![]() |
Player Position: Start of Game Toss
For the "start of the game" toss, is there anywhere in the books that states that both players must be of equal distances from the center division line?
In one game I was in (U1 and not administering the toss) I saw one player, while in the center restraining circle half where he was supposed to be, be about a step or so back while the other player, while in his half, was about six inches from the division line. The one coach wanted the player that was standing further out to be moved in. Now, I was watching another game from the stands and saw the R move a jumper closer to the line so both jumpers would be equal distance from the division line. Where in the book(s) does it states both players need to be of equal distance from the division line during the opening toss? I can't find that, only the other specifics around the opening toss. :rolleyes: |
No such requirement. The jumpers merely must be in their own halves of the circle, but don't even need to face any particular direction.
6-3-1 . . . For any jump ball, each jumper shall have both feet within that half of the center restraining circle which is farther from his/her basket. NOTE (following article 8) NOTE: During a jump ball, a jumper is not required to face his/her own basket, provided he/she is in the proper half of the center restraining circle. The jumper is also not required to jump and attempt to touch the tossed ball. However, if neither jumper touches the ball it should be tossed again with both jumpers being ordered to jump and try to touch the ball. |
I've seen officials move players back to allow room for the toss, but I've never seen officials move players closer, unless they were outside the circle.
That's a new one for me. |
Exactly! The rule only states that each jumper must be in their half of the center restraining circle. The players need not face each other. The players, initially, do not have to jump but on a re-toss, at least one must jump. Neither players need face a basket. The simply have to be in their half of the circle.
So, I ignored the coach on this one since I did not know of any rule that stated the opponent needed to be the same close distance from the center line as the coaches player was. Of course, the game I was observing, the R was simply wrong to make one of the jumpers move to a point that was equal to his opponent. Thanks. |
I worked a game at the start of this season where the R made a non jumper move because his feet were straddling the division line. Myth?
|
I'm not carrying the measuring tape in my pocket!! :D
|
Who ya gonna call?
Quote:
|
Quote:
But hey, may as well have Billy add it to his list. |
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Will Remember This ...
Quote:
Steverz's coach, and R, in his original post, must be "old timers". Freddy: I don't answer the Batphone, but I do respond to the Mythbuster searchlight signal in the clouds. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
It wasn't in the middle 20th Century, but in the late 1970's thru the late80's if my memory is correct. I ain't going to climb up into that attic for this one but I think that once Spring time rolls around I am going to have to bring that stuff down and scan it into this computer. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
These Leopards Can Change Their Spots
Quote:
6-3-2a,b |
Before The Possession Arrow ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Had a partner this week tell a player off the circle that she couldn't be directly behind (6-7 feet) a player on the circle.
|
"6-3 ART. 2
When the official is ready and until the ball is tossed, nonjumpers shall not: a. Move onto the center restraining circle. b. Change position around the center restraining circle." How would one judge this? I guess I'm having problems understanding "move onto" and "change position". Is that more than a step? |
Not Sure, Need Cooberation ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
Billy: You are correct oh "Great One'. MTD, Sr. |
Where is it written?
|
6.3.2 SITUATION:
The referee is ready to toss the ball to start the game. (a) A1 who was on the center restraining circle backs off; (b) B1 moves onto the *restraining circle into an unoccupied spot; (c) B2 moves off the circle and goes behind A2 and is within 3 feet of the circle; or (d) B3 moves off the circle about 5 feet and moves around behind A3 and A4 who are occupying spaces on the *circle. RULING: Legal in (a) and (d), but a violation in both (b) and (c). Moving off the restraining circle in (a), and around the circle when more than 3 feet away as in (d), is permissible. It is a violation to move onto the circle as in (b), until the ball leaves the official's hand, or into an occupied space as in (c), until the ball is touched. The violation by B results in a throw-in for Team A. (4-3-1, 4-3-2, 4-3-3) |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
I Can't Remember The Last Time I Read Rule 1 ???
Quote:
radius of 6 feet measured to the outside edge. The edge of the circle shall be designated with a minimum of a ¼-inch-wide single line but no wider than 2 inches. See Table 1-1, No. 3 if the use of contrasting colored-floor areas instead of a line is desirable. Spaces for nonjumpers around the center circle are 36 inches deep. Where does it say that the spaces are three feet wide? |
Is This Microphone Workng ???
Quote:
|
Quote:
Billy: I am not going to climb up into the attic right now, but the "myth" comes from the fact that the marked free throw lane spaces are three feet wide and the width of the throw-in space is also three feet. Realisticly (Did I spell that correctly?) when players line up next to each other, they have defined their spaces around the Center Circle. And therefore there are approximately 12.6 spaces around the Center Circle. MTD, Sr. |
Is it also true that if A1 and A2 are right next to each other around the circle B1 can request the space between them?
Along those lines, what about an inbounds play from endline where the other four players are stacked in a line down the free throw line. Can the defense request to be in between them? |
Quote:
No, 7-6-5. Only applies to parallel positions to the throw-in plane within 3 feet of the line. |
Last week during an 8th grade boys game I actually had to tell some non-jumpers to move because they came onto the circle with their legs overlapping an opponent who had already established his position on the circle. I can't recall ever having to deal with it before.
|
Does no one own a rules book anymore?
|
Quote:
|
Please Help ...
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23pm. |