee correct?

Answer: The referee was NOT correct. Although the definition of team member implies that the individual must be present to be entered in the scorebook, it was not the intent of the NFHS to prohibit the inclusion of individuals in the scorebook who may be late or may not show up. (References: Rule 3.2.1, NFHS Interpretation)


I ask if anyone else is showing up - especially when a team has few players on the court - to prevent handing out technical fouls later on. By the same token, when a scorekeeper - usally a kid - tells me "so and so" isn't going to play so I'm not putting them in, I tell them to put them in the scorebook. You never know what could happen. What if a fight breaks out and kid #14, 15 or even 16 on the bench has to play? To me it's a way of stopping trouble before it starts.

Which brings me back to the scenario of the coach saying "someone is in the locker room." Well, they're not on the bench and they're not in the book so why make touble for ourselves by waiting for this 'phantom' player?

jdw3018 Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 824655)
I ask if anyone else is showing up - especially when a team has few players on the court - to prevent handing out technical fouls later on. By the same token, when a scorekeeper - usally a kid - tells me "so and so" isn't going to play so I'm not putting them in, I tell them to put them in the scorebook.

Of course, it doesn't matter what they put in the scorebook, only what they were given by the coach. If the coach gave them a lineup including all the players, then you still wouldn't administer a T later in the game if the late player shows up.

Welpe Thu Feb 16, 2012 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jdw3018 (Post 824674)
Of course, it doesn't matter what they put in the scorebook, only what they were given by the coach. If the coach gave them a lineup including all the players, then you still wouldn't administer a T later in the game if the late player shows up.

True enough though (SWAG) 85% of the time here, the book is populated by the coach and is what is considered as submitted.

BayStateRef Thu Feb 16, 2012 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 824626)
On what basis did IAABO have to issue that interpretation? There is absolutely nothing in the rules prohibiting extra names being in the book. The IAABO ruling is essentially setting a team up for a technical foul if the player manages to find another way to the game.

The IAABO interpretation was based on the definition of "team member," which required the person to be in uniform and eligible to become a player. It was a poor interpretation and not enforced for more than a couple of games (if at all) and eventually set aside by the NFHS interp. in 2009.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 02:49pm

Please Don't Make Me Look It Up, I Have Over 30 Years Of Refresher Exams On File ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 824626)
On what basis did IAABO have to issue that interpretation?

What part of, "Please don't make me go and dig it out of my file", did you not understand. It was only an IAABO interpretation, not a NFHS interpretation, and we, locally, ignored the interpretation for the reason you cited above.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 16, 2012 02:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 824733)
The IAABO interpretation was based on the definition of "team member," which required the person to be in uniform and eligible to become a player. It was a poor interpretation and not enforced for more than a couple of games (if at all) and eventually set aside by the NFHS interp. in 2009.


To be honest I can't believe an IAABO Board Interpreter would make such an interpetation. If the interpreter had just asked Peter Webb, he would have set him straight because the NFHS (and NCAA) intepretation is actually an interpretation that goes back to the NBCUSC days, meaning over 50 years.

MTD, Sr.

BayStateRef Thu Feb 16, 2012 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 824770)
To be honest I can't believe an IAABO Board Interpreter would make such an interpetation. If the interpreter had just asked Peter Webb, whe would havre set him straight because the NFHS (and NCAA) intepretation is actually an interpretation that goes back to the NBCUSC days, meaning over 5o years.

MTD, Sr.

This was not done by a local board interpreter. As Billy said...it was from (either) an IAABO exam or from a conference call with all IAABO interpreters. I recall when my board interpreter first told us this...and the push back we gave him. But he was following the "One rule, one interpretation" motto from IAABO. It was discussed at length on this forum...where there was ZERO support for this decision. I know that I enforced it for exactly one game. I am sure the NFHS case play from 2009 was a direct result of this IAABO interpretation.

BayStateRef Thu Feb 16, 2012 03:59pm

That IAABO ruling from 2005
 
Found it. From 2005. (This is Billy Mac's post.)

Missed The Bus
<hr style="color:#D1D1E1; background-color:#D1D1E1" size="1"> 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam

73) Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warm up, the referee counts eleven team members for team A, but while checking the book, team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book, even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

73) Yes: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1, Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4.

Almost every one in my local board got this question wrong. We disagreed with the answer and citation then, and we still disagree with the answer and citation. If I recall, we got some type of explanation involving the definition of a "team member" involving a squad member being ready and eligible to play.

When I'm the referee, I'm pleased to see that there are more names in the book than there are on the floor during warmups. During the 25 years that I coached middle school basketball, I would put all 14 of my team members' names and numbers, in numerical order, in the book for every game, even if I knew that they would miss the game due to injury or illness.

krampuppy Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:04pm

I coach high school basketball....here is what happened to me earlier this year.

I handed my scorebook to the scorekeeper. During pre-game one of the referees counts that I have 15 in the book, but only 13 in uniform. He makes the scorekeeper cross out (or white out) those kids not in uniform. One of them was injured, but the other was actually sick and I didn't know if he would play or not. Is this right?

APG Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:05pm

Nope

Adam Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampuppy (Post 824819)
I coach high school basketball....here is what happened to me earlier this year.

I handed my scorebook to the scorekeeper. During pre-game one of the referees counts that I have 15 in the book, but only 13 in uniform. He makes the scorekeeper cross out (or white out) those kids not in uniform. One of them was injured, but the other was actually sick and I didn't know if he would play or not. Is this right?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 824820)
Nope

Just tell him one (or two) is in the locker room.

While he's wrong, I wouldn't argue too much. Just report it to your state org for them to deal with after the game.

krampuppy Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:11pm

I didn't argue it... because I wasn't even notified of it. I didn't know about it until after the game when I noticed the names whited out of my book. So I asked my scorekeeper who told me the referee told him to do it. I am going to report it to the state org just so it isn't done again. Thanks for the help.

Adam Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampuppy (Post 824824)
I didn't argue it... because I wasn't even notified of it. I didn't know about it until after the game when I noticed the names whited out of my book. So I asked my scorekeeper who told me the referee told him to do it. I am going to report it to the state org just so it isn't done again. Thanks for the help.

Be prepared for them to back his move. They may want it enforced that way. If they do, and you're in Colorado, let me know.

JetMetFan Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampuppy (Post 824824)
I didn't argue it... because I wasn't even notified of it. I didn't know about it until after the game when I noticed the names whited out of my book. So I asked my scorekeeper who told me the referee told him to do it. I am going to report it to the state org just so it isn't done again. Thanks for the help.

What would have made this even worse is if the player you weren't sure was feeling well enough to play actually decided to play. Then what would the official have done? He would've had a tough time explaining to you and the opposing coach why a player, who was originally in the scorebook, had been removed and then was put back in the book.

One of my mentors - who is now one of my assignors - told a bunch of us years ago that sometimes we're our own worst enemies on the court because we think too much.

Raymond Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 824828)
What would have made this even worse is if the player you weren't sure was feeling well enough to play actually decided to play. Then what would the official have done? He would've had a tough time explaining to you and the opposing coach why a player, who was originally in the scorebook, had been removed and then was put back in the book.
...

Coach would have been covered b/c he provided a roster with that player's name and number.

jdw3018 Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 824829)
Coach would have been covered b/c he provided a roster with that player's name and number.

By rule he would have been covered...but then, by rule the name could have stayed in the book...

krampuppy Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:25pm

Does it matter if the player is in street clothes behind the bench and you are not intending on playing him because of injury?

Also, if the state backs the ref that's fine... I just want to know the rule for future reference.

JetMetFan Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampuppy (Post 824835)
Does it matter if the player is in street clothes behind the bench and you are not intending on playing him because of injury?

Also, if the state backs the ref that's fine... I just want to know the rule for future reference.

Does what matter? If he's in the book but he's in street clothes behind the bench that's not our concern.

krampuppy Thu Feb 16, 2012 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 824839)
Does what matter? If he's in the book but he's in street clothes behind the bench that's not our concern.

Okay, that's what I thought, but just wanted to make sure.... I just didn't know if he was in street clothes but still in the book this gave the ref reason take him out of the book....

Thanks again.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:15pm

Misty Water Colored Memories ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 824818)
Found it. From 2005. (This is Billy Mac's post.)
Missed The Bus - 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam.

BayStateRef: Thanks for doing the research. I wasn't looking forward to sorting through over thirty years of old IAABO refresher exams, and I had forgotten that I had posted this on the Forum.

An important reminder. This was not a NFHS refresher exam, nor was it a 2005 NFHS interpretation. It's 100% IAABO. Was Peter Webb the IAABO interpreter in 2005?

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:20pm

Let's Go To The Videotape ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 824818)
Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1, Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4.

3-2-1: At least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team
shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member
and designate the five starting players. Failure to comply results in a technical foul
(see 10-1-1 Penalty).

4-34-4: A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform
and is eligible to become a player.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:28pm

Broken Flux Capacitor ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 824825)
Be prepared for them to back his move. They may want it enforced that way. If they do, and you're in Colorado, let me know.

Isn't the Centennial State IAABO? Are they still using that stupid 2005 IAABO refresher exam interpretation? Even though, locally, we don't follow that idiotic interpretation, we, at least those of us here in my little corner of Connecticut, have never been "officially" informed by the "international office" of any other more rational interpretation. I have never seen the NFHS 2009-10 interpretation posted by JetMetFan.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:33pm

The Whole Nine Yards ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 824655)
I found this online today. It's from 2009-10: Play #4 - Before the game the referee notes that there are 11 team members of Team A warming up. However, there are twelve names in the scorebook. When the referee asks the coach about this, he says that one player missed the bus. The referee orders the player's name and number removed from the book stating that an individual must be present to have their name entered in the book. Was the referee correct? Answer: The referee was NOT correct. Although the definition of team member implies that the individual must be present to be entered in the scorebook, it was not the intent of the NFHS to prohibit the inclusion of individuals in the scorebook who may be late or may not show up. (References: Rule 3.2.1, NFHS Interpretation)

JetMetFan: Thanks for finding, and posting this. I would love to see it in context. Conference call? Mid-season interpretation? Is this in Nevadaref's archives? Can you post the link where you found it?

BayStateRef Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824909)
JetMetFan: Thanks for finding, and posting this. I would love to see it in context. Conference call? Mid-season interpretation? Is this in Nevadaref's archives? Can you post the link where you found it?

Here's the link:
2009-2010 Week 4

It is from an IAABO board in South Carolina.

Adam Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by krampuppy (Post 824841)
Okay, that's what I thought, but just wanted to make sure.... I just didn't know if he was in street clothes but still in the book this gave the ref reason take him out of the book....

Thanks again.

The rules do not address who's allowed to be entered into the book. As JMF stated, sometimes we just over think stuff and get into trouble.

Rosters aren't my business, I only make sure no names are added after the 10 minute mark without penalty. To do that, we check to make sure there are at least as many names as bodies warming up. If not, I will assume players are either in the locker room, on the way, partying in Vegas, or flying to the moon. I'm not even asking.

BillyMac Thu Feb 16, 2012 06:55pm

What's It Gonna Be Boy (Meatloaf) ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 824919)
It is from an IAABO board in South Carolina.

So, is this interpretation a local IAABO interpretation, an IAABO "international" interpretation, or a NFHS interpretation?

BayStateRef Thu Feb 16, 2012 07:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 824922)
So, is this interpretation a local IAABO interpretation, an IAABO "international" interpretation, or a NFHS interpretation?

Just this one IAABO board. The interpreter is Paul Behr. You can find his email contact on this page: http://www.district3hoops.com/index.htm

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Thu Feb 16, 2012 09:24pm

IAABO is a basketball officials association no different from any other official association. The best way to describe it is that it is comparable to the California Basketball Officials Association (CBOA). It is a large association with many Local Boards just like the CBOA. Its members officiate at the high school (NFHS), college (NCAA Men's/Women's), international (FIBA), and professional (NBA/WNBA).

The idea of an IAABO interpretation is just as illogical as the idea of a CBOA interpretation or a Wood Co. Bkb. Off. Assn. interpretation. Every Fall the Rules Editors of the NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules Committees address the Interpreters of the Local Boards of IAABO because IAABO Interpreters just like all interpreters of any other local officials associations are obligated to issue interpretations that are true to the appropriate rules set.

MTD, Sr.

constable Fri Feb 17, 2012 07:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 824381)
Then you tell the coach we're ready to play.

Had a disqualification this past Saturday. NCAA-M rules, so calling official went opposite and I came tableside. Before I even had a chance to finish sentence "Coach, that's 5 on..." the coach already had a sub at the table and says "I know, thanks, that's his sub".

As I beckon the sub on the OPPOSING coach calls his players over and I have tell him "Let's go coach, sub is already in". Definitely caught him off-guard that I wouldn't allow him to huddle.


Doing the championship in a "Small School Showcase" up here a few weeks ago. A player fouls out and the coach says that he wants his timeout. I told the coach he needed to replace the player first. Coach says ok and provides a sub.. I then ask if he wants a 30 or 60 and he flips! He says he doesn't want to use a charged time out he just wants to huddle with his players during the DQ... I inform him why that isn't permissible and off we go but the coach had clearly never heard that rule before... or any other for that matter...

Raymond Fri Feb 17, 2012 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 824920)
The rules do not address who's allowed to be entered into the book. As JMF stated, sometimes we just over think stuff and get into trouble.
...

Some folks think being a good official means showing everybody how restritive you are:
  • Looking for reasons to not allow a sub after a time-out which is followed by free throws
  • finding reasons to remove names from the scorebook
  • Finding reasons to rule a fouled player as being "on the floor"

:rolleyes:

Scrapper1 Fri Feb 17, 2012 11:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 824959)
The idea of an IAABO interpretation is just as illogical as the idea of a CBOA interpretation or a Wood Co. Bkb. Off. Assn. interpretation.

What is illogical about this? If there is no clear interpretation of a rule or a situation, and the NFHS case book doesn't cover it, then my local interpreter has to give his/her own interp. That would be the ABC Officials' Org. interpretation. What is illogical about that?

When IAABO makes its exams and they put a screwy question on there that isn't addressed by any NFHS case play, the answer they provide (supposedly for ALL members) is the IAABO interpretation of that play. That's not illogical, that's a fact. It's how they expect their members to call that play.

The fact that those screwy interpretations aren't collected into one IAABO Case Book doesn't imply that they are not still interpretations of those plays.

Quote:

Every Fall the Rules Editors of the NFHS and NCAA Men's Rules Committees address the Interpreters of the Local Boards of IAABO
As far as I know, the NFHS Rules Editor does not address the interpreters at the Fall conference. I'm on the Executive Committee of my local board and I'm pretty sure (like 100%) I would have heard from my interpreter if Mary had ever been there.

BillyMac Fri Feb 17, 2012 05:03pm

In My Little Corner Of Connecticut, We Choose Not To Follow This Rule ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 824920)
The rules do not address who's allowed to be entered into the book.

They don't? It seems pretty clear to me:

3-2-1: At least 10 minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team
shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member.

4-34-4: A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform
and is eligible to become a player.


Maybe you meant to say that the rules do not address who's not allowed to be entered into the book.

Texas Aggie Fri Feb 17, 2012 08:32pm

Quote:

No subs, no time.
The rule doesn't say that. It assumes there is a replacement. So when there isn't, its a situation that isn't specifically covered, which calls for discretion.

Absent a case ruling, there is no official ruling here. Give them the 20 seconds.

Adam Fri Feb 17, 2012 08:38pm

I agree that the rule itself seems to not allow for the time without an actual replacement, but there is room for interpretation here. In the absence of a ruling, go with what your locals say, or your instinct. Personally, I'm not inclined to give him a free time out just because his player fouked out.

Scrapper1 Sat Feb 18, 2012 09:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825268)
I'm not inclined to give him a free time out just because his player fouked out.

I have no idea what this means, but it made me laugh this morning. :)

BillyMac Sat Feb 18, 2012 09:50am

Hall Of Famer ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 825268)
Fouked

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 825389)
I have no idea what this means.

Wasn't he a running back for the Saint Louis Rams?

BillyMac Sat Feb 18, 2012 10:45am

Why Can't They Be Like We Were, Perfect In Every Way ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 824939)
Just this one IAABO board (IAABO Board 403, Catawba River (South Carolina) Basketball Officials Association. The interpreter is Paul Behr.

I shot off an email to him. I will let the Forum know if I receive any updated information from him.

If kids wouldn't miss the bus, we wouldn't be having this debate. What's the matter with kids today? We never missed this bus. We walked to all of our games, home, and away, in the snow, in our short shorts, uphill, both ways.

Adam Sat Feb 18, 2012 11:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 825389)
I have no idea what this means, but it made me laugh this morning. :)

It means my auto correct on the smart phone is getting a little too big for his britches.

BillyMac Mon Feb 20, 2012 07:18pm

Missed The Bus ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 825404)
I shot off an email to him. I will let the Forum know if I receive any updated information from him.

Here's the email that I sent:

IAABO Board 403 Catawba River (South Carolina) Basketball Officials Association:

I have recently been made aware of an interpretation on the IAABO Board 403 Catawba River (South Carolina) Basketball Officials Association website. It appears under the heading 2009-2010, Plays of the Week, Week 4:

Play #4 - Before the game the referee notes that there are eleven team members of Team A warming up. However, there are twelve names in the scorebook. When the referee asks the coach about this, he says that one player missed the bus. The referee orders the player's name and number removed from the book stating that an individual must be present to have their name entered in the book. Was the referee correct?

Answer: The referee was not correct. Although the definition of team member implies that the individual must be present to be entered in the scorebook, it was not the intent of the NFHS to prohibit the inclusion of individuals in the scorebook who may be late or may not show up. (References: Rule 3.2.1, NFHS Interpretation)

This rule interpretation appears to be in direct opposition to an interpretation that appeared on the 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam:

73) Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warm up, the referee counts eleven team members for team A, but while checking the book, team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book, even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

73) Yes: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1, Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4.

Here are the citations listed:

3-2-1: At least ten minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players. Failure to comply results in a technical foul (see 10-1-1 Penalty).

4-34-4: A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform and is eligible to become a player.

Almost every one in my local board got this question wrong. We disagreed with the answer, and citation, back in 2005, and we still disagree with the answer, and citation. When I'm the referee, I'm pleased to see that there are more names in the book than there are on the floor during warmups. The opposite, more players on the floor than in the book, can, obviously, present problems.

If I recall, IAABO "International" gave us some type of explanation involving the definition of a team member as a squad member being in uniform and eligible to play. My local interpreter disagreed with this interpretation, and locally, we still allow more names in the book than on the floor, but that may not be the correct IAABO "International" interpretation, nor may it be the correct NFHS interpretation. As far as I know, we, here in Connecticut, have never been "officially" informed by IAABO "International", or the NFHS, of any other interpretation. As far as we know, the refresher exam answer still represents the "Law Of The Land", a "Law" that we, under the rational guidance of our local interpreter, have chosen to ignore.

I am not disagreeing with the interpretation on your website. I actually like your interpretation, it "fits" what we're actually doing here in Connecticut. Rather, I would like to know what your IAABO Board 403 Catawba River (South Carolina) Basketball Officials Association interpretation is based on? Have you received a new, i.e., newer than 2005, interpretation from either IAABO "International", or from the NFHS, and if so, could you please share that information with me?

Here's their response:

Regarding this play quite a few questions had been generated to the NFHS about the change that led to the situation where you couldn't have more names on the scorebook roster. As a result the NFHS issued a supplementary case play on their website. This case play never made it to the Case Book. The wording in the answer was lifted directly from that case play.

Anybody got the "supplementary case play" in context?

C'mon Nevadaref. "Now go do that voodoo that you do so well."

BayStateRef Mon Feb 20, 2012 08:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826158)
Here's their response:

Regarding this play quite a few questions had been generated to the NFHS about the change that led to the situation where you couldn't have more names on the scorebook roster. As a result the NFHS issued a supplementary case play on their website. This case play never made it to the Case Book. The wording in the answer was lifted directly from that case play.

Anybody got the "supplementary case play" in context?

I looked at the NFHS basketball interpretations each year from 2005-06 to 2011-12 and there is no such play.

I searched the NFHS website for a case play with the word "bus" and did not find any.

I don't doubt the IAABO board in South Carolina...but I would really prefer a ruling that includes a date, link, PDF file...anything specific. I am fairly sure this would have been seen by others...including many members of this forum.

The interpretation is fine...and it is the one I am using. But if someone says it comes from a NFHS ruling, I sure would like to see that ruling.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Mon Feb 20, 2012 08:53pm

BayStateRef and BillyMac
 
I don't ever remember reading a Casebook Play or Approved Ruling that requires only names of the players who are present to be in the Scorebook. There has never been any rule in the NBCUSC, NFHS, and NCAA Rules Books that have prohibited the number of names in the Scorebook.

MTD, Sr.

BayStateRef Mon Feb 20, 2012 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 826179)
I don't ever remember reading a Casebook Play or Approved Ruling that requires only names of the players who are present to be in the Scorebook. There has never been any rule in the NBCUSC, NFHS, and NCAA Rules Books that have prohibited the number of names in the Scorebook.

Yet the IAABO interpreter in South Carolina says there was an NFHS ruling on this subject -- and he used it as the basis for a rules quiz question on his board's web site. But he does not cite a year or anything else.

There has been an IAABO test question on this (as Billy and I have shown.) You say it is wrong. It would not be the first time. I'd just like to see a definitive answer to what seems to be a simple question.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 07:09am

Missed The Bus, Again ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BayStateRef (Post 826180)
You say it is wrong.

There seems to be at least one incorrect answer on the IAABO Refresher Exam answer key almost every year. This was not one of them. After most of us on our local board got this incorrect, our local interpreter checked back with IAABO "International" and they stood behind their answer. That was back in 2005. Remember this is an IAABO, not a NFHS, "interpretation".

For you lucky non-IAABO guys, "Move along. There's nothing to see here".

What happens in IAABO, stays in IAABO.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 07:16am

Pepperidge Farm Remembers ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 826179)
I don't ever remember reading a Casebook Play or Approved Ruling that requires only names of the players who are present to be in the Scorebook.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Do you remember the 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam? Do you remember getting question #73 wrong? Do you remember being pissed that you got the question wrong, especially after you discovered that this was not an error on the answer sheet? Do you remember where you left your car keys?

I realize that it's not a "Casebook Play or Approved Ruling, but it does, or did, carry some weight among IAABO members.

73) Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warm up, the referee counts eleven team members for team A, but while checking the book, team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book, even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

73) Yes: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1, Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4.

3-2-1: At least ten minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players. Failure to comply results in a technical foul (see 10-1-1 Penalty).

4-34-4: A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform and is eligible to become a player.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Tue Feb 21, 2012 01:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 826228)
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.: Do you remember the 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam? Do you remember getting question #73 wrong? Do you remember being pissed that you got the question wrong, especially after you discovered that this was not an error on the answer sheet? Do you remember where you left your car keys?

I realize that it's not a "Casebook Play or Approved Ruling, but it does, or did, carry some weight among IAABO members.

73) Squad member #45 missed the bus and is not present at the time the squad list and starting lineup must be submitted for team members. During the pregame warm up, the referee counts eleven team members for team A, but while checking the book, team A has twelve team members listed. Referee informs the coach that the squad member who is not present may not be placed in the book, even if he/she will get to the game late. Is the referee correct?

73) Yes: Rule 3, Section 2, Article 1, Rule 4, Section 34, Article 4.

3-2-1: At least ten minutes before the scheduled starting time, each team shall supply the official scorer with the name and number of each team member and designate the five starting players. Failure to comply results in a technical foul (see 10-1-1 Penalty).

4-34-4: A team member is a member of bench personnel who is in uniform and is eligible to become a player.


Billy:

I remember getting the 2005 IAABO Refresher Exam. BUT, here in Ohio members of Board #55 were not required to take the exam because Ohio was not then and still is not an IAABO state (:(). The answer given for Question #73 probably didn't register with me because I knew it to be wrong and that somebody else would notify IAABO.

I received that Refresher Exam in early October 2004. I did not attend the Fall Interpreters Meeting in Cape Cod that year (last weekend of Sep. 2004). Junior was a FR in H.S., Andy was in 6th grade, Bonnie was attending college at night to finish her bachelor's degree, and she and I were both very active as volunteers with the various committees within the Toledo Public Schools, not to mention I had a full schedule of boys' and girls' H.S. soccer games that Fall as well as a full schedule of Fall baseball and fastpitch softball games.

I am sure I went through the exam and made notes (I am not climbing up into the attic to check what notes I made, :p.) but I really didn't take umbrage over the mistake because I was sure that somebody would correct it eventually.

MTD, Sr.

P.S. Yes, and I do forget where I put car keys because I am a doddering bald old geezer. LOL

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 01:35pm

What Goes Up, Must Come Back Down ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 826323)
I am sure I went through the exam and made notes. I am not climbing up into the attic to check what notes I made.

C'mon Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Your attic has to be warming up by now. Take a couple of aspirin, and make the trip up those steps. Get your notes, and be sure to rest before you try to come back down. Or just toss the notes down to your better half. We would really like to see your notes regarding this question.

BillyMac Tue Feb 21, 2012 01:45pm

I've Been Searchin' So Long To Find An Answer (Chicago) ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 826323)
I was sure that somebody would correct it eventually.

Well? Have they? I hope that you weren't holding your breath. And by "they", I mean either IAABO "International" or, better yet, the NFHS.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:01pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1