The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Duke/UNC (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87944-duke-unc.html)

grunewar Thu Feb 09, 2012 05:09am

APG, thanks for taking the time to post these for the rest of us - on many occasions. Big help in reviewing what everyone is talking about!

JetMetFan Thu Feb 09, 2012 08:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 821892)
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/hDNmjbPsrx0" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Non-calls like that at the D-I level are what end up killing us with kids at the lower college and H.S. The kids see that and think it's okay then they look at us as though we have two heads when we actually call them for traveling.

I've had more than a few games where kids have caught the ball with both feet on the floor and then jumped to face another direction and couldn't understand why they were called for traveling.

fullor30 Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:29am

last second shot Duke/NC
 
I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.

JetMetFan Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:36am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 821982)
I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.

The C went up with the 3 attempt and then the touchdown when it went in, which is more than enough. Signaling a made field goal by "scoring" it then going to the TD signal would've been redundant. The only way the shot wouldn't have counted is if Rivers hadn't released it before time expired, in which case the C (hopefully) would've been waving it off as soon as the horn sounded.

bob jenkins Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by fullor30 (Post 821982)
I was always taught on last second made shot to first signal basket good, then three signal if applicable. I didn't see that last night.

1) clear it was good, no need to confirm?
2) not a NCAAM mechanic
3) not a fed mechanic
4) just forgot.

I'd vote for 5) -- you were taught incorrectly, or don't remember what you were taught.

fullor30 Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 821991)
I'd vote for 5) -- you were taught incorrectly, or don't remember what you were taught.


At my age, I'll opt for don't remember what I was taught.

twocentsworth Thu Feb 09, 2012 01:54pm

not to hijack this thread about the 3 vs 2 tip in....ok...i'll hijack....

I would not have called a travel on the Curry 3pt shot.

caught ball with right foot on ground.
put left foot down (pivot foot) = 1 step
then double tapped his right foot = 2 step
then left floor to shoot.

it looked funny; but I would only have called a travel IF his right foot WAS NOT already on the ground prior to catching the ball.

APG Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:08pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 822104)
not to hijack this thread about the 3 vs 2 tip in....ok...i'll hijack....

I would not have called a travel on the Curry 3pt shot.

caught ball with right foot on ground.
put left foot down (pivot foot) = 1 step
then double tapped his right foot = 2 step
then left floor to shoot.

it looked funny; but I would only have called a travel IF his right foot WAS NOT already on the ground prior to catching the ball.

If you were calling an NBA game, then you would be right in not calling this a travel. Under NF/NCAA this is a travel as the right foot was the pivot.

Specifically:

1. Ball is gathered with right foot on the floor.
2. Player steps with his left foot. By virtue of doing this, the player has established his right foot as the pivot foot.
3. He then picks up and steps with his right foot, his pivot foot.

JRutledge Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:13pm

I don't have a travel because it is about possession. I do not think he has possession of the ball while moving until his left foot is on the ground. If I have to look that closely to even think that is what took place, then I do not have a travel. I am glad they did not call that a travel.

Peace

bob jenkins Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 822122)
3. He then picks up and steps with his right foot, his pivot foot.

He identified his right foot? I'm sure you meant "He then raises and steps ..."

You shouldn't be giving out misinformation like that.

(Just trying out something I "learned" to see if it works for me.)

M&M Guy Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 822131)
He identified his right foot? I'm sure you meant "He then raises and steps ..."

You shouldn't be giving out misinformation like that.

(Just trying out something I "learned" to see if it works for me.)

...psst, Bob, you forgot the "Lah me".

APG Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 822131)
He identified his right foot? I'm sure you meant "He then raises and steps ..."

You shouldn't be giving out misinformation like that.

(Just trying out something I "learned" to see if it works for me.)

LOL!

Lah me ;)

JRutledge Thu Feb 09, 2012 02:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 822131)
He identified his right foot? I'm sure you meant "He then raises and steps ..."

You shouldn't be giving out misinformation like that.

(Just trying out something I "learned" to see if it works for me.)

LOL!!! I needed that laugh.

Peace

Scrapper1 Thu Feb 09, 2012 03:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 821902)
The relevant NFHS case play would be 4.41.4B, not 5.2.1.c
4.41.4 SITUATION B: A1’s three-point try is short and below ring level when it hits the shoulder of: (a) A2; or (b) B1 and rebounds to the backboard and through the basket. RULING: The three-point try ended when it was obviously short and below the ring. However, since a live ball went through the basket, two points are scored in both (a) and (b). (5-1)

As we've discussed before, however, this case play contradicts the actual rule, 5-2-1.

Quote:

NCAA
A.R. 135. A ball passed from behind the three-point line:

Does it matter that the ball in the A.R. is a pass, while the game situation was a try?

KCRC Thu Feb 09, 2012 03:16pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JRutledge (Post 822127)
I don't have a travel because it is about possession. I do not think he has possession of the ball while moving until his left foot is on the ground. If I have to look that closely to even think that is what took place, then I do not have a travel. I am glad they did not call that a travel.

Peace

Just curious, what do you see as the possession issue here? Did you see a bobble? The video is of average quality, but it looks to me like he caught the ball cleanly with two hands while his right foot is on the ground with no subsequent bobble/fumble? What did I miss?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1