The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oops... (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85428-oops.html)

InsideTheStripe Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:03am

Oops...
 
The Ragin' Cajuns Used The Rare Basketball Power Play To Beat Western Kentucky In Overtime

Hard to believe this could happen in overtime in a college game. Do you think a team could play with six in your game for :21 without anyone noticing?

bainsey Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:08am

I'm sure the three on the court thought it could never happen to them, either.

APG Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:22am

Happens to the best of us...

This happened in an NBA game a two years ago in a Celtics game...I believe the opponent scored a bucket or two before it was noticed by anyone. The next year, the NBA made a rule change and made 6 players on the floor a correctable error.

ga314ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:23am

At 00:07...
 
...there are five RED players standing right in front of the C. What in the world could he have been focused on to miss that?

dsqrddgd909 Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:52am

What is C pointing at at the 0:18 mark of the video? telling the L that the L has the 5-second count?

Red 1 stood in front of C unguarded for a long time, then red 21.

bainsey Fri Jan 06, 2012 01:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 810985)
The next year, the NBA made a rule change and made 6 players on the floor a correctable error.

How so, APG? POI from the point #6 took the court?

APG Fri Jan 06, 2012 01:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 811013)
How so, APG? POI from the point #6 took the court?

Once it's been realized that six are on the court, the offending team is issued a technical foul. Afterward, the offended team has two options:

1. Continue from the point in time when the technical foul was issued.
2. Go back to the time when the ball was put in play whenever six players were on the court and wipe out any points and fouls except for flagrant/unsporting fouls and points scored from them.

If the ball was put in play from a missed free throw that remained in play, you would have a jump ball at center court between any two players in the game at the time. If it was a throw-in, it would go back to that original throw-in. If from a jump ball, it would go back to that original jump ball between the same two jumpers.

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 06, 2012 07:07am

Wow! So then 3 guys didn't count 5 guys on either team! Because it is be rare that an official counts one team but not the other.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 06, 2012 08:47am

Announcers don't notice. Teams don't seem to notice (at least during play -- one coach approaches the officials after the game).

MOofficial Fri Jan 06, 2012 09:59am

6 On The Floor, Uh-Oh
 
Officials could face suspension for failing to call technical foul on Louisiana-Lafayette for having six players on court - ESPN

Happens to the best of the best...

MOofficial Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:02am

Sorry for re-posting this. I didn't make it through all the threads to see if it had been posted.

JugglingReferee Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:02am

It goes to show you that errors at the end of the game are more egregious than at other times in the game.

When I help train newbies, and the topic of finishing comes up, I remind them that people mostly remember how you began officiating the game, and how you ended officiating the game.

dunkdog Fri Jan 06, 2012 10:47am

So what was the proper way to call this penalty? Do you call it as soon as the extra man enters the court after the time out or do you call it after the ball has been whistled for play ???

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:03am

If you see it when he enters, you send him back. This is not a penalty until the throw in is completed. If you know there are six (or more), don't start play until there are five.

Once the ball is in play, if you notice six, you call it immediately (unless the other team is about to shoot, then you wait a moment).

bob jenkins Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811079)
If you see it when he enters, you send him back. This is not a penalty until the throw in is completed.

Hmmm...

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 811081)
Hmmm...

Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?

Raymond Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811083)
Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?

Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 11:31am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 811086)
Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.

That's probably it.

Loudwhistle2 Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 811086)
Because most times if we catch it before the thrower-in releases the ball we kill the play and fix it even though technically we should call a technical when the ball is at their disposal.

Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?

Raymond Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 (Post 811097)
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?

Per the rules, yes.

HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 (Post 811097)
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?

Yes.

bob jenkins Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:06pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811083)
Why was I thinking there's a case play or interp that says we don't call this unless we catch it after the ball has been inbounded?

You're thinking of the time frame to correct giving the ball to the incorrect team.

HawkeyeCubP Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:21pm

I've had weeks like this...
 
WKU fires Ken McDonald - Bowling Green Daily News: Sports: wku, wku_mens_basketball,

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 12:24pm

Seems like he's had some good seasons prior to this one, seems odd to can him now.

Raymond Fri Jan 06, 2012 03:16pm

<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/Drqi3L-qt58" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 03:23pm

Interesting that the extra guy (the one who wasn't guarded in their man-to-man scheme) wasn't even involved in the play.

Raymond Fri Jan 06, 2012 03:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811181)
Interesting that the extra guy (the one who wasn't guarded in their man-to-man scheme) wasn't even involved in the play.

He was a decoy. :D

grunewar Fri Jan 06, 2012 03:42pm

Just for good measure.....
 
When ESPN shows the clip they count and number all the players the entire time on the screen.........bizarre.

I'm double checking all the time tonight! ;)

asdf Fri Jan 06, 2012 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811181)
Interesting that the extra guy (the one who wasn't guarded in their man-to-man scheme) wasn't even involved in the play.

looks to me like he got in position to dunk a potential miss, then busted his butt to get back on defense...

Bad Zebra Fri Jan 06, 2012 04:30pm

I'll be sure to make this part of my pre-game tonight..."U1-you count home team before every throw in... U2- You count visitors"

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by asdf (Post 811184)
looks to me like he got in position to dunk a potential miss, then busted his butt to get back on defense...

Yep, I didn't say he was motionless. Only unguarded and uninvolved in the actual play, the way it actually happened. Had he gotten the rebound that never happened, it would be a different story.

rockyroad Fri Jan 06, 2012 05:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811194)
Yep, I didn't say he was motionless. Only unguarded and uninvolved in the actual play, the way it actually happened. Had he gotten the rebound that never happened, it would be a different story.

It almost seems like the player realizes something isn't right and then just kind of stands there wondering what to do...

BillyMac Fri Jan 06, 2012 05:37pm

Quiz Time ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Loudwhistle2 (Post 811097)
Help me out here. If I see 6 on the floor before I give the thrower the ball, then I don't call the technical. Tell coach 6 on the floor. Problem fixed. If the ball is live (thrower has the ball) I do call the technical. Is this correct?

Rule 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated.

Here’s the only casebook play involving more than five team members participating simultaneously: 10.1.6 Situation: With Team A leading 51 to 50, a held ball is called. A6 properly reports and enters the game. Time is then called by Team A. The clock shows two seconds remaining in the game. After play is resumed by a throw-in, the officials: (a) recognize that A has six players competing, but cannot get the clock stopped; or (b) do not notice Team A has six players on the court. Following the throw-in, time expires. Team B now reports to the officials that Team A had six players on the court. RULING: In (a), since one of the officials had knowledge that Team A had six players participating simultaneously and this was detected prior to time expiring, a technical foul is assessed against Team A. In (b), since it was not recognized by either official, but was called to their attention after time had expired, it is too late to assess any penalty.

Here’s my problem. I wish that the NFHS was more definitive about what "participating" means, as well as what "while being violated" means. If there are six team members participating, does it matter whether, or not, the ball is dead, live, clock running, clock not running, or if there is, or isn't, a timeout (not an intermission)? What defines whether, or not, a player is participating? Does it have to be during a live ball, clock running, situation? Can it be during a live ball, clock stopped situation, i.e., ball at disposal of free throw shooter? Can it be during a dead ball, clock running situation, i.e. dead ball immediately after a made field goal? How about during a dead ball, clock stopped situation, i.e during a timeout?

Here are some situations that are confusing me:

A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? Please note that in 10.1.6 SITUATION (b) (above) the officials were not aware of the additional player until after time expires, which, to me, means the same as an intermission, when all team members are bench personnel. The situation that I have described here in not during an intermission, but is during a timeout.

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

F) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. After bouncing the ball to the free thrower, and with the ball at the free thrower's disposal for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is live, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 05:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 811201)
Here’s my problem. I wish that the NFHS was more definitive about what "participating" means, as well as what "while being violated" means.

I was tempted to just link to my own post in another thread, but hey, why not just post the pic?

http://artbyjeff.com/illustration/quixote1_lg.jpg

BillyMac Fri Jan 06, 2012 06:11pm

Don Quixote De La Mancha ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811204)
I was tempted to just link to my own post in another thread, but hey, why not just post the pic?

Loudwhistle2 was asking for help. Well, so am I. So please help.

It is my contention that once six players get into the game, it's not as cut and dry as most people would assume to charge the technical foul. There's no defined time limit, like a correctable error, but there are limits. That's why it's imperative to do some preventative officiating to keep this from happening in the first place.

BillyMac Fri Jan 06, 2012 06:31pm

A Mark Goodson Bill Todman Production ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 811204)
But hey, why not just post the pic?

Hey. That's my line.

just another ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 06:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 811201)
Rule 10-1-6: A team shall not: Have more than five team members participating simultaneously. If discovered while being violated.





A) Head coach of Team B requests, and is granted, a timeout, at which point he immediately complains to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. The sole purpose of his timeout is to call attention to the officials that Team A has six team members participating. Officials, who have been unaware that six team members have been participating up until that point, count six Team A members on the court before they head into their timeout huddle. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call? Please note that in 10.1.6 SITUATION (b) (above) the officials were not aware of the additional player until after time expires, which, to me, means the same as an intermission, when all team members are bench personnel. The situation that I have described here in not during an intermission, but is during a timeout.

B) Team B head coach yells to nearest official that there are six Team A players participating. Official sounds whistle to stop the action to count the players and discovers that there are six Team A team members on the court during this dead ball, clock stopped, situation. What's the call?

C) Team A has six team members participating, which goes unobserved by the officials. Official calls a travel violation on Team A. There are no substitutions after the whistle. Before administering the throw in, officials observe that Team A has six team members participating. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

D) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. Before bouncing the ball to the free thrower for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

E) The last Team A free throw attempt is successful. The clock hasn't started. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

F) Team A has six players on the court. Officials are unaware of this infraction. Team A has been awarded two free throws. The first free throw is missed. No substitutions are made. After bouncing the ball to the free thrower, and with the ball at the free thrower's disposal for his second free throw, the officials realize that Team A has six players on the court. The ball is live, and the clock is stopped. What’s the call?

G) Team A scores a field goal. Six team members on Team A are setting up a full court press. Officials become aware of the extra player before the ball is at the disposal of Team B for a run-the-endline throwin. The ball is dead, and the clock is running. What’s the call?

I've got a T in all of these, Billy.

BillyMac Fri Jan 06, 2012 07:02pm

Any Other Opinions ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 811214)
I've got a T in all of these, Billy.

Thanks. Others may differ with you, including my local interpreter, who couldn't get any help from either the NFHS, nor IAABO, on these plays. It's like these plays were covered with smallpox viruses, or bubonic plague bacteria, and nobody wanted to touch them.

By the way? Are you up to date on your vaccinations?

just another ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 07:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 811216)
Thanks. Others may differ with you, including my local interpreter, who couldn't get any help from either the NFHS, nor IAABO, on these plays. It's like these plays were covered with smallpox viruses, or bubonic plague bacteria, and nobody wanted to touch them.

By the way? Are you up to date on your vaccinations?

Until somebody tells me different, and they often do, go with something simple.
Who participates? Players. By definition, all 6 on the court are players in all these situations, are they not?

Nevadaref Fri Jan 06, 2012 07:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 811217)
Until somebody tells me different, and they often do, go with something simple.
Who participates? Players. By definition, all 6 on the court are players in all these situations, are they not?

Nope, players are legally on the court, so you can never have more than five players from either team at any one time. You can have six team members participating.

BTW this happened in a Big East game about four years ago involving Georgetown. The opponent had six take the floor following a time-out with under 10 seconds remaining for an inbounds play. They scored a basket, then Georgetown beat the six-man press to score at the other end and force OT. Mike Kitts was the R and he owned up to it and told the conference to penalize him, but all three officials were suspended.

just another ref Fri Jan 06, 2012 07:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 811218)
Nope, players are legally on the court, so you can never have more than five players from either team at any one time. You can have six team members participating.

If six are on the court, which one is illegal? Five is the legal number. If you have six, that's why it is a technical.

Adam Fri Jan 06, 2012 09:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 811219)
If six are on the court, which one is illegal? Five is the legal number. If you have six, that's why it is a technical.

That's why it's a team tech and not a sub tech.

fortmoney Sat Jan 07, 2012 03:57am

I was at the game. (I'm a student at WKU)

I feel bad for the officials because I feel like they did a good job all night except for the end. I had no idea there were 6 guys on the floor until the end when everyone was taking about it. As a fan, its impossible to be mad because only one of the six touched the ball anyway.

Brad Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 811288)
I was at the game. (I'm a student at WKU)

I feel bad for the officials because I feel like they did a good job all night except for the end. I had no idea there were 6 guys on the floor until the end when everyone was taking about it. As a fan, its impossible to be mad because only one of the six touched the ball anyway.

A rationale, and even empathetic-towards-the-officials, response from a fan. Thank you. My head just asploaded.

fortmoney Sat Jan 07, 2012 12:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad (Post 811338)
A rationale, and even empathetic-towards-the-officials, response from a fan. Thank you. My head just asploaded.


I'm a second year official, LOL. I've been lurking this forum for a few Weeks and seeing this thread finally prompted me to join.

It is amazing how much calmer I am toward officials now that I am one. I usually spend more time watching them than the actual game, amazed by their demonstrative mechanics and strong calls

Thank you guys for all your help so far, just from reading all these threads

Brad Sat Jan 07, 2012 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 811345)
I'm a second year official, LOL.

Yeah ... doesn't count then :)

Quote:

Originally Posted by fortmoney (Post 811345)
I've been lurking this forum for a few Weeks and seeing this thread finally prompted me to join.

It is amazing how much calmer I am toward officials now that I am one. I usually spend more time watching them than the actual game, amazed by their demonstrative mechanics and strong calls

Thank you guys for all your help so far, just from reading all these threads

Welcome to the forum ... college is probably the best time to start officiating. If you love it and stick with it, there is a ton of opportunity ahead for you!

just another ref Sat Jan 07, 2012 05:09pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Nevadaref (Post 811218)
Nope, players are legally on the court, so you can never have more than five players from either team at any one time. You can have six team members participating.

So if a team has 6 on the floor, it has no players?

fortmoney Sat Jan 07, 2012 07:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Brad (Post 811367)
Welcome to the forum ... college is probably the best time to start officiating. If you love it and stick with it, there is a ton of opportunity ahead for you!

That's what I hope! I'm always trying to become a better official and to move up

Raymond Wed Jan 11, 2012 05:04pm

Play situation – six players on court
 
Discuss amongst yourselves:

Quote:

Originally Posted by NCAA bulletin
In a recent game, six players participated in the game for one team. Several officials and administrators asked for clarification and we are releasing the following play situation:

SITUATION: Team A has six players on the playing court when the ball is made live with five seconds remaining in the game. A1’s successful field goal attempt is in the air when the time expires ending the game. Immediately after the expiration of time and before the officials have left the playing court, one of the officials observes that Team A had six players on the court when the basket was scored. What is the correct ruling?

RULING: The field goal shall count because A6 became a player when the ball became alive (Rule 3-4.1.c). However, the game has not ended since the officials have not left the court, which ends their jurisdiction and approves the score. The officials should award Team B two free throws and the game will continue with an overtime period if both free throws are successful (Rule 2-4.4, 5-7.7. and 10-2.6).

Further Comment: Rule 10-2.6 requires that the sixth player participate when the ball is alive. There is no time limit within which the officials have to recognize and penalize this technical foul. However, the officials must see the violation occur or have personal knowledge that it did occur in order to penalize the infraction. A monitor may not be used to obtain such knowledge (Rule 10-2.6, 2-13.2 and 5-7.7).

Hopefully this clarification will assist officials with the understanding and application of these rules. Thank you for your attention to this information.


All_Heart Thu Jan 12, 2012 12:41am

Quote:

However, the officials must see the violation occur or have personal knowledge that it did occur in order to penalize the infraction. (Rule 10-2.6, 2-13.2 and 5-7.7).
What would "Personal Knowledge" mean besides seeing 😳 6 players?
- 3 officials get together after the expiration of time and one says I remember seeing players #1 & #2. The other 2 say they saw #3, #4 & #5, #10 respectively. Does this constitute "Personal Knowledge"?
- What if there is a standby official at the table that tells the officials there were 6 players. Is this "Personal Knowledge"? What if it is the Timer or Scorekeeper that tells the officials there were 6 players?

I'm surprised they don't make this a reviewable play. I'm thinking "Personal Knowledge" is a flexable way to give the officials a chance to get it right when it is obvious to everyone (but the referees) in the gym what happened.

bob jenkins Thu Jan 12, 2012 09:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart (Post 812499)
What would "Personal Knowledge" mean besides seeing �� 6 players?

It still means seeing the players.

Just not "seeing the violation" which can only happen while the ball is live.

So, the game ends and you now see 6 "players" -- enforce the T.

You see someone run off the court and turn back and still count 5 players -- enforce the T.

Raymond Thu Jan 12, 2012 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 812551)
It still means seeing the players.

Just not "seeing the violation" which can only happen while the ball is live.

So, the game ends and you now see 6 "players" -- enforce the T.

You see someone run off the court and turn back and still count 5 players -- enforce the T.

That's what I'm thinking. The official's memory (and integrity) are to be used as definite knowledge.

Brad Thu Jan 12, 2012 10:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart (Post 812499)
What would "Personal Knowledge" mean besides seeing 😳 6 players?
- 3 officials get together after the expiration of time and one says I remember seeing players #1 & #2. The other 2 say they saw #3, #4 & #5, #10 respectively. Does this constitute "Personal Knowledge"?
- What if there is a standby official at the table that tells the officials there were 6 players. Is this "Personal Knowledge"? What if it is the Timer or Scorekeeper that tells the officials there were 6 players?

I think that all of those would qualify as personal knowledge.

Quote:

Originally Posted by All_Heart (Post 812499)
I'm surprised they don't make this a reviewable play. I'm thinking "Personal Knowledge" is a flexable way to give the officials a chance to get it right when it is obvious to everyone (but the referees) in the gym what happened.

Wouldn't be surprised to see the rule changed next year that would make this reviewable.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:08pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1