![]() |
Flagrant/Intentional
I always enjoy reading this board and don't post much because I'm not an official, but do love to read and learn from the people here. This play was discussed at a recent game I was helping at the table for and the video was posted on youtube so that I could see it and I'd be interested to get your opinions on it.
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/ShN5j1S2O6o" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
24 white flagrant personal foul
|
I guess it depends if you consider the ball handler to throw a punch. But there was some contact before that, so based on the angle I cannot say that was the case with confidence. The angle was bad and it would help to know what the officials ruled as well. If the player threw a punch then it is flagrant, but with the contact before that I am not completely sure of that.
Peace |
The play was called either an intentional or a technical, I heard the story 2nd hand from people who aren't officials and couldn't tell me for sure and this is the only video I have from the game (Not my schools game, or I'd try to get more video or the book to find out) I can see an official signal a T in the video, but then there was a discussion so I don't know if it was changed.
I do know that no foul was called on the defensive player before the shove and the player was not disqualified on the play. |
Quote:
What does the contact beforehand have to do with the punch? |
I agree that we can't be sure from the angle. But it LOOKS like she takes her left hand off the ball so that she can throw the elbow into the opponent's face. If that's what she did, then definitely flagrant in NFHS and Flagrant 2 in NCAA.
|
Well one thing for sure its not a technical like the official signaled.
|
Looks like a punch to me, but the angle isn't the greatest and it's hard to tell for sure that it wasn't just a quick shove.
It looks like the official gives the T signal (wrong by mechanic, but not necessarily indicative of the final call since there's no specific signal for a flagrant personal foul), so I'm assuming he went with a flagrant. |
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I cannot tell if this is a "get off me" shove or a full out punch to the chest of face. Peace |
Quote:
|
My Opinion ...
Flagrant personal foul charged to White 24. Two free throws for Blue 24. Blue gets the ball back at the spot closest to the foul. White 24 "ejected" to the bench.
I could also understand an intentional foul here, but that wouldn't be my call. No technical foul here because all the contact was during a live ball. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
At the table I give the "thumb" signal like you used to see from really old-time baseball umpires. Peace |
Quote:
|
Intentional Personal Foul ...
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
without any doubt in my mind....that is a flagrant foul (NFHS) or flagrant 2 (NCAA). Player ejected; 2 FT's for defense; ball put in at mid-court (NFHS) or ball put in at spot nearest foul (NCAA).
I would go to my partner (as the calling official did), tell them what I have, and ONLY change my call if they they me they saw the play and STRONGLY disagreed. |
Here is what I saw on the video.
It appeared the B-24 made illegal contact with her right hand on W-24's left arm and the covering official did not consider the contact a foul. W-24 then punched B-24 in her face with her left hand. Since the ball was Live, when W-24 punched B-24, the foul is a PF and since it was a punch it was a FPF and W-24 should have been disqualified from the game. The covering official incorrectly signaled a TF. But if the covering official intended to call a PF on B-24 but did not have time to react to B-24's PF against W-24 then W-24's contact was a FTF because her contact was made when the ball was Dead, and we now have FDF. On a side note, in what state was this game played. I dig the gray officiating shirts. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
1. Call the foul as the official did, but not signal a T (one thing this cannot be). 2. Given that we have a strange situation that's potentially volatile (esp. if it had been boys), I'm immediately sending both teams toward their benches. 3. Then I can talk to my partners and talk through whether I want to go INT or flagrant on this. 4. Next I report the foul to the table: white, 24, intentional/flagrant foul, (24 is disqualified if flagrant); I use the football DQ signal (thumb back over your shoulder) for a DQ. 5. We just don't have many of these fouls in the leagues I work: I would get the coaches together in front of the table, tell them what I saw, and why I decided to go intentional or flagrant. I'll answer a reasonable question or two, but it's not a debate. 6. I might also tell them (esp. if it had been boys) that we have addressed the problem, and we won't have any retaliation later in the game. 7. Shoot FT's with the lane cleared, give the ball to the fouled team at the spot, and play on. |
Quote:
Unless you can tell me why I'm wrong, this throw in should be at the spot nearest the foul in NFHS. |
I have a flagrant personal foul on A1 based I'm what I'm seeing from this angle.
Might have had a foul on B1 first in that situation. |
To say that Blue made illegal contact is a 'guess' from anyone, based on the camera angle. At the time Blue slaps down at the ball, you cannot see either Blue's left hand, W24 hands, or even the ball. That's called being 'straight-lined'. It appears that C didn't have the best angle, and L was straight-lined as well, thus no initial call.
W24's strike to the face/head is a flagarant act. If, and a big if at that, this was a 'push off', then W24 chose the wrong body part. She definitely had other options, but targetted the head. |
Quote:
Ok, so let's say we call the foul on B1, and then A1 retaliates after the whistle for B's foul. Then B1 gets the common foul, and A1 is disqualified with a Flagrant T, correct? If so, then the order of operations would be: 1) false double foul (common on B1, flagrant T on A1). 2) A1 is disqualified. 2) A1's replacement shoots 1-2 FTs (if A is in the bonus), with the lane cleared. 3) Any player(s) or substitute(s) for B shoot 2 FTs for the flagrant T. 4) Throw-in for B at division line opposite table. Did I get that right? |
Never mind...case of the Mondays got me.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
My question for you is what could B being doing here that you won't toss A for a blow to the head? |
Quote:
Also I do not know if it was a blow to the head. And it would not matter if it was a blow to the head or to the chest, if it is a punch it is a punch. That is different than trying to get someone's hand or arm off of you and trying to push that away. Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Dude, I get that you might disagree, but many people questioned whether we had a foul or anything called before the offensive player reacted. It would matter as to the nature of the fouls being called. If you and others want to go flagrant foul, I am OK with that. I just want more of an angle to decide. Sorry, my experience tells me you do not make decisions without a larger view of the story. And there must have been something to discuss as the calling official and another official come together and apparently do not eject anyone from the game. There must have been a debate about something. ;) Peace |
Quote:
However, the shot to the head is clear. We all see plenty of 'tie ups' and arms flying around, hands slapping together, etc., but you don't see this type of play often. It's pretty clear that this was targetted contact to the head. So to say 'I would have a flagrant foul every week', inferring that you see this type of play every week is disingenuous. The crew did get together and kept the player in the game. We don't know the experience level of crew however. We do know that C gave a technical (made the T sign) to W24, which is an incorrect mechanic for that play. A sign of inexperience? Maybe, maybe not. Do what you need to do Jeff. You've been around a long time and are well respected in your state. I just want to make sure that the younger officials on this board realize that the penalty for contact to the head, as made in this OP, should not be dependent on what may have happened seconds prior to it. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
I believe...
Quote:
|
Not Apporved For NFHS, Or IAABO ...
Quote:
|
Any idea...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Thanks for the good discussion everyone, if I get to talk to the coach of either team in later games (my school does play both schools later on) I'll see if I can find out anymore information. Again, thanks for all the talk and info on this video and other that come up on this site. |
Quote:
|
I got a flagrant for punch being thrown. But I agree it's debatable given the angle of the video and the distance from the play.
However, does anyone else have a problem with the fact that players from both teams are walking all over the court? The L is talking to the player who just got punched, the other two are talking to each other. There are 9 players unaccounted. This could have gotten uglier. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
I think we all need to be reminded that we all can be videotaped at any time and it can be on the internet. Non-basketball plays need to be caught and dealt with properly and correctly. I think the majority of us take in to consideration on what happened first, in regards to a reaction, as long as the reaction is a basketball play. If the reaction is non-basketball in nature, then I don't care what happened first. Maybe it wasn't clear to the crew because none of them saw it. ;) I'm done. Good luck in the state tournament Jeff. |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
I will agree with what you said with respect to a held arm and the reaction. We had a player throw an elbow the other night that did not land and the other coach was all over us. Of course, the opposing player had grabbed hold of the arm in an effort to get to the ball and the reaction was to try to free himself from the hold. Just what I told the coach, too. Maybe he didn't like that, but then again, approximately half the people in those types of situations don't like what we say either. Off to do a game. Assignment 2 of 6 this week. I like being busy. |
Quote:
"><iframe src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/rO3Rq2urlL8" allowfullscreen="" frameborder="0" height="315" width="560"></iframe> |
Quote:
6 assignments in a week is busy? Out of curiosity how many games do you do a year? |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
A full season is about 45-60 assignments around here. That's enough. I'd gladly work 2 games a night, but they just don't do that and working one BV game is enough for me, especially since many of our games are still 2-person. |
Quote:
Not working much HS ball this season b/c of a contract controversy that is happening locally. But even in a normal season 4 games in a week would be the most I'd want to do. I started officiating when I needed extra income due to my first marriage breaking up and I always had a 50/50 split on custodial time with my children. So I've never been a available to work a high number of games in a week. Back in my early days there were those weekends where I'd work a whole bunch of AAU games but then the next weekend I would work zero. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36am. |