The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   DOG v T (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87802-dog-v-t.html)

McMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:25pm

DOG v T
 
In a GJV game tonight, late in the 4th quarter, A has FCELTI. B is guarding the throw-in flailing her arms coming over the boundary line. I blow the whistle for the violation and on her next (last) swipe after the whistle, she contacts the ball. As I go to the table, the touching of the ball goes through my head for a split second before "game management" pops into my head. B was down 20 and there were maybe 2 minutes left. So I called the DOG and moved on.

I know by rule (after looking at my books to double check) that touching or dislodging the ball is a player T along with a DOG if not previously warned. But she touched the ball after the whistle had blown, making the ball dead. She didn't touch the player (therefore not intentional or flagrant). So right call, wrong call, or the "game management" call which I hate, loathe, and despise, or other comments?

just another ref Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:31pm

Right call, because, as you point out, the ball was dead. Only way it could be anything else is if you ruled the touch after the whistle to be a deliberate, unsporting act, which seems unlikely based on the rest of your description.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 08, 2012 09:18am

It was 2 separate "swipes" (as I read the play). You correctly penalized the first and ignored the second.

If it was 1 swipe, and your whistle was so quick as to recognize the breaking of the plane before the act continued to touch the ball, then enforce the T.

Adam Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 821312)
In a GJV game tonight, late in the 4th quarter, A has FCELTI. B is guarding the throw-in flailing her arms coming over the boundary line. I blow the whistle for the violation and on her next (last) swipe after the whistle, she contacts the ball. As I go to the table, the touching of the ball goes through my head for a split second before "game management" pops into my head. B was down 20 and there were maybe 2 minutes left. So I called the DOG and moved on.

I know by rule (after looking at my books to double check) that touching or dislodging the ball is a player T along with a DOG if not previously warned. But she touched the ball after the whistle had blown, making the ball dead. She didn't touch the player (therefore not intentional or flagrant). So right call, wrong call, or the "game management" call which I hate, loathe, and despise, or other comments?

Right call, but I have to ask you: when does the ball become dead?

26 Year Gap Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821513)
Right call, but I have to ask you: when does the ball become dead?

When it gets shot?:D

McMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 10:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821513)
Right call, but I have to ask you: when does the ball become dead?

By rule on the breaking of the plane violation, but if the breaking is immediately followed by contact with the ball or dislodging (T) or contact with the body (Int) we upgrade to the appropriate foul.

mbyron Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:03am

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 821844)
By rule on the breaking of the plane violation, but if the breaking is immediately followed by contact with the ball or dislodging (T) or contact with the body (Int) we upgrade to the appropriate foul.

"Upgrade" is not a happy choice. We upgrade a common foul to INT or flagrant. We can't upgrade a violation to a foul: they're two completely different kinds, not different degrees of one kind.

We ignore the violation when calling the T or INT for contact with the ball/thrower.

Adam Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 821973)
We ignore the violation when calling the T or INT for contact with the ball/thrower.

Not really, as breaking the plane is a violation that comes with a warning. And we give the warning (if it hasn't been given yet).

This is just a weird one.

Adam Thu Feb 09, 2012 09:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 821844)
By rule on the breaking of the plane violation, but if the breaking is immediately followed by contact with the ball or dislodging (T) or contact with the body (Int) we upgrade to the appropriate foul.

My point was the whistle is not what makes the ball dead.

Bob already said it, but if the swipe you are calling the violation for doesn't hit the ball, then just stick with the violation. If it does, then go straight to the T. Having the whistle sound prior to the actual touching of the ball helps to sell it, but isn't necessary.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1