The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Backcourt Violation Play (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/86201-backcourt-violation-play.html)

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:29am

Backcourt Violation Play
 
As requested from berserkBBK

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/RxT7sprhEx8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

tjones1 Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:31am

Good call!

stiffler3492 Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:40am

Agree. The dribble before the ball went BC looked like player control to me. Good call.

Adam Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:44am

Great call. Notice the talking heads never even mention the dribble.

just another ref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:07am

Is NCAA rule the same as NFHS?

Did he have control inbounds?

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 814707)
Is NCAA rule the same as NFHS?

Did he have control inbounds?

Yes, both rule sets are the same in regards to backcourt violations.

referee99 Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:40am

Good Call.
 
Once he pushed the ball to the floor I have player control.

just another ref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:49am

What if a teammate had made the recovery in the backcourt?

Adam Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:53am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 814714)
What if a teammate had made the recovery in the backcourt?

Why would that matter?

Same as if he caught it, ever so briefly, and fumbled into the BC.

just another ref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 814715)
Why would that matter?

Same as if he caught it, ever so briefly, and fumbled into the BC.

What did he do which defined control in frontcourt?

Adam Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 814717)
What did he do which defined control in frontcourt?

Dribbled. In the brief moment before it hit his foot, he had player control by rule.

just another ref Thu Jan 19, 2012 02:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 814718)
Dribbled. In the brief moment before it hit his foot, he had player control by rule.

I agree. But the rest of the world did not in another thread a while back.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 19, 2012 08:57am

The first two times he touched the ball, it was a fumble. The third was a dribble.

mbyron Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 814706)
Great call. Notice the talking heads never even mention the dribble.

In fact, Tirico mentions the dribble at 0:17.

Of course, he thought Izzo's complaint was a tip, when clearly he was arguing that his guy never had PC.

Good call.

berserkBBK Thu Jan 19, 2012 10:56am

Thank you APG!
I saw this and thought they nailed it. It was a goofy play, and I remembered this was a type of play that was discussed during the rule change to team control during a throw in (NFHS).
Ps: Go Blue!

zm1283 Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:01am

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 814816)
Thank you APG!
I saw this and thought they nailed it. It was a goofy play, and I remembered this was a type of play that was discussed during the rule change to team control during a throw in (NFHS).
Ps: Go Blue!

This doesn't have anything to do with team control on a throw-in. That only applies to the throwing team fouling during a throw-in. Backcourt rules have not changed. This would have been a BC violation last year too.

fiasco Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:03am

I watched that game. You could read lips and kind of make out the conversation between Earl Walton and Tom Izzo. Seems like Izzo was arguing that his player didn't have control and Earl is trying to explain to him that the second he dribbled the ball, even if it was off his foot, he established control. I think Earl finally got through to him. Great call in a pressure situation.

berserkBBK Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 814819)
This doesn't have anything to do with team control on a throw-in. That only applies to the throwing team fouling during a throw-in. Backcourt rules have not changed. This would have been a BC violation last year too.

I understand that. I guess a no call on a non controlled ball would have been better to explain that.

bainsey Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 814706)
Notice the talking heads never even mention the dribble.

I've done a little announcing over the years. Before I started wearing stripes, I sure would have liked to know the full boat of requirements for backcourt. Simply put, someone needs to step up and teach these guys, especially at the national level. The more announcers that get it right, the fewer fans there will be to get it wrong.

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 19, 2012 12:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 814819)
Backcourt rules have not changed.

Not true. Backcourt rules changed quite a bit, causing at least one major discrepancy.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814708)
Yes, both rule sets are the same in regards to backcourt violations.

Technically not true anymore. NFHS rule now requires player control in front court for plays where ball touches a player in front court and returns too backcourt. NCAA doesn't. (I tripped on that earlier this season.)

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814862)
Technically not true anymore. NFHS rule now requires player control in front court. NCAA doesn't. (I tripped on that earlier this season.)

Wording my be different but in application, the rules are the exact same.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814864)
Wording my be different but in application, the rules are the exact same.

I don't think so. A1 in backcourt pass into front court that is deflected off or by an A front court player back into back court and first touched there by A is not a BC violation in NFHS because of this editorial change. (Think A player that doesn't catch the pass or isn't expecting it near the division line.)

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814866)
I don't think so. A1 in backcourt pass into front court that is deflected off or by an A front court player back into back court and first touched there by A is not a BC violation in NFHS because of this editorial change. (Think A player that doesn't catch the pass or isn't expecting it near the division line.)

That's still a backcourt violation under NFHS rules. The player control portion that was added to the rule applies to when coming out of a throw-in.

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:22pm

*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt.

RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814867)
That's still a backcourt violation under NFHS rules. The player control portion that was added to the rule applies to when coming out of a throw-in.

?
9-9-1 doesn't mention throw-ins.

Quote:

Originally Posted by NFHS
9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball int he frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.


tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814862)
Technically not true anymore. NFHS rule now requires player control in front court for plays where ball touches a player in front court and returns too backcourt. NCAA doesn't. (I tripped on that earlier this season.)

So which one is it?

4-4-4
A ball which touches a player or an official is the same as the ball touching the floor at that individual's location.

9-9-1
A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control in the frontcourt, if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

I could've sworn that they said adding team control on throw-ins was not meant to change any other aspects of the game except not awarding FTs when the offensive team fouls.

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814866)
I don't think so. A1 in backcourt pass into front court that is deflected off or by an A front court player back into back court and first touched there by A is not a BC violation in NFHS because of this editorial change. (Think A player that doesn't catch the pass or isn't expecting it near the division line.)

If thats not a violation, it will definitely be a technical foul as that is the expected call.

Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the "player & team control" part is in regards to a throw-in from OOB directly into the frontcourt.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814869)
*9.9.1 SITUATION C: A1 is dribbling in his/her backcourt and throws a pass to the frontcourt. While standing in A’s frontcourt: (a) A2 or (b) B3 touches the ball and deflects it back to A’s backcourt. A2 recovers in the backcourt.

RULING: In (a), it is a violation. The ball was in control of A1 and Team A, and a player from A was the last to touch the ball in frontcourt and a player of A was the first to touch it after it returned to the back court. In (b), legal play. A Team A player was not the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt. Team A is entitled to a new 10-second count.

Weird. In my mind, this conflicts with the addition of "player" into 9-9-1.

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814873)
Weird. In my mind, this conflicts with the addition of "player" into 9-9-1.

That's because the folks with NFHS worded the rule poorly. All you need to know that adding team control doesn't change how we call plays. We call everything the exact same way as we had before...the only exception is if the throw-in team commits a foul, no free throws are awarded.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 814872)
Correct me if I'm wrong but I believe the "player & team control" part is in regards to a throw-in from OOB directly into the frontcourt.

That's what APG's saying, and what is probably, I guess, intended here, but the written rule contradicts the case 9.9.1.c. 9-9-1 does not mention throw-ins, so by my logic, it should apply to all backcourt situations - not just throw-ins.

tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:33pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814877)
That's what APG's saying, and what is probably, I guess, intended here, but the written rule contradicts the case 9.9.1.c. 9-9-1 does not mention throw-ins, so by my logic, it should apply to all backcourt situations - not just throw-ins.

By my logic, if you're going to add NCAA rule(s) to the HS game simply copy & paste their rule(s) word for word.
The Federation messed up here & thats why they sent the clarification out that stated the rule change is only related to not shooting FTs when the offensive team fouls.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:33pm

So once again, the NFHS rule is written worse than the NCAA book. Are they afraid to copy the rule wording when making rules identical, for fear of copyright infringement? I don't live in an NFHS state anymore. Has an NFHS interp been sent out specifically on that, admitting they worded it poorly?

(Thanks APG)

tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814879)
Has an NFHS interp been sent out specifically on that, admitting they worded it poorly?

You're IAABO correct? Board 4?
This is what was sent to me by our State Rules Interpreter (DS)


Directly from the NFHS 2011-12 Rule change powerpoint regarding the team control during the throwin change: Only team-control fouls occurring during a throw-in were affected by this change.The change does NOT affect any of the following rules:
• Three seconds in the lane
• Traveling/Dribbling
• Backcourt
• Alternating-possession throw-in rules

Minor edits occurred to some of these rules for clarification.

I dont believe they admit guilt, they just clarify :D

APG Thu Jan 19, 2012 01:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814879)
So once again, the NFHS rule is written worse than the NCAA book. Are they afraid to copy the rule wording when making rules identical, for fear of copyright infringement? I don't live in an NFHS state anymore. Has an NFHS interp been sent out specifically on that, admitting they worded it poorly?

(Thanks APG)

There was an official NFHS powerpoint that mentioned that team control didn't affect anything except fouls by the throw-in team...and that we'd called 3 seconds, backcourt violations and counts the same...besides that and the official interpretations, NFHS hasn't acknowledged anything in regard to the wording of the rule.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 19, 2012 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814873)
Weird. In my mind, this conflicts with the addition of "player" into 9-9-1.

Of course it does. But, as has been explained here (and elsewhere) approximately 87 times, it doesn't mean what it says. The play is a BC violation.

zm1283 Thu Jan 19, 2012 02:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 814841)
Not true. Backcourt rules changed quite a bit, causing at least one major discrepancy.

How so? What about a backcourt violation changed?

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814886)
There was an official NFHS powerpoint that mentioned that team control didn't affect anything except fouls by the throw-in team...and that we'd called 3 seconds, backcourt violations and counts the same...besides that and the official interpretations, NFHS hasn't acknowledged anything in regard to the wording of the rule.

This is what I was talking about.

tref Thu Jan 19, 2012 02:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 814886)
There was an official NFHS powerpoint that mentioned that team control didn't affect anything except fouls by the throw-in team...and that we'd called 3 seconds, backcourt violations and counts the same...besides that and the official interpretations, NFHS hasn't acknowledged anything in regard to the wording of the rule.

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 814919)
This is what I was talking about.

Things that make you go hmmmm...

Raymond Thu Jan 19, 2012 02:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 814871)
?
9-9-1 doesn't mention throw-ins.

Easy fix to the poor wording:

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control <s>in the frontcourt</s> if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

Cobra Thu Jan 19, 2012 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 814777)
The first two times he touched the ball, it was a fumble. The third was a dribble.

One can't fumble the ball until player control has been established. What happened in the video would be best described as a muff or bobble.

Scrapper1 Thu Jan 19, 2012 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by zm1283 (Post 814919)
How so? What about a backcourt violation changed?

Read 9-9-1 from last year and this year. Then look at the case plays for 9.9.1. This has been pointed out numerous times on the forum. They changed the backcourt rule so that it now contradicts a case play, but they want us to rule the way the case play says.

Camron Rust Thu Jan 19, 2012 08:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 814933)

(Sorry, but don't know how to get the "strike-through" font.)


TIP: around the text, put < STRIKE> and < /STRIKE> (minus the spaces inside the braces that I put in to make it show)

to get <STRIKE> and </STRIKE>

bob jenkins Thu Jan 19, 2012 09:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Cobra (Post 814965)
One can't fumble the ball until player control has been established. What happened in the video would be best described as a muff or bobble.

Good point. And, I agree, the words matter.

Welpe Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 815025)
TIP: around the text, put < STRIKE> and < /STRIKE> (minus the spaces inside the braces that I put in to make it show)

to get <STRIKE> and </STRIKE>

< s > < /s > Also works

Snaqs is an <s>instigator</s> agitator.

Adam Thu Jan 19, 2012 11:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 815050)
< s > < /s > Also works

Snaqs is an <s>instigator</s> agitator.

Hey, <s>what did I do?</s> never mind.

Raymond Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 814933)
Easy fix to the poor wording:

9-9-1: A player shall not be the first to touch the ball after it has been in player and team control <s>in the frontcourt</s> if he/she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt.

And as I've mentioned in other posts the same wording needs to be added to the 10-second backcourt rule concerning when the count should start after a throw-in.

Meaning if a throw-in is tipped/muffed in/into the backcourt the 10-second count doesn't start until player control is established.

Unless of course the 10-second count should start immediately when the ball gains backcourt status after a throw-in. No one has ever really clearly answered to me what the rulemakers intent is concerning starting the 10-second count after a throw-in. Even asked Al Battista once in camp and he kinded hemmed and hawwed an answer and couldn't give me a clear rules reference, a definite rarity for him.

Eastshire Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815109)
And as I've mentioned in other posts the same wording needs to be added to the 10-second backcourt rule concerning when the count should start after a throw-in.

Meaning if a throw-in is tipped/muffed in/into the backcourt the 10-second count doesn't start until player control is established.

Unless of course the 10-second count should start immediately when the ball gains backcourt status after a throw-in. No one has ever really clearly answered to me what the rulemakers intent is concerning starting the 10-second count after a throw-in. Even asked Al Battista once in camp and he kinded hemmed and hawwed an answer and couldn't give me a clear rules reference, a definite rarity for him.

What they want is clear. The only change desired from last year's rules is the bonus for fouls committed by the throwing-in team during the throw-in. Don't start the count until player control is first established in the backcourt.

Raymond Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:33am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 815111)
What they want is clear. The only change desired from last year's rules is the bonus for fouls committed by the throwing-in team during the throw-in. Don't start the count until player control is first established in the backcourt.

I know what they FED wants is clear, no changes in rulings based on the new team control/throw-in rule other than TC fouls. I've been part of the discussions since the new team control rules were brought up last year.

That's not what my post is about:

Quote:

And as I've mentioned in other posts the same wording needs to be added to the 10-second backcourt rule concerning when the count should start after a throw-in.

Meaning if a throw-in is tipped/muffed in/into the backcourt the 10-second count doesn't start until player control is established.

Unless of course the 10-second count should start immediately when the ball gains backcourt status after a throw-in. No one has ever really clearly answered to me what the rulemakers intent is concerning starting the 10-second count after a throw-in. Even asked Al Battista once in camp and he kinded hemmed and hawwed an answer and couldn't give me a clear rules reference, a definite rarity for him.

Eastshire Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815120)
I know what they FED wanst is clear, no changes in rulings based on the new team control/throw-in rule other than TC fouls. I've been part of the discussions since the new team control rules were brought up last year.

That's not what my post is about:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815109)
No one has ever really clearly answered to me what the rulemakers intent is concerning starting the 10-second count after a throw-in.

I'm confused as to why you have been clearly answered as to what they want but not clearly answered as to what they intend, as I'm fairly sure these are the same thing.

Raymond Fri Jan 20, 2012 10:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 815121)
I'm confused as to why you have been clearly answered as to what they want but not clearly answered as to what they intend, as I'm fairly sure these are the same thing.

Easiest way for me to answer is this: show me in the rule or case book when the rulesmakers (NCAA and NFHS) want you to start your 10-second count. Player control in the backcourt is not required to begin a 10-second count in all situations.

I already know what the NFHS wants in regards to the effect of TC on a throw-in as I provided new wording for 9-9-1 to correct the conflict between the currently worded rule for a backcourt violation which conflicts with the intent of the new rule. I have read the powerpoint slides. I'm talking about wording in the rule book.

HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815122)
Easiest way for me to answer is this: show me in the rule or case book when the rulesmakers (NCAA and NFHS) want you to start your 10-second count. Player control in the backcourt is not required to begin a 10-second count in all situations.

I already know what the NFHS wants in regards to the effect of TC on a throw-in as I provided new wording for 9-9-1 to correct the conflict between the currently worded rule for a backcourt violation which conflicts with the intent of the new rule. I have read the powerpoint slides. I'm talking about wording in the rule book.

(I haven't seen prior discussions on this on the forum, so I apologize if I'm repeating things already said.) The NCAA written rule makes sense, IMO, but I suppose both could be worded differently to say something like
Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP has great ideas
"An inbounds player, and subsequently his/her team, shall not be in continuous control..."

I agree that the NFHS rule doesn't apply completely anymore. And the case plays, I agree, imply that the count could start on the touch. All they need to do is either reword 9-8 and/or add a case play that involves a throw-in first touched in the backcourt.

zm1283 Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scrapper1 (Post 814970)
Read 9-9-1 from last year and this year. Then look at the case plays for 9.9.1. This has been pointed out numerous times on the forum. They changed the backcourt rule so that it now contradicts a case play, but they want us to rule the way the case play says.

We are talking about different things then. When I said that "nothing has changed", I mean that nothing in the way that we call backcourt violations has changed. I realize there is a contradiction, but that wasn't what I was referring to.

Raymond Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by HawkeyeCubP (Post 815150)
...I agree that the NFHS rule doesn't apply completely anymore. And the case plays, I agree, imply that the count could start on the touch. All they need to do is either reword 9-8 and/or add a case play that involves a throw-in first touched in the backcourt.

Basically that is my point. Now that they have to fix the wording for backcourt violations they can also add similar wording to the 10-second backcourt rule to make it clear player control must occur at some point before a 10-second violation can occur.

10-second backcourt violations, backcourt violations, and 3-second violations all need to have player control established at some point prior to the violation, so keep the wording consistent.

Welpe Fri Jan 20, 2012 12:22pm

Sometimes I think the Fed did this just to watch us all gnash our teeth.

mbyron Fri Jan 20, 2012 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 815173)
Sometimes I think the Fed did this just to watch us all gnash our teeth.

Not so. The change to player control during a throw-in was welcome. The editorial changes to other rules to accommodate that change were inept and clumsy, not malicious.

Welpe Fri Jan 20, 2012 02:04pm

I was being facetious. It seems to happen almost every year in at least one sport so I figured they just enjoyed doing it. :)

BillyMac Fri Jan 20, 2012 08:37pm

Confused ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815172)
3-second violations all need to have player control established at some point prior to the violation, so keep the wording consistent.

We can call a three second violation during an interrupted dribble in the frontcourt. No player control there.

BillyMac Fri Jan 20, 2012 08:38pm

It Isn't ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815122)
Player control in the backcourt is not required to begin a 10-second count in all situations.

A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball
which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815290)
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball
which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

Really?

It's PC vs. TC Billy.

APG Fri Jan 20, 2012 09:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815288)
We can call a three second violation during an interrupted dribble in the frontcourt. No player control there.

That wasn't the point of BNR's post...

BillyMac Sat Jan 21, 2012 07:46am

Urgent, Please Help ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 815122)
Player control in the backcourt is not required to begin a 10-second count in all situations.

NFHS: 9-8:

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815290)
A player shall not be, nor may his/her team be, in continuous control of a ball
which is in his/her backcourt for 10 seconds.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 815295)
Really? It's PC vs. TC Billy.

Now you guys have got me totally confused, which, by the way, really isn't much of an accomplishment.

I have always started my ten second count when an offensive player gets control of the ball in the backcourt. I did not start my count if a player simply touched the inbounds pass without gaining player control.

I did, however, continue my ten second count when an offensive player, in the backcourt, initially gained player control (see above paragraph) and then that player, or another offensive player, lost player control, but with his team still in team control.

What am I getting wrong here? Have I actually been doing this wrong for over thirty years?

BillyMac Sat Jan 21, 2012 07:53am

They're So Impressionable ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815288)
We can call a three second violation during an interrupted dribble in the frontcourt. No player control there.

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 815296)
That wasn't the point of BNR's post.

Didn't want to confuse the rookies.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 21, 2012 08:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815389)
NFHS: 9-8:





Now you guys have got me totally confused, which, by the way, really isn't much of an accomplishment.

I have always started my ten second count when an offensive player gets control of the ball in the backcourt. I did not start my count if a player simply touched the inbounds pass without gaining player control.

I did, however, continue my ten second count when an offensive player, in the backcourt, initially gained player control (see above paragraph) and then that player, or another offensive player, lost player control, but with his team still in team control.

What am I getting wrong here? Have I actually been doing this wrong for over thirty years?

What if the pass from the FC is tipped by B and goes to the BC? Is there PC in the BC? Should you start your count?

mbyron Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:13am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 815235)
I was being facetious.

Ah, I missed your invisible smilie. :p

BillyMac Sat Jan 21, 2012 10:33am

Anybody Got Any Aspirin ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 815400)
What if the pass from the FC is tipped by B and goes to the BC? Is there PC in the BC? Should you start your count?

OK. I'll play. Typical situation.

No. A player is not holding or dribbling a live ball, inbounds.

Yes. At some point player control and team control, was established, and even though player control has been lost, team control still exists. Same reason that I continue my ten second count, in the case of a "normal" backcourt throwin, after a teammate "controls" the inbounds pass, and then fumbles away the basketball.

This is starting to freak me out. Yeah. It's freaking me out, man. Now I'm really confused. I don't know if I'm coming, or going, anymore? I don't know it I'm right, or if I'm wrong. I think that I'm right, and that I know what I'm doing in this situation, but the caveat, "Always listen to bob", is freaking me out here.

bob jenkins Sat Jan 21, 2012 12:28pm

So, to summarize, BadNews Ref said:
Quote:

Player control in the backcourt is not required to begin a 10-second count in all situations.
You agree that you start a 10-second count in the most recent play, and that there's no "PC in the BC" when you do.

So, why the confusion?

BillyMac Sat Jan 21, 2012 01:09pm

Didn't Want To Confuse The Rookies ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 815434)
You agree that you start a 10-second count in the most recent play, and that there's no "PC in the BC" when you do. So, why the confusion?

OK. I think that I get it now. Thanks for clearing it up for me.

My earlier post was to clear up some possible confusion, among rookies, regarding when to start a ten second count in a normal backcourt throwin situation, i.e., don't start the count until player control has been established, don't start the count just because the ball has been touched by an offensive player inbounds.

In doing so, I confused myself. I hate it when that happens.

Raymond Sun Jan 22, 2012 09:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 815441)
OK. I think that I get it now. Thanks for clearing it up for me.

My earlier post was to clear up some possible confusion, among rookies, regarding when to start a ten second count in a normal backcourt throwin situation, i.e., don't start the count until player control has been established, don't start the count just because the ball has been touched by an offensive player inbounds.

In doing so, I confused myself. I hate it when that happens.

You are back on track. :) To my original point I was referring to situations subsequent a throw-in. There is continuous team control on a tipped throw-in however we will not start a 10-second count, have a backcourt violation, or have 3-seconds until PC has been established.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1