![]() |
4 players
If team A comes out of a timeout with only four players and the ball is in play it is a team T when recognized for failing to have all players return at approx. the same time. I know that I have read somewhere that if during a substitution you end up with 4 players on the court and the ball is live it is OK for a player to come straight off the bench as long as its not deceptive. Can someone help me out where I read this?
|
10.3.2b
|
Quote:
|
Why was the ball put in play with only 9 players on the floor? Did anyone notice this and try to rectify prior to putting the ball in play? Preventative officiating can ease a lot of pain.......
|
Delay Returning To Court ...
Quote:
substitutions for both Team A and Team B, A5 goes to the bench and remains there, mistakenly believing he/she has been replaced. The ball is put in play even though Team A has only four players on the court. Team A is bringing the ball into A’s frontcourt when the coach of Team A realizes they have only four players. The coach yells for A5 to return and he/she sprints directly onto the court and catches up with the play. RULING: No technical foul is charged to A5. A5’s return to the court was not deceitful, nor did it provide A5 an unfair positioning advantage on the court. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
And please explain the difference? |
Quote:
If it's A5, it's a team tech. As for how be sure. I have no idea, other than asking the table. I do not keep track of which ten players are in the game at any given time. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
The Eagle Has Landed ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It is a T if it follows a timeout. No T if it is a result of confusion during a substitution. |
Quote:
A similar situation occurred in a game two weeks ago. B Coach was subbing for rebounding/defense and offense. B5 was replaced by B6, for rebounding on a free throw. The shot was successful. The horn sounded, and B6 headed off the floor, while A5 reentered, at the beckoning of my partner. I had to hit the whistle and tell the B Coach that A5 couldn't reenter, until the clock had started, and that A6 would have to remain until that time. B Coach then asked, "Can I sub-in another player?" I said, "Of Course, Coach." And he brought another player from the bench, for A6. My partner is in his first year of Varsity ball, and he said he hadn't thought of the "has to sit a tick" situation. |
Yes, near the end of the game, I'm remembering who leaves on each "during play" substitution. I won't know the 5 who are still on the court, though, nor who leave on a "during a TO" substitution.
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:05am. |