The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Correctable Error (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/87242-correctable-error.html)

BillyMac Fri Feb 03, 2012 07:01am

Correctable Error ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Sco53 (Post 819354)
2.10.1 Situation A
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes no change in team possession

2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the
double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation.
The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2.
The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.
RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected.
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes
no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free
throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)

ref2coach Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 819735)
2.10.1 SITUATION A: A1 is fouled and entitled to two free throws under the
double-bonus rule, however, the officials indicate a one-and-one bonus situation.
The first attempt is unsuccessful; B4 rebounds the ball and passes it up to B2.
The error is discovered with B2 in possession of the live ball near mid-court.
RULING: The error is discovered within the correctable error timeframe, and shall be corrected.
Team B securing the rebound and passing to a teammate constitutes
no change in team possession. Therefore, A1 will receive the merited free
throw with players on the lane and play resumes from the free throw. (2-10-1a)

This CP has always troubled me. So when we administer a FT we bounce the ball to the thrower, the ball is live but there is no player or team control? :confused: or is it that when the Free Thrower throws there is no team in control because there is no control when a throw is in the air?

mbyron Fri Feb 03, 2012 10:42am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ref2coach (Post 819789)
This CP has always troubled me. So when we administer a FT we bounce the ball to the thrower, the ball is live but there is no player or team control? :confused: or is it that when the Free Thrower throws there is no team in control because there is no control when a throw is in the air?

When a player possesses a live ball inbounds, you have both player and team control (4-12-1,2). During a try, including a free throw (which is an unhindered try, 4-20-1), player and team control end.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1