The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Whose the foul on? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88375-whose-foul.html)

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 12, 2012 08:05pm

Whose the foul on?
 
A1 with the ball beyond the 3 point line, B1 about 8 feet away moving toward A1.

A1 fakes a shot, B1 jumps to block the shot. Where B1 jumps from ( obliquely ) he will land to the right on A1, but A1 seeing B1 has jumped, now jumps into the path of B1 and attempts a shoot.

Contact is made between the 2 players. Whose the foul on?

We discussed this at our meeting today and we had about a 50-50 split.

I got a defensive foul. Our Interpreter has an offensive foul.

What say you?

APG Sun Feb 12, 2012 08:11pm

If the defender would have landed clear of the offensive player, than I'd have a player control foul...otherwise a defensive foul.

APG Sun Feb 12, 2012 08:13pm

http://forum.officiating.com/basketb...ve-player.html

Adam Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:17pm

Possibly a no call.

Terrapins Fan Sun Feb 12, 2012 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 799874)
I was picturing the offensive player as stationary, based on the reference in the OP to a "ball holder" as opposed to a ball handler. (dribbler) In such case when the defender jumps in an attempt to contest the shot and would have landed cleanly had the offensive player remained stationary, the call could only go one way.

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 799992)
LOL! Let me know the next time you make that call. :D

We see plays all the time where the offensive player pump fakes, the defender jumps, the shooter then takes a legal step, jumps into the defender....TWEET! It's a defensive foul every time.

I agree.

Nevadaref Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 823240)
A1 with the ball beyond the 3 point line, B1 about 8 feet away moving toward A1.

A1 fakes a shot, B1 jumps to block the shot. Where B1 jumps from ( obliquely ) he will land to the right on A1, but A1 seeing B1 has jumped, now jumps into the path of B1 and attempts a shoot.

Contact is made between the 2 players. Whose the foul on?

We discussed this at our meeting today and we had about a 50-50 split.

I got a defensive foul. Our Interpreter has an offensive foul.

What say you?

Listen to your interpreter. The NCAA made a point of this being an offensive foul in it's instructional videos a couple of years ago.
At the NFHS level the call is justified by the rule that once a player goes airborne another player who moves to a new location in the path does not have a legal position.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:27pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Terrapins Fan (Post 823240)
A1 with the ball beyond the 3 point line, B1 about 8 feet away moving toward A1.

A1 fakes a shot, B1 jumps to block the shot. Where B1 jumps from ( obliquely ) he will land to the right on A1, but A1 seeing B1 has jumped, now jumps into the path of B1 and attempts a shoot.

Contact is made between the 2 players. Whose the foul on?

We discussed this at our meeting today and we had about a 50-50 split.

I got a defensive foul. Our Interpreter has an offensive foul.

What say you?

Nothings changed since the last thread. It's still a foul on the defender.

Anybody that tells you they've called this foul on the shooter is full of BS.

AKOFL Mon Feb 13, 2012 12:39am

the defender has left his veritcle plane so has no legal guarding position. that being said, if the offence goes a long way out of his way to make contact i may go with a no call. tough one.

Camron Rust Mon Feb 13, 2012 01:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 823315)
the defender has left his veritcle plane so has no legal guarding position. that being said, if the offence goes a long way out of his way to make contact i may go with a no call. tough one.

Always have to consider a player moving into the path of an airborne opponent. If the offensive player changed directions to go into the path of the airborne defender when they otherwise had an open shot I'm likely not going to reward them with a defensive foul...they put themselves into a disadvantageous position. If any, it will be an offensive foul....but likely nothing.

Terrapins Fan Wed Feb 15, 2012 09:30am

I would love to see consistency on this call. I understand what everyone is saying.

I agree the defender is not in the vertical plane, and I agree the offensive player created the contact. But I got the foul on the defense, what do we call on the floor if the defensive player moves forward.

truerookie Wed Feb 15, 2012 11:45am

Well, Sh!! if we are going to charge the foul to the defensive player because of vertical plane principle. Shouldn't this apply to the offense too. He/she is not jumping straight up to get the shot off.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1