The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Foul after shot (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87754-foul-after-shot.html)

packersowner Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:03pm

Foul after shot
 
I tried to find any case plays on this in two different books and did not have any luck. It seems like I should know this, but I have the feeling of doubt in my head, so asking for a little help here. This happened 4 times the other night and I am not sure we got it right.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted during the shot as the ball is being release, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's. I think we got this one right :)

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted after the ball is released but before he returns to the floor, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and returns to the floor, B1 bumps A1 and causes him to fall down. Basket goes in.
Our call: Basket good, foul on B1, A1 ball under the basket.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer, A2 fouls B1 after the ball has been released.
Our call: Basket good, foul on A2, Team B's foul under the basket for a throw in.


Help!!! Which ones did we get right/wrong?

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by packersowner (Post 821027)
I tried to find any case plays on this in two different books and did not have any luck. It seems like I should know this, but I have the feeling of doubt in my head, so asking for a little help here. This happened 4 times the other night and I am not sure we got it right.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted during the shot as the ball is being release, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's. I think we got this one right :)

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and is contacted after the ball is released but before he returns to the floor, basket is no good.
Our call: A1 is shooting 3 FT's

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer and returns to the floor, B1 bumps A1 and causes him to fall down. Basket goes in.
Our call: Basket good, foul on B1, A1 ball under the basket.

A1 is shooting a 3 pointer, A2 fouls B1 after the ball has been released.
Our call: Basket good, foul on A2, Team B's foul under the basket for a throw in.


Help!!! Which ones did we get right/wrong?

1. Correct
2. Correct
3. Correct
4. Correct

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821030)
1. Correct
2. Correct
3. <s>Correct</s>
4. Correct

They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

Zoochy Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821031)
They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

4th- Why are you penalizing Team B if the basket is made? If Team B is not in the Bonus, then allow them to run the baseline on a made basket. If shot is missed, then TI at spot of foul.

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:31pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy (Post 821042)
4th- Why are you penalizing Team B if the basket is made? If Team B is not in the Bonus, then allow them to run the baseline on a made basket. If shot is missed, then TI at spot of foul.

Right you are, 7-5-7b, but ONLY if the throw-in for the foul would have been on the end-line. If the spot is on the sideline, administer it there.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821031)
They got the third one wrong, unless A1 was somehow fouled in the lane after shooting his three point attempt.

And the fourth one would depend on where the foul occurred. The throw in for a foul should be at the spot nearest the foul.

Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 821048)
Right you are, 7-5-7b, but ONLY if the throw-in for the foul would have been on the end-line. If the spot is on the sideline, administer it there.

Right, I should have noted it would be an end line throw in if the spot would be anywhere along the end line. It still depends on where the foul occurred.

(Case 7.5.7C)

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821056)
Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

Throw in spot.

mbyron Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821056)
Why is the 3rd one wrong? Are you saying the judgement was wrong or the administration?

The throw-in spot was wrong.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821058)
Throw in spot.

Makes sense, I pictured top of key shot and landing inside the 3 point arc. Funny how I right away went to visualizing that.

So it's a Maybe on that one.

Toren Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:43pm

3rd one could also be wrong if the team was in the bonus. In which case no throw in, resume with free throws.

packersowner Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:35pm

Situation 3 - shooter was FT line extended, contact happened on the 3 point line. It was one of those situations where team B came to close out and ended up bumping A1 because they were late.

Situation 4 - A2 was going to rebound and dislodged B1, some might say he was giving him the business :p (parents in the crowd were yelling "over the back" "over the back") I think we have all been there for this call.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by packersowner (Post 821096)
Situation 3 - shooter was FT line extended, contact happened on the 3 point line. It was one of those situations where team B came to close out and ended up bumping A1 because they were late.

Then the throw in should have been on the side line. Not a huge mistake, though; the biggest thing is to count the bucket and give the ball to the right team.

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821058)
Throw in spot.

My mistake. I was more concerned with the overall handling of administering the fouls and which team is entitled to the ball after the dust clears.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by JetMetFan (Post 821108)
My mistake. I was more concerned with the overall handling of administering the fouls and which team is entitled to the ball after the dust clears.

The throw in spot is a small issue compared to the rest.

M&M Guy Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:01pm

Question about #2 - how much contact was there? Was it the same contact as in #1?

Everyone understands that contact on the arm as the shot is being released is likely a disadvantage to the shooter, and is most likely a foul. But that same contact after the shot is released doesn't affect the shot at all, so it is more likely incidental, especially if the shooter is able to land normally.

If your question implies more than enough contact to warrant a foul, and you're simply asking about penalty enforcement, then "never mind". :) I just wanted to point out there are still a number of officials that call the same contact on the arm as a foul whether the shot is already gone or not.

Loudwhistle2 Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 821116)
Question about #2 - how much contact was there? Was it the same contact as in #1?

Everyone understands that contact on the arm as the shot is being released is likely a disadvantage to the shooter, and is most likely a foul. But that same contact after the shot is released doesn't affect the shot at all, so it is more likely incidental, especially if the shooter is able to land normally.

If your question implies more than enough contact to warrant a foul, and you're simply asking about penalty enforcement, then "never mind". :) I just wanted to point out there are still a number of officials that call the same contact on the arm as a foul whether the shot is already gone or not.

I agree and I have to explain this to at least two coaches a year. "but he got hit on the arm!" "it was after the shot and considered incidental contact"

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 821116)
Question about #2 - how much contact was there? Was it the same contact as in #1?

Everyone understands that contact on the arm as the shot is being released is likely a disadvantage to the shooter, and is most likely a foul. But that same contact after the shot is released doesn't affect the shot at all, so it is more likely incidental, especially if the shooter is able to land normally.

If your question implies more than enough contact to warrant a foul, and you're simply asking about penalty enforcement, then "never mind". :) I just wanted to point out there are still a number of officials that call the same contact on the arm as a foul whether the shot is already gone or not.

Had a T a few years ago when a coach didn't like my no-call on just this scenario. Shot is gone, defender comes in late making contact with the wrist. Shooter some how gets knocked down by the wrist contact. I'm T, right in front of the coach. He starts screaming.

He stopped screaming when I blew my whistle.

M&M Guy Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821120)
He stopped screaming when I blew my whistle.

See, it made the game better. :)

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by M&M Guy (Post 821128)
See, it made the game better. :)

Welcome back.

Now shut up.

BillyMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 06:37pm

The Rocket Ship Diagram ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 821111)
The throw in spot is a small issue compared to the rest.

http://farm4.staticflickr.com/3582/3...70756e11_m.jpg

McMac Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 821062)
Makes sense, I pictured top of key shot and landing inside the 3 point arc. Funny how I right away went to visualizing that.

So it's a Maybe on that one.

Remember that just because it is inside the 3 point arc does not automatically mean that it goes end-line. There are spots inside the 3 point arc that are designated to the sideline for throw-in administration. The imaginary line is from the elbow to the corner of each side of the lane (also the semi-circle goes end-line.

**See BillyMac's diagram. I didn't read all the way to the bottom before posting.**

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:07am

Please Step Forward ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by McMac (Post 821316)
See BillyMac's diagram.

Please note that I did not come up with the term "Rocket Ship" diagram. Credit must go to an esteemed Forum member whose name I can't remember. Now, where are my car keys?

BillyMac Wed Feb 08, 2012 07:10am

It Was Just A Regular Forum Member ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 821450)
Please note that I did not come up with the term "Rocket Ship" diagram. Credit must go to an esteemed Forum member whose name I can't remember. Now, where are my car keys?

"The Rocket Ship Diagram" © 2009, Back In The Saddle

I thought it was an esteemed Forum member. I was wrong.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1