![]() |
Was watching an AAU game with a NFHS ref officiating
2 free throws- the first is made- the official bounces the ball to the player just as the coaches attempts to substitutes- the official properly does not allow the substitution- the free throw is made (We now have a dead ball). The official still would not allow the player to enter the game telling the coach the player needed to be at the scorers table before he bounced the player the ball- I think he was wrong. He knew the player was there and there was a dead ball. Am I correct or not? Stewcall CVBOA |
The substitution should have been allowed.As per NFHS R3-3-1c,substitution is allowed after the final FT attempt is converted.
[Edited by Jurassic Referee on May 8th, 2003 at 05:55 PM] |
JR is, of course, correct. However, my personal feeling is that this substitution breaks the flow of the game and gives a team which presses fullcourt an advantage because they have extra time to setup their press. I wish they would change the rule and not allow this substitution. Perhaps they should make it that only the shooter may be replaced and no one else.
|
stew,
Perhaps your brother official was under the impression that he was officiating an NBA game. No sub after the last FT, even if made. (Rule 3 - Section V a) |
Quote:
Stew |
Quote:
Ok, enough bragging on my wife! |
Quote:
|
It seems that the NBA is fully aware of this tactic and has the correct rule in place to handle it.
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:20pm. |