![]() |
Does RPP apply?
NFHS rules. After the ball goes out of bounds under Team A's basket (Team A's ball), the inbounder from Team A delays going to get the ball from the ref until his team is set up for their inbounds play. Can he legally do this? It's not after a timeout or the beginning of a quarter, so I don't think the resumption of play procedure applies. If not, is a delay-of-game warning supported by the rules?
|
Does RPP apply?
4-4-7
|
It applies.
4-38 The RPP is used to prevent delay in putting the ball in play when a throw-in team does not make a thrower available or following a time-out or intermission ... |
Quote:
|
Bugs the crap out of me when the thrower stands inbounds while setting up his teammates just so I can't hand him the ball. I tell him one time - "step out", and then if he doesn't, or he does it again the next time we have a throw-in, I put the ball on the floor behind him and start counting.
|
Quote:
|
What's our hurry here? If the offense is just setting up a play, I don't have any issue (heck, I'm not handing the ball to the thrower until the defense has had a chance to set up anyway). Now if they're over at the bench trying to turn it into a de facto time out, put the ball down, but if it's normal dead ball activity, I don't see the problem.
|
Quote:
|
I never rush the ball, but I'm not going to stand there and wait for A1 to decipher her coach's signals either. If they don't reach for it, I'm handing it. I've never had them refuse, but I'd be more than willing to put it down if they stand in bounds directing traffic.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20am. |