The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Charging vs. Player control (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/85166-charging-vs-player-control.html)

Toren Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:13pm

Charging vs. Player control
 
All charges are not player control fouls

but

Are all player control fouls charges?

I'm having trouble thinking of examples of player control fouls that are not charges.

Can anyone help?

rfp Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:21pm

A1 with the ball pivots into a stationary defender B1 and hits B1 with an elbow across the bridge of the nose. Not a charge, but a PCF.

Rich Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:23pm

A1 hooks the defender to get around...

Toren Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:25pm

+1

thanks.

tref Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:27pm

A1 drives to the basket & uses his off hand to create space.
Northside!

Toren Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:30pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 808894)
A1 drives to the basket & uses his off hand to create space.
Northside!

I was thinking this one too but then I read 4-7-2 d and then I was like whoa, that's a charge. Unless you're visualizing something else.

tref Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:33pm

Is it a charge if it happens at the 3 point line? Halfcourt? Or just below the FT line extended?

Toren Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 808900)
Is it a charge if it happens at the 3 point line? Halfcourt? Or just below the FT line extended?

I'm not sure I'm understanding the question...are you asking definitionally?

Mechanically, we're going PCF in all cases.

Welpe Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:47pm

He means by rule.

Toren Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:49pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 808900)
Is it a charge if it happens at the 3 point line? Halfcourt? Or just below the FT line extended?

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 808907)
He means by rule.

By rule, I don't see a difference. Looks like they are all charges. I don't see anything in rule about location being of issue.

tref Wed Dec 28, 2011 04:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 808905)
I'm not sure I'm understanding the question...are you asking definitionally?

Mechanically, we're going PCF in all cases.

You're correct, going to & through the torso is p/c & so is using the hand to push the defenders torso to create space for a shot or pass.

At the end of the day, we use the same mechanic for a p/c or charge by the ball handler.

Welpe Wed Dec 28, 2011 05:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 808910)
By rule, I don't see a difference. Looks like they are all charges. I don't see anything in rule about location being of issue.

The player in possession can also be guilty of infractions under 4-24 in addition to it being a charge. It's an esoteric distinction really but I think you know that.

Adam Wed Dec 28, 2011 06:31pm

Illegal ball screen, hooking, push off,

Hartsy Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 808889)
All charges are not player control fouls

??? What am I missing here? How can a charge NOT be a PC foul?

Rich Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809110)
??? What am I missing here? How can a charge NOT be a PC foul?

Pass and crash. Still a charge, not a player control foul.

APG Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809110)
??? What am I missing here? How can a charge NOT be a PC foul?

Anytime a player goes through a legally positioned player's torso, the foul is one for charging. So for example, a defensive player running through a player in legal screening position.

Hartsy Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 809112)
Anytime a player goes through a legally positioned player's torso, the foul is one for charging. So for example, a defensive player running through a player in legal screening position.

Ah. That's a new distinction to me. That sounds to me like a run of the mill, pushing foul. I've never heard anyone say a defender was called for a charge.

Toren Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809114)
Ah. That's a new distinction to me. That sounds to me like a run of the mill, pushing foul. I've never heard anyone say a defender was called for a charge.

I've seen some defenders run straight through a screen, no hands, just shoulder down almost football style.

Charge...and sometimes a short discussion about upgrading.

APG Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809114)
Ah. That's a new distinction to me. That sounds to me like a run of the mill, pushing foul. I've never heard anyone say a defender was called for a charge.

Rule 4, Section 7

ART. 2 . . . Charging is illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso.

Hartsy Thu Dec 29, 2011 12:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 809116)
Rule 4, Section 7

ART. 2 . . . Charging is illegal personal contact caused by pushing or moving into an opponent’s torso.

Mmm hmm. By definition, a defender pushing through a screen is a charging foul. I'd hate to see the confusion from someone not signalling this a push, but rather using the hand behind the head associated with the commonly known charge.

PG_Ref Thu Dec 29, 2011 01:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809117)
Mmm hmm. By definition, a defender pushing through a screen is a charging foul. I'd hate to see the confusion from someone not signalling this a push, but rather using the hand behind the head associated with the commonly known charge.

A hand behind the head is for a player control foul ... not a charge. You use the "push" mechanic also for a charge.

Toren Thu Dec 29, 2011 01:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809117)
Mmm hmm. By definition, a defender pushing through a screen is a charging foul. I'd hate to see the confusion from someone not signalling this a push, but rather using the hand behind the head associated with the commonly known charge.

Hand Behind the head is Player Control Foul. Push/Charge is two hands out, in a pushing motion.

Hartsy Thu Dec 29, 2011 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 809121)
Hand Behind the head is Player Control Foul. Push/Charge is two hands out, in a pushing motion.

That's the point. Hand behind head is what many consider a charging signal, not a player control signal.

Toren Thu Dec 29, 2011 01:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809122)
That's the point. Hand behind head is what many consider a charging signal, not a player control signal.

As long as you don't :D

BktBallRef Thu Dec 29, 2011 02:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809122)
That's the point. Hand behind head is what many consider a charging signal, not a player control signal.

Many also believe other myths. Who cares? Do you allow that to effect what you call?

ballgame99 Thu Dec 29, 2011 02:18pm

the distinction between a PCF and just a pushing foul matters why? Just in whether or not the foulee is shooting 1&1?

Welpe Thu Dec 29, 2011 02:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809122)
That's the point. Hand behind head is what many consider a charging signal, not a player control signal.

Those same people also scream for three seconds when the ball is bouncing on the rim after a shot.

PG_Ref Thu Dec 29, 2011 02:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809122)
That's the point. Hand behind head is what many consider a charging signal, not a player control signal.

Then they have not looked at the mechanics signals chart in the manual.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 01:44pm

Knuckleheads ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 809138)
Those same people also scream for three seconds when the ball is bouncing on the rim after a shot.

Don't you just love it?

Hartsy Fri Dec 30, 2011 03:47pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 809133)
Many also believe other myths. Who cares? Do you allow that to effect what you call?

Doesn't affect what I call at all. I was pointing out that incorrectly signaling a defensive "charge" with hand behind head signal could potentially confuse your partner, table crew, and/or coaches, let alone fans who are often confused anyhow.

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2011 03:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809431)
Doesn't affect what I call at all. I was pointing out that incorrectly signaling a defensive "charge" with hand behind head signal could potentially confuse your partner, table crew, and/or coaches, let alone fans who are often confused anyhow.

And why would someone do that?

Hartsy Fri Dec 30, 2011 04:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 809432)
And why would someone do that?

I can't imagine anyone would, but part of the discussion was the defiition of "charging", which does not specify that only the dribbler can "charge". Many associate the hand behind head signal with a charge rather than player control. I was pointing out what confusion could ensue if the push signal was not used for a defensive charge.

Welpe Fri Dec 30, 2011 04:16pm

I think I'm confused now.

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2011 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809433)
I can't imagine anyone would, but part of the discussion was the defiition of "charging", which does not specify that only the dribbler can "charge". Many associate the hand behind head signal with a charge rather than player control. I was pointing out what confusion could ensue if the push signal was not used for a defensive charge.

Many what? No official I know uses that signal for anything except PC.

Hartsy Fri Dec 30, 2011 04:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 809436)
Many what? No official I know uses that signal for anything except PC.

It wasn't directed at officials. We all should know better. It was a theoretical after acknowledging that it isn't only a dribbler who can charge, given the rulebook definition of that term.

BktBallRef Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 809434)
I think I'm confused now.

I know. My head hurts now.

There's no reason to use a PC signal for a defensive charging call.

There's no reason for any official to equate charging as an offense only foul.

As for signals, pushing or charging, the signal is the same. Signal #33.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809433)
I can't imagine anyone would, but part of the discussion was the defiition of "charging", which does not specify that only the dribbler can "charge". Many associate the hand behind head signal with a charge rather than player control. I was pointing out what confusion could ensue if the push signal was not used for a defensive charge.

It would also be confusing if the travel signal was used when the ball went out of bounds.:rolleyes:

Maybe this helps. If one looks at the table of Official NFHS Signals, one will discover the signals for a push and a charge are.................the same signal.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:36pm

But what if one official signals a block and the other signals a player control foul, then what do we do?

BktBallRef Fri Dec 30, 2011 05:40pm

A hot mess.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 06:41pm

It's The Infamous Blarge ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 809462)
But what if one official signals a block and the other signals a player control foul, then what do we do?

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 809463)
A hot mess.

4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball.
Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter
A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the
other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful.
RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it
is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul.
The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal
is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for
Team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try
in flight; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. (4-36)

Scuba_ref Fri Dec 30, 2011 06:42pm

Or
 
Triple whistle for action at the freethrow line and halfway across the key - (not our finest example of 6 eyes on 10 players). Two fists and one open hand in the air - we all had something different. Can you guess what we went with? The winning call came out of the C position.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2011 06:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809476)
4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball.
Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter
A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the
other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful.
RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it
is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul.
The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal
is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for
Team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try
in flight; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. (4-36)

Thought the main point in this thread was that a charge and a player control foul are not the same thing.

BillyMac Fri Dec 30, 2011 07:13pm

Sometimes You Feel Like A Nut, Sometimes You Don't ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 809482)
Thought the main point in this thread was that a charge and a player control foul are not the same thing.

Sometimes they are. Sometimes they're not.

just another ref Fri Dec 30, 2011 09:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809488)
Sometimes they are. Sometimes they're not.

Absolutely true. No one argues (do they) that the two are not necessarily the same.


So how do we possibly get from this



Quote:

What if one official signals a block and the other signals a player control foul, then what do we do?

to this?


Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809476)
4.19.8 SITUATION C: A1 drives for a try and jumps and releases the ball.
Contact occurs between A1 and B1 after the release and before airborne shooter
A1 returns one foot to the floor. One official calls a blocking foul on B1 and the
other official calls a charging foul on A1. The try is (a) successful, or (b) not successful.
RULING: Even though airborne shooter A1 committed a charging foul, it
is not a player-control foul because the two fouls result in a double personal foul.
The double foul does not cause the ball to become dead on the try. In (a), the goal
is scored; play is resumed at the point of interruption, which is a throw-in for
Team B from anywhere along the end line. In (b), the point of interruption is a try
in flight; therefore the alternating-possession procedure is used. (4-36)

The question doesn't contain the word charge.
The case doesn't contain the words player control.

Let alone obligation based on signals which may or may not mean the same thing.

Welpe Fri Dec 30, 2011 09:55pm

This is like seeing magnesium being dumped in a swimming pool.

Adam Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 809511)
This is like seeing magnesium being dumped in a swimming pool.

For some

refiator Fri Dec 30, 2011 10:29pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Hartsy (Post 809117)
using the hand behind the head associated with the commonly known charge.

Since the Team Control signal was implemented, I haven't seen that used in a while (at least in these parts).......Not taking away from its being an approved signal, just don't see it anymore.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 06:46am

Blarge ....
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 809499)
The case doesn't contain the words player control.

Because it's a double foul. If the other official didn't call a block, then it would have been a player control foul.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 06:50am

Player Control Charging Foul ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 809514)
Since the Team Control signal was implemented, I haven't seen that used in a while.

Many officials around here will use the team control foul signal, and only the team control foul signal, for a player control charging foul. By the manual, it's probably incorrect, but it seems to be an "accepted", but not "approved", alternative around here.

SNIPERBBB Sat Dec 31, 2011 07:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 809514)
Since the Team Control signal was implemented, I haven't seen that used in a while (at least in these parts).......Not taking away from its being an approved signal, just don't see it anymore.


Player control and Team Control signals are the same behind-the-head signal in Ohio.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 12:01pm

How Long Has This Been Going On ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809562)
Player control and Team Control signals are the same behind-the-head signal in Ohio.

So, an offensive player, without the ball, sets an illegal screen, and the official comes up with a behind-the-head signal?

SNIPERBBB Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:17pm

The way they want it is the normal foul signal then come down to the behind the head signal.

just another ref Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809676)
The way they want it is the normal foul signal then come down to the behind the head signal.

We assume by normal foul signal you mean a fist in the air. And you are instructed to use the hand behind the head for all fouls on the offense?

SNIPERBBB Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:32pm

Yes. The PC signal is the TC signal in Ohio. The TC signal in the NFHS manual does not exist here.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:36pm

When In Ohio ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809682)
The PC signal is the TC signal in Ohio. The TC signal in the NFHS manual does not exist here.

Thanks. I didn't know that Ohio was in The Matrix.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:41pm

Wrong Metal ???
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Welpe (Post 809511)
This is like seeing magnesium being dumped in a swimming pool.

Did you mean to say Sodium, or Potassium?

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:45pm

When In Rome ...
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809553)
Many officials around here will use the team control foul signal, and only the team control foul signal, for a player control charging foul. By the manual, it's probably incorrect, but it seems to be an "accepted", but not "approved", alternative around here.

Quote:

Originally Posted by just another ref (Post 809680)
We assume by normal foul signal you mean a fist in the air.

Here in my little corner of Connecticut, the same guys that use the team control foul signal, and only the team control foul signal, for a player control charging foul, will also not usually precede this signal with a "stop the clock" fist.

just another ref Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:46pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809682)
Yes. The PC signal is the TC signal in Ohio. The TC signal in the NFHS manual does not exist here.

This an exception mandated by the state, or your state publishes its own rule book?

It actually makes perfect sense. Why have two separate signals? So, in Ohio it doesn't matter whether he released the pass before the crash or not.

just another ref Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:50pm

I have a tell
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809691)
Here in my little corner of Connecticut, the same guys that use the team control foul signal, and only the team control foul signal, for a player control charging foul, will also not usually precede this signal with a "stop the clock" fist.

I actually do the same thing most of the time, if the call is obvious to me, though I know this is not totally correct. If I go up with the fist first, then go to the PC signal, it gives me time to mentally flip a coin.

SNIPERBBB Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:53pm

Just a state mandate. They thought using the new signal would confuse people.

BillyMac Sat Dec 31, 2011 03:57pm

Aren't There Smart People In Ohio ???
 
I've never been to the Buckeye State, but I've got to believe that there are. Lots of them.

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809697)
They thought using the new signal would confuse people.

What people? Officials? Coaches? Players? Table? Fans? Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.?

How condescending.

BktBallRef Sat Dec 31, 2011 04:04pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by SNIPERBBB (Post 809682)
Yes. The PC signal is the TC signal in Ohio. The TC signal in the NFHS manual does not exist here.

Even though there's a difference in a team control and player control foul?????

That makes no sense at all.

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 14, 2012 08:08am

Quote:

Originally Posted by refiator (Post 809514)
Since the Team Control signal was implemented, I haven't seen that used in a while (at least in these parts).......Not taking away from its being an approved signal, just don't see it anymore.

That's kinda funny you say that because I was going to ask if any other associations have kind of done away with the PC signal. They encourage us to use the team control signal and punch it the other direction (defense's basket) if anyone on the offensive team fouls the defense, ball handler or team mate. I haven't once in two seasons used or seen used the PC signal. It is always the team control signal. Anybody else adopted that or find it strange?

Sharpshooternes Sat Jan 14, 2012 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BillyMac (Post 809601)
So, an offensive player, without the ball, sets an illegal screen, and the official comes up with a behind-the-head signal?

We do the above the head fist to stop the clock and then punch the team control foul signal towards the defenses basket. Same with a charging ball handler.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1