The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   arrow change (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/88176-arrow-change.html)

onetime1 Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:36am

arrow change
 
Ball OOB on the arrow. Offense violates with an illegal screen. Does the arrow switch?

bob jenkins Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 822750)
Ball OOB on the arrow. Offense violates with an illegal screen. Does the arrow switch?

Your question makes no sense. An illegal screen is a foul not a violation. One of those two items causes the arrow to change, the other doesn't. The arrow changes when the throw0in ends. See 4-throw-in to find the rest of your answer.

refiator Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:42am

The question is hazy, but it sounds as if you had a foul on an AP throw in. This has no affect on the arrow direction.

Johnny Ringo Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:12am

These are very confusing plays to younger officials.

bob jenkins Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 822835)
These are very confusing plays to younger officials.

Agreed. And, imo, a minute or two in the rules book (with the guidance provided) will clarify the answer and cement it in the youngsters' brains more than just giving the answer here.

Rich Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:23am

My idea of hell is standing in front of a defensive coach while a girl dances around trying to set a screen, missing badly, while the coach yells "moving screen, moving screen" in my ear. A deeper layer of hell has the coach throwing in "3 seconds" every third time or so.

Johnny Ringo Sat Feb 11, 2012 12:22pm

Taking it a step further... B1 is called for a kicking violation on A1's pass to A2.

BktBallRef Sat Feb 11, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 822850)
Taking it a step further... B1 is called for a kicking violation on A1's pass to A2.

Is that a question?

BillyMac Sat Feb 11, 2012 04:09pm

I'll Take Violations For $100, Alex ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 822856)
Is that a question?

In Jeopardy, and on the Forum, your answers must be in the form of a question.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 11, 2012 08:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by RichMSN (Post 822840)
My idea of hell is standing in front of a defensive coach while a girl dances around trying to set a screen, missing badly, while the coach yells "moving screen, moving screen" in my ear. A deeper layer of hell has the coach throwing in "3 seconds" every third time or so.


Padgett will enjoy this one: I had a girls' 12U game this morning and the winning team had two girls that were about 5'09". Their team had one offensive possession where a guard for the team missed a FGA and these two girls proceeded to play volleyball putting up at least 6 shoots between the two of them before one of them scored a layup, all the while a father from the other team is counting allowed and screaming how long am I going to let them stay in the lane, :p.

MTD, Sr.

just another ref Sat Feb 11, 2012 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 822943)
Padgett will enjoy this one: I had a girls' 12U game this morning and the winning team had two girls that were about 5'09". Their team had one offensive possession where a guard for the team missed a FGA and these two girls proceeded to play volleyball putting up at least 6 shoots between the two of them before one of them scored a layup, all the while a father from the other team is counting allowed and screaming how long am I going to let them stay in the lane, :p.

MTD, Sr.

So you told him it was not allowed?

Too easy.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sat Feb 11, 2012 09:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 822948)
So you told him it was not allowed?

Too easy.

The father from the other team was a spectator in the stands. I was delighted that he was able to count to ten without using his fingers. :D

MTD, Sr.

Adam Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:24pm

Sometimes this bugs me, usually when the one knucklehead can be heard over everyone else. Sometimes, I feel like invoking the idiot Dad rule, but never so much as nod at the guy. I will, however, occasionally laugh out loud.

onetime1 Sat Feb 11, 2012 10:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Johnny Ringo (Post 822850)
Taking it a step further... B1 is called for a kicking violation on A1's pass to A2.

So what happens then?

SNIPERBBB Sat Feb 11, 2012 11:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 822961)
So what happens then?


The violation by B on the throw-in means that A gets the ball again but this time it is not an AP throw-in and A will keep the arrow as the AP throw-in did not end.

BktBallRef Sun Feb 12, 2012 12:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by onetime1 (Post 822961)
So what happens then?

Based on what I wrote above, you tell me.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 822965)
The violation by B on the throw-in means that A gets the ball again but this time it is not an AP throw-in and A will keep the arrow as the AP throw-in did not end.

I think you are wrong about the throw in not being ended. Rule: 4-42-5


ART. 5

The throw-in ends when:

a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
The arrow should switch but A gets the ball back for a kicking violation.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822986)
I think you are wrong about the throw in not being ended. Rule: 4-42-5


ART. 5

The throw-in ends when:

a. The passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds.
b. The passed ball touches or is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7.
c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.
The arrow should switch but A gets the ball back for a kicking violation.


That is why the AP Throw-in has not ended. The ensuing throw-in is for the violatioin by the Team B player and the next time there is a Jump Ball Situation, Team A will receive the ball for a Throw-in via the AP Arrow.

MTD, Sr.

Sharpshooternes Sun Feb 12, 2012 02:33am

Ah, clever. You are right.

APG Sun Feb 12, 2012 04:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822993)
Ah, clever. You are right.

4.42.5 SITUATION: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A1’s throw-in pass is illegally kicked by B2. RULING: As a result of B2’s kicking violation, Team A is awarded a new throw-in at the designated spot nearest to where the kicking violation (illegal touching) occurred. Since the alternating-possession throw-in had not been contacted legally, the throw-in has not ended and therefore, the arrow remains with Team A for the next alternating-possession throw-in. COMMENT: The kicking violation ends the alternating-possession throw-in and as a result, a non-alternating-possession throw-in is administered. When the ball is legally touched on the subsequent throw-in following the kicking violation, the arrow shall not be changed and shall remain with Team A

BktBallRef Sun Feb 12, 2012 09:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Sharpshooternes (Post 822993)
Ah, clever. You are right.

Not clever at all. It's a matter of KNOWING the definitions and then applying them within the remaining 9 rules.

Indianaref Sun Feb 12, 2012 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 822752)
Your question makes no sense. An illegal screen is a foul not a violation. One of those two items causes the arrow to change, the other doesn't. The arrow changes when the throw0in ends. See 4-throw-in to find the rest of your answer.

6-4-5 is actually a direct answer to this question


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1