The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
Quote:
Originally Posted by Triad zebra View Post
A1 has ball for a throw in. B1 violates the throw in boundary. Tweet, notify B coach of the DOG and enter it in book. Few minutes later B1 commits identical violation. T on team B (per 10-1-5c). Few minutes later identical violation of boundary by any B player. Question: Is this a T issued to the B player
(per 10-3-5d)? Which says a player shall not delay the game by acts such as repeated violations of the throw-in, as in 9-2-10.
My take is that the player T is for acts that are truly and intentionally delaying the game, rather than simply violating again while playing the game (even if poorly). The only time I'm going to T the player is if I judge he's attempting to make a mockery of the game or something similar.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 11:02am
Esteemed Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 23,559
Player Technical, Or Team Technical ???

Quote:
Originally Posted by jdw3018 View Post
My take is that the player T is for acts that are truly and intentionally delaying the game, rather than simply violating again while playing the game (even if poorly). The only time I'm going to T the player is if I judge he's attempting to make a mockery of the game or something similar.
Forget the boundary plane for now, how about interfering with the ball after a basket, like intentionally throwing it fourteen rows up into the bleachers?
__________________
"For God so loved the world, that he gave his only begotten Son, that whosoever believeth in him should not perish, but have everlasting life." (John 3:16)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 28, 2012, 02:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 1,896
That's a T in my book. I was simply making the point that a player who twice violates the throw-in boundary shouldn't (necessarily) be charged with a player technical.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:47am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1