The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Player counts out loud (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87807-player-counts-out-loud.html)

DenverRef Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:03pm

Player counts out loud
 
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's.

What do you have?

I warned the player and the coach about it and the player did stop doing it after that. But then I was wondering if it was legal? I can't find it in the rulebook.

AKOFL Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:08pm

sounds unsporting to me.

deecee Tue Feb 07, 2012 11:59pm

My count would slow down. If asked about it I would just say that I keep forgetting where I am at every time he yells out a number.

Cobra Wed Feb 08, 2012 01:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by deecee (Post 821343)
My count would slow down. If asked about it I would just say that I keep forgetting where I am at every time he yells out a number.

So you decide to make up your own rules and then when asked about it you try to cover it up by claiming to be not smart enough to count while someone yells....that's a great way to handle it :rolleyes:

JetMetFan Wed Feb 08, 2012 02:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 821326)
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's.

What do you have?

I warned the player and the coach about it and the player did stop doing it after that. But then I was wondering if it was legal? I can't find it in the rulebook.

Something like this isn't specifically covered under Rule 10 in the NFHS or NCAA codes but Rule 2-3 in both is the "Elastic Clause" which allows the referee to make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules. If you felt it was unsporting - which it seems you did - you could have given the defender a technical foul but warning him first made sense.

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:21am

Agree With AKOFL ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 821326)
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's. I warned the player and the coach about it and the player did stop doing it after that. But then I was wondering if it was legal?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AKOFL (Post 821328)
Sounds unsporting to me.

I had this in a scrimmage last year. I handled it the same as DenverRef.

JugglingReferee Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 821326)
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's.

What do you have?

I warned the player and the coach about it and the player did stop doing it after that. But then I was wondering if it was legal? I can't find it in the rulebook.

I think you handled it correctly.

YooperReferee Wed Feb 08, 2012 08:17am

Disconcerting act?. Team warning, note occurrence in scorebook?

Smitty Wed Feb 08, 2012 08:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperReferee (Post 821472)
Disconcerting act?. Team warning, note occurrence in scorebook?

No.

twocentsworth Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 821326)
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's.

What do you have?

I have two questions: 1) who cares? and 2) why does this matter?

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:34am

No, not allowed. You handled it correctly. It's unsporting, and it could easily be construed as attempting to influence an official's decision. You don't need 2-3, it's addressed under rule 10-player technicals.

fiasco Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:02am

Quote:

Originally Posted by twocentsworth (Post 821512)
I have two questions: 1) who cares? and 2) why does this matter?

1) I care. I don't need players out on the court trying to do my job for me. This is no more appropriate than me getting in a team's huddle and trying to influence their end-of-game strategy.

2) It matters because of #1.

tref Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:12am

^ ^ +1 & Amen! ^ ^

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by YooperReferee (Post 821472)
Disconcerting act?. Team warning, note occurrence in scorebook?

Disconcertion applies only during free throws. There is no warning for it. Remember that, in NFHS, there are only 4 official warnings that get noted in the scorebook. Neither disconcertion nor counting aloud are included in those 4 warnings.

Scrapper1 Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821396)
Something like this isn't specifically covered under Rule 10 in the NFHS or NCAA codes but Rule 2-3 in both is the "Elastic Clause" which allows the referee to make decisions on any points not specifically covered in the rules. If you felt it was unsporting - which it seems you did - you could have given the defender a technical foul but warning him first made sense.

As someone else pointed out, if you consider it to be unsporting, then it is definitely specifically covered in the rules, and applying 2-3 is not appropriate.

Jesse James Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:22am

And if the defender is yelling the official's count correctly to his teammates?

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 11:23am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jesse James (Post 821550)
And if the defender is yelling the official's count correctly to his teammates?

Doesn't matter. It's not going to continue.

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Wed Feb 08, 2012 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DenverRef (Post 821326)
While the referee administers the throw-in to A1, B2 begins the 5 second count OUT LOUD to his teammates who are pressing. His count differs from referee's.

What do you have?

I warned the player and the coach about it and the player did stop doing it after that. But then I was wondering if it was legal? I can't find it in the rulebook.


First, I am going to tell B1 to knock it off (and then start my my five-second count all over again because he made me lose my count, :D; no I wouldn't).

Second, the next time B1 started to count, TF for USC.

MTD, Sr.

26 Year Gap Wed Feb 08, 2012 05:36pm

I had this happen in an AAU game. First dead ball I went to the coach and told him to tell his players to knock it off. Turns out that he told them to do it. I would not accept an audible count from a coach, so why would I accept it from a player? There were no more audible counts after I spoke to the coach.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1