The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul after shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87754-foul-after-shot.html)

packersowner Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:03pm

Foul after shot
 
I tried to find any case plays on this in two different books and did not have any luck. It seems like I should know this, but I have the feeling of doubt in my head, so asking for a little help here. This happened 4 times the other night and I am not sure we got it right.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted during the shot as the ball is being release, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's. I think we got this one right :)

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted after the ball is released but before he returns to the floor, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and returns to the floor, B1 bumps A1 and causes him to fall down. Basket goes in.
Our call: Basket good, foul on B1, A1 ball under the basket.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer, A2 fouls B1 after the ball has been released.
Our call: Basket good, foul on A2, Team B's foul under the basket for a throw in.


Help!!! Which ones did we get right/wrong?

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by packersowner (Post 821027)
I tried to find any case plays on this in two different books and did not have any luck. It seems like I should know this, but I have the feeling of doubt in my head, so asking for a little help here. This happened 4 times the other night and I am not sure we got it right.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted during the shot as the ball is being release, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's. I think we got this one right :)

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted after the ball is released but before he returns to the floor, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and returns to the floor, B1 bumps A1 and causes him to fall down. Basket goes in.
Our call: Basket good, foul on B1, A1 ball under the basket.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer, A2 fouls B1 after the ball has been released.
Our call: Basket good, foul on A2, Team B's foul under the basket for a throw in.


Help!!! Which ones did we get right/wrong?

1. Correct
2. Correct
3. Correct
4. Correct

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821030)
1. Correct
2. Correct
3. <s>Correct</s>
4. Correct

They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

Zoochy Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821031)
They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

4th- Why are you penalizing Team B if the basket is made? If Team B is not in the Bonus, then allow them to run the baseline on a made basket. If shot is missed, then TI at spot of foul.

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 821042)
4th- Why are you penalizing Team B if the basket is made? If Team B is not in the Bonus, then allow them to run the baseline on a made basket. If shot is missed, then TI at spot of foul.

Right you are, 7-5-7b, but ONLY if the throw-in for the foul would have been on the end-line. If the spot is on the sideline, administer it there.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821031)
They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 821048)
Right you are, 7-5-7b, but ONLY if the throw-in for the foul would have been on the end-line. If the spot is on the sideline, administer it there.

Right, I should have noted it would be an end line throw in if the spot would be anywhere along the end line. It still depends on where the foul occurred.

(Case 7.5.7C)

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821056)
Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

Throw in spot.

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821056)
Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

The throw-in spot was wrong.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821058)
Throw in spot.

Makes sense, I pictured top of key shot and landing inside the 3 point arc. Funny how I right away went to visualizing that.

So it's a Maybe on that one.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:43pm

3rd one could also be wrong if the team was in the bonus. In which case no throw in, resume with free throws.

packersowner Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:35pm

Situation 3 - shooter was FT line extended, contact happened on the 3 point line. It was one of those situations where team B came to close out and ended up bumping A1 because they were late.

Situation 4 - A2 was going to rebound and dislodged B1, some might say he was giving him the business :p (parents in the crowd were yelling "over the back" "over the back") I think we have all been there for this call.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by packersowner (Post 821096)
Situation 3 - shooter was FT line extended, contact happened on the 3 point line. It was one of those situations where team B came to close out and ended up bumping A1 because they were late.

Then the throw in should have been on the side line. Not a huge mistake, though; the biggest thing is to count the bucket and give the ball to the right team.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821058)
Throw in spot.

My mistake. I was more concerned with the overall handling of administering the fouls and which team is entitled to the ball after the dust clears.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821108)
My mistake. I was more concerned with the overall handling of administering the fouls and which team is entitled to the ball after the dust clears.

The throw in spot is a small issue compared to the rest.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1