The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Charge??? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86500-charge.html)

Duffman Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:00pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 819017)
I agree with your take on the video. B1 undercuts A1. That said, I'm not going to ask a player to stop breathing to avoid a foul. Essentially, he gets the same movements we'd allow a player on the court without LGP. Entitled to his spot on the playing court, as long as he doesn't do anything to change or extend that spot, he's legal.

Fair enough, and interesting debate to be sure.

7IronRef Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:12pm

Duff & Snaqs
 
If I am following the point you two are discussing, once the player flops to the floor, that player no longer has LGP (LGP = 2 feet on the floor, facing an opponent).

I agree with Duff, that the player laying on the floor can be charged with a foul.

Adam Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 819033)
If I am following the point you two are discussing, once the player flops to the floor, that player no longer has LGP (LGP = 2 feet on the floor, facing an opponent).

I agree with Duff, that the player laying on the floor can be charged with a foul.

First of all, 2 feet and facing are not required to maintain LGP; only to establish.

Second of all:
NFHS: Even if he hasn't maintained LGP, he doesn't need it if he's not moving.

bob jenkins Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 819033)
If I am following the point you two are discussing, once the player flops to the floor, that player no longer has LGP (LGP = 2 feet on the floor, facing an opponent).

I agree with Duff, that the player laying on the floor can be charged with a foul.

If B1 is facing the stands and picking his nose, he also doesn't have LGP. That doesn't mean that if A1 runs into B1, the foul is (automatically) on B1.

Duffman Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 819033)
If I am following the point you two are discussing, once the player flops to the floor, that player no longer has LGP (LGP = 2 feet on the floor, facing an opponent).

I agree with Duff, that the player laying on the floor can be charged with a foul.

Thanks for taking my side, but to nitpick a player must ESTABLISH a LGP with 2 feet on the floor while facing an opponent, but once it's established a player can maintain a LGP with no feet on the floor (jumping vertically) or even facing a different direction (turning his/her shoulders to protect from an impact on a charge).

Here's a hypothetical.

A1 beats B1 off the dribble and drives to the bucket. A secondary defender B2 steps into the path of A1 and stops without facing A1 (he could be perpendicular or in a box out reboudning position). A1 shots the ball and as an air born shooter lands on B2 (who was stationary prior to the beggining of the attempt). Am I correct to rule this a blocking fould because B2 never established a LGP by facing the opponent?

Adam Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 819047)
Thanks for taking my side, but to nitpick a player must ESTABLISH a LGP with 2 feet on the floor while facing an opponent, but once it's established a player can maintain a LGP with no feet on the floor (jumping vertically) or even facing a different direction (turning his/her shoulders to protect from an impact on a charge).

Here's a hypothetical.

A1 beats B1 off the dribble and drives to the bucket. A secondary defender B2 steps into the path of A1 and stops without facing A1 (he could be perpendicular or in a box out reboudning position). A1 shots the ball and as an air born shooter lands on B2 (who was stationary prior to the beggining of the attempt). Am I correct to rule this a blocking fould because B2 never established a LGP by facing the opponent?

No.

LGP is not required for 4-23-1

7IronRef Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Duffman (Post 819047)
Thanks for taking my side, but to nitpick a player must ESTABLISH a LGP with 2 feet on the floor while facing an opponent, but once it's established a player can maintain a LGP with no feet on the floor (jumping vertically) or even facing a different direction (turning his/her shoulders to protect from an impact on a charge).

Here's a hypothetical.

A1 beats B1 off the dribble and drives to the bucket. A secondary defender B2 steps into the path of A1 and stops without facing A1 (he could be perpendicular or in a box out reboudning position). A1 shots the ball and as an air born shooter lands on B2 (who was stationary prior to the beggining of the attempt). Am I correct to rule this a blocking fould because B2 never established a LGP by facing the opponent?

Ok, here's another one.

The defender is laying on the floor, the offense rebounds their own shot in a crowd of people, jumps, shoots, and then lands on the prone defender...are you telling me that this is now consideration for a charge?

Coach: How can that be?
Ref: He took it in the chest, coach
Coach: He was laying on the ground!
Ref: He got there first, estbalished LGP.
Coach: LGP huh? Ok guys, everyone lay on the floor near the basket and let them try to shoot lay ups

Come on now

Duffman Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 819055)
Ok, here's another one.

The defender is laying on the floor, the offense rebounds their own shot in a crowd of people, jumps, shoots, and then lands on the prone defender...are you telling me that this is now consideration for a charge?

Coach: How can that be?
Ref: He took it in the chest, coach
Coach: He was laying on the ground!
Ref: He got there first, estbalished LGP.
Coach: LGP huh? Ok guys, everyone lay on the floor near the basket and let them try to shoot lay ups

Come on now

Interesting... and bonus points for the laughs.

berserkBBK Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:40pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 818995)
Changing positions in relation to the floor. Rolling, trying to get up, stretching out the arms or legs, etc.

What Do You Have

This has already been discussed in the thread Snaq's has given you.
If an offensive player crashes into a stationary defender, what has the defensive player done wrong to result in a foul? In NFHS this is the same even if he is on the ground.

Adam Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:40pm

LGP is not required for a stationary player to draw a charge. Yes, if a shooter lands on a stationary defender's chest, when he's lying on the floor relatively still, I'm calling a charge. Not that difficult, and if the coach wants to be an arse about it (they always do on offensive fouls), we can shoot free throws because I have no problem writing reports at night.

berserkBBK Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 7IronRef (Post 819055)
Ok, here's another one.

The defender is laying on the floor, the offense rebounds their own shot in a crowd of people, jumps, shoots, and then lands on the prone defender...are you telling me that this is now consideration for a charge?

Coach: How can that be?
Ref: He took it in the chest, coach
Coach: He was laying on the ground!
Ref: He got there first, estbalished LGP.
Coach: LGP huh? Ok guys, everyone lay on the floor near the basket and let them try to shoot lay ups

Come on now

If the player got to his spot before the shooter became airborne then by rule you cannot call a block. However if the the contact of falling on the player did not impede his rhythm, speed, balance, or quickness of being on the ground I would have a no call or Charge. (Again, NFHS)

Adam Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 819066)
If the player got to his spot before the shooter became airborne then by rule you cannot call a block. However if the the contact of falling on the player did not impede his rhythm, speed, balance, or quickness of being on the ground I would have a no call or Charge. (Again, NFHS)

I only disagree with your last part. I'm not going to let a player land on opponent here without a foul call. That's just dangerous. By landing on the defender, he's preventing him from being able to get up. RSBQ are not rule terms, they are only measuring sticks for deciding whether contact has exceeded the boundaries of incidental. If A1 lands on B1's chest (or back), he is (in my view) preventing B1 from participating in normal offensive or defensive movements.

berserkBBK Wed Feb 01, 2012 01:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 819070)
I only disagree with your last part. I'm not going to let a player land on opponent here without a foul call. That's just dangerous. By landing on the defender, he's preventing him from being able to get up. RSBQ are not rule terms, they are only measuring sticks for deciding whether contact has exceeded the boundaries of incidental. If A1 lands on B1's chest (or back), he is (in my view) preventing B1 from participating in normal offensive or defensive movements.

Agreed. Playing this in my head, a player that is just on the ground and gets jumped on will get a whistle in his favor from me. Pretty weird play that I have not had yet

Adam Wed Feb 01, 2012 02:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 819079)
Agreed. Playing this in my head, a player that is just on the ground and gets jumped on will get a whistle in his favor from me. Pretty weird play that I have not had yet

Yeah, players are intuitive enough to get out of the way.

7IronRef Wed Feb 01, 2012 02:32pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 819066)
If the player got to his spot before the shooter became airborne then by rule you cannot call a block. However if the the contact of falling on the player did not impede his rhythm, speed, balance, or quickness of being on the ground I would have a no call or Charge. (Again, NFHS)

Balance is greatly affected when landing on someone :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1