The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Final play of game (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87709-final-play-game.html)

zm1283 Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:19am

Final play of game
 
Last play 1 - YouTube

This is a video I found on our state's high school sports message board. It is from a different part of the state.

I can't figure out why the C is in the backcourt during the throw-in. It's almost like he is working like a Trail in 2-whistle when the ball goes to the opposite side of the court.

If you pause it at the moment the contact occurs, he is completely straight-lined to this play. If he is at the free throw line extended, he has a great angle. Instead he is standing at the division line.

Then the coach gets all the way in front of the other bench and doesn't get whacked until he eats on the C's a** well after the whistle was blown. This whole thing doesn't look very good.

Edit: My title is off. It isn't the final play of the game, but it's close to the end. I got confused by the title of the video on YouTube.

APG Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:33am

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/tvjUNTFnjyg" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

HawkeyeCubP Tue Feb 07, 2012 12:50am

Ick. Starting position of the second trail aside, I've added this to a playlist under:
"Anticipate the play" and "Get the angle to see the space between players"

Eastshire Tue Feb 07, 2012 07:58am

Does it not seem that the tableside official was actually working T not C? That would explain why he's deeper than the opposite side official and why he's moving to become new L on the turnover instead of staying C and the opposite side official stays at C instead of moving to become new L.

It raises the question as to why the throw-in was administered by C but it at least explains that the tableside guy is doing.

zm1283 Tue Feb 07, 2012 08:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 820931)
Does it not seem that the tableside official was actually working T not C? That would explain why he's deeper than the opposite side official and why he's moving to become new L on the turnover instead of staying C and the opposite side official stays at C instead of moving to become new L.

It raises the question as to why the throw-in was administered by C but it at least explains that the tableside guy is doing.

I thought that may have been the case, but after the turnover, the new Trail (Original Lead on the throw-in) comes into the picture just for a second, and it looks like he came from the far side of the court where the ball was throw in originally. Why would they have the C administer the throw-in in the first place?

Raymond Tue Feb 07, 2012 08:47am

Definitely a case of an official who initially sets up way too high as the C. Then he appears to be confused by A2 who breaks into the backcourt. IMO I think his concentration was off on the whole play from being engaged in a conversation with the coach when the ball when was getting ready to be put in play.

Eastshire Tue Feb 07, 2012 08:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 820947)
I thought that may have been the case, but after the turnover, the new Trail (Original Lead on the throw-in) comes into the picture just for a second, and it looks like he came from the far side of the court where the ball was throw in originally. Why would they have the C administer the throw-in in the first place?

You're right. I didn't notice the original L the first time.

doubleringer Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:19am

Wow! There's a lot going on there. First of all, I agree with everyone that the C is way too high. It also looks like he may have lost himself a little and started to go the wrong way on the throw in. I'm sure we've all done this.

I think the bigger picture may be how the crew dropped the ball. Looking at the situation as a crew, first of all, I think the T put the ball in play too quickly. The C was just finishing a conversation with the coach. Why not give him a second to get composed. I always say in pregame, the biggest mistakes I've made on the floor have been due to getting in a hurry. We always can slow down and prevent some mistakes.

Also as a crew, this seems to be late in a competitive game. Why isn't someone else coming in with a late whistle on the foul, especially seeing that their C has completely abandoned the play. T especailly should have come across and got this, even L may have a decent look, but above all we have to remember to get the obvious.

Also, as a crew, give that last double whistle to the T, get the guy that is in hot soup away from the table. Obviously the coach is going to get a T, but C has himself deep in the soup, try to get him away as quickly as possible.

twocentsworth Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:41am

I'm not quite as concerned as others about the positioning of the crew. (although it helps to be I the correct spots to see the play...:)...).

What bothers me is that no foul was called...by ANYONE! That contact HAS to be called regardless of where you're positioned.

SAJ Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by doubleringer (Post 820956)
Also as a crew, this seems to be late in a competitive game. Why isn't someone else coming in with a late whistle on the foul, especially seeing that their C has completely abandoned the play. T especailly should have come across and got this, even L may have a decent look, but above all we have to remember to get the obvious.

Not sure T got a good look. Looks like a blue player was between him and the play. If L was on opposite side, then he's looking through several players, if at all.

zm1283 Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:47am

Yeah, if I'm the Trail here and I see it, this is a crew saver that I would definitely come across and get.

RadioBlue Tue Feb 07, 2012 09:56am

Could they be trying to get the "C" opposite table at the start of the play for a potential last-second shot?

JetMetFan Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 820947)
I thought that may have been the case, but after the turnover, the new Trail (Original Lead on the throw-in) comes into the picture just for a second, and it looks like he came from the far side of the court where the ball was throw in originally. Why would they have the C administer the throw-in in the first place?

Nah, it really doesn't explain what the table side official is doing. By all appearances he lost concentration. It may have been the case that he wanted to move away from the coach because he'd just spoken with him but I have to think his assignor wouldn't consider that a valid excuse.

As for the throw-in being administered too soon, I don't buy it. At 0:08 on the clip the C - or the guy who should be C - gives a thumbs up to the T indicating he's ready to go. It's another six seconds before the whistle is blown and the ball is placed at the disposal of the throw-in team. Six seconds may not seem like a lot of time but it's more than enough for the C to realize he should be in a different spot. Six seconds is also enough time for the T to either stare down the C with a "where the heck are you going?" look or just blatently wave at him to move forward so he's in the right spot. The C might've been embarrassed at the moment but he would've thanked the T after it was over.

Regarding the foul, I definintely agree with the idea that somebody has to see/call that. The coach for Blue may complain if the call comes from the T and it comes late but he'd have a tough time arguing there was no foul. As far as handing out the T is concerned, given what the coach did ANYONE could've taken him. It didn't have to be the guy who was already in the soup. It's not as though all three of them didn't notice he was screaming at their partner by the division line.

JugglingReferee Tue Feb 07, 2012 10:18am

The C is in good position to help with a BCV. However, he should only do that when significant pressure exists near the DL. Seeing no significant pressure (or even any pressure at all!) near the DL, he should be much much deeper. If he couldn't get to the FLE, he should at least be at the 2nd p in Pepsi, and certainly not at the DL.

Bad positioning, likely because of a bad prediction on what is likely to happen.

That was a bad foul to miss. To me, that's an "oh my God" play, and if the L is close, it's a good one to get to save the crew.

M&M Guy Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:27pm

I don't think the tableside official (C) was caught off-guard; it looks like he points to the T that he's ready after the conversation with the coach. However, it is possible the C was using the "old" throw-in mechanic; back when the T handed the ball for the throw-in, the C would cheat back to cover any quick turnovers because the T would likely be caught up in traffic and not make it back to cover the play.

This very play illustrates why the mechanic was changed; when the T bounces the ball and backs up, it frees them to be able to cover the quick turnovers, allowing the C to be in position to officiate in the front court.

Adam Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:39pm

Not much to say about the play, but I'm pretty sure I've heard that lady's voice in a few of my games this year.

packersowner Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 820948)
Definitely a case of an official who initially sets up way too high as the C. Then he appears to be confused by A2 who breaks into the backcourt. IMO I think his concentration was off on the whole play from being engaged in a conversation with the coach when the ball when was getting ready to be put in play.

I love video clips!

I agree, notice the asst. coaches pulling the HC back. I bet anything he was frazzled. But you can really blame the T in this position, the C signal to him he was ready.

This appears to be from Cape Giradeau, MO - Show Me Center.

Rich Tue Feb 07, 2012 01:58pm

I just don't understand the positioning of the C....at all. I'm not sure the T has any clue what's going on with him, either.

Nevadaref Wed Feb 08, 2012 04:14am

I can see deeming this to not be a foul. The camera angle is basically 90 degrees different from the look the official on the court had, and perhaps the official actually had the better angle of view.
Here's why: while the contact looks severe from the camera angle and to those on the bench for the team in white, it may not have looked that way when viewing from an open look between the players. This pass is poor. It is thrown high and above the head of the intended teammate. It appears from the video that the defensive player jumps and gets his hands on the ball first. The offensive player is also jumping for the ball, but doesn't touch it. The players now come together. Here the official must decide if one player jumped into another or the two were in equally favorable positions to contest for the ball. If the official thinks the latter, then I can understand ruling the contact incidental and to be after the defender has knocked the ball away. The offensive player may actually jump into the side of his opponent as this player moves straight forward to continue his action with the ball.
Say what you wish, but I don't see this as the clear foul that so many others are stating.
If I had what I felt was a great look and made my decision, then a partner came in from the other side of the court with a whistle, I would be very disappointed in that person. What does that say about trusting your partner?
Afterall, he isn't screened out. He is standing right there staring at the action. Let him make the decision!

Amesman Wed Feb 08, 2012 03:33pm

I'm caucusing with the folks who say this official just didn't seem to have his head in it (the game, that is :rolleyes:).

He's actually looking right at the collision and, for whatever reason actually has a great angle to see the bodies coming together and colliding. Daylight there, daylight gone, man closing fast, other man suddenly on the floor. One conclusion to make. It wasn't.

fullor30 Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 821420)
I can see deeming this to not be a foul. The camera angle is basically 90 degrees different from the look the official on the court had, and perhaps the official actually had the better angle of view.
Here's why: while the contact looks severe from the camera angle and to those on the bench for the team in white, it may not have looked that way when viewing from an open look between the players. This pass is poor. It is thrown high and above the head of the intended teammate. It appears from the video that the defensive player jumps and gets his hands on the ball first. The offensive player is also jumping for the ball, but doesn't touch it. The players now come together. Here the official must decide if one player jumped into another or the two were in equally favorable positions to contest for the ball. If the official thinks the latter, then I can understand ruling the contact incidental and to be after the defender has knocked the ball away. The offensive player may actually jump into the side of his opponent as this player moves straight forward to continue his action with the ball.
Say what you wish, but I don't see this as the clear foul that so many others are stating.
If I had what I felt was a great look and made my decision, then a partner came in from the other side of the court with a whistle, I would be very disappointed in that person. What does that say about trusting your partner?
Afterall, he isn't screened out. He is standing right there staring at the action. Let him make the decision!

I'm going to disagree, I think you're correct defender tips ball first, however subsequent contact disadvantages offensive player from securing tipped ball and for that I'm calling a foul.....at least from video. I do agree that I certainly would not reach and would also be disappointed if partner did same as official seems to have a good angle.

That said, perhaps he fell into the erroneous 'let em play' end of game philosophy.

zm1283 Thu Feb 09, 2012 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 821420)
I can see deeming this to not be a foul. The camera angle is basically 90 degrees different from the look the official on the court had, and perhaps the official actually had the better angle of view.
Here's why: while the contact looks severe from the camera angle and to those on the bench for the team in white, it may not have looked that way when viewing from an open look between the players. This pass is poor. It is thrown high and above the head of the intended teammate. It appears from the video that the defensive player jumps and gets his hands on the ball first. The offensive player is also jumping for the ball, but doesn't touch it. The players now come together. Here the official must decide if one player jumped into another or the two were in equally favorable positions to contest for the ball. If the official thinks the latter, then I can understand ruling the contact incidental and to be after the defender has knocked the ball away. The offensive player may actually jump into the side of his opponent as this player moves straight forward to continue his action with the ball.
Say what you wish, but I don't see this as the clear foul that so many others are stating.
If I had what I felt was a great look and made my decision, then a partner came in from the other side of the court with a whistle, I would be very disappointed in that person. What does that say about trusting your partner?
Afterall, he isn't screened out. He is standing right there staring at the action. Let him make the decision!

Like fullor said, I understand what you're saying. I agree that in some cases, the ball can be tipped, there will be contact, and it may look like a foul when it really isn't. I just think that even with the angle we have from the video, the defender put the offensive player at a pretty big disadvantage when it came to retrieving the tip or going after the ball.

I know we don't poll coaches for decisions, but I don't know a coach that would complain if his player was called for a foul in this situation.

Also, I still maintain that the C was in a terrible position and was straight-lined. If he is in the frontcourt where he is supposed to be, he has a great 90 degree open look at the play.

rockyroad Thu Feb 09, 2012 11:37am

Even with his bad positioning, he is 15 to 20 feet away from an obvious foul, with no one between him and the play to block his vision. Guy just swallowed his whistle for whatever reason.

Could/should the C have gotten the call? Absolutely...but we have all had times where we see something and think "Oh wow. George will get that." And are shocked when "George" doesn't hit his whistle, and then it's too late.

Ugly play all around.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1