The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   What was the reason for this? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85630-what-reason.html)

Mark Padgett Wed Jan 11, 2012 12:40pm

What was the reason for this?

Last night I had two boys MS games in an area where there's an actual MS conference, I was told. I've never worked any games in that area before, but I recently added another assignor (sorry, Camron, this guy doesn't use RefTown, darn it). The second game was 8th grade. Each team had a kid on it that was, for lack of a better term, HUGE! They each were at least 6'2" and built like football linebackers. When they were in the game, they both dominated in the post and off the boards. Don't even ask me about picks.

Here's the strange part. They were never in the game at the same time! When one would sub in, the other coach would take his big kid out. In fact, one time when neither was in the game, one went towards the table to sub but his coach saw the other kid already at the table so he pulled his kid back. They kind of alternated starting each quarter.

I asked my partner what he thought about it and he said it was "bizarre".

Darn - I would have really enjoyed watching them post up against each other.

Welpe Wed Jan 11, 2012 01:31pm

They probably wanted to keep the big in to dominate the little guys.

Eastshire Wed Jan 11, 2012 01:54pm

Afraid they'd foul each other too much?

rockyroad Wed Jan 11, 2012 01:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 812373)

That would be my guess. Neither coach was willing to get his big kid into foul trouble by having to play against the other big kid. Weird...but that's rec ball.

Altor Wed Jan 11, 2012 02:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Eastshire (Post 812373)

I wonder if the two didn't have issues in the past and the two coaches agreed to just make sure they didn't see the court at the same time.