The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   arrow change (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88176-arrow-change.html)

BktBallRef Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 822961)
So what happens then?

Based on what I wrote above, you tell me.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 822965)
The violation by B on the throw-in means that A gets the ball again but this time it is not an AP throw-in and A will keep the arrow as the AP throw-in did not end.

I think you are wrong about the throw in not being ended. Rule: 4-42-5


ART. 5

The throw-in ends when:

a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
The arrow should switch but A gets the ball back for a kicking violation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822986)
I think you are wrong about the throw in not being ended. Rule: 4-42-5


ART. 5

The throw-in ends when:

a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
The arrow should switch but A gets the ball back for a kicking violation.


That is why the AP Throw-in has not ended. The ensuing throw-in is for the violatioin by the Team B player and the next time there is a Jump Ball Situation, Team A will receive the ball for a Throw-in via the AP Arrow.

MTD, Sr.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:33am

Ah, clever. You are right.

APG Sun Feb 12, 2012 04:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822993)
Ah, clever. You are right.

4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A

BktBallRef Sun Feb 12, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822993)
Ah, clever. You are right.

Not clever at all. It's a matter of KNOWING the definitions and then applying them within the remaining 9 rules.

Indianaref Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 822752)
Your question makes no sense. An illegal screen is a foul not a violation. One of those two items causes the arrow to change, the other doesn't. The arrow changes when the throw0in ends. See 4-throw-in to find the rest of your answer.

6-4-5 is actually a direct answer to this question


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1