The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Rule 9.9.1 - Throw In Front Court + Tip (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84850-rule-9-9-1-throw-front-court-tip.html)

CoachP Thu Dec 22, 2011 09:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 807390)
The exception applies only to the first person to touch the ball. So, if the ball is tipped (doesn't matter whether it was tipped by A1 or B1), and then A2 jumps from the FC, catches the ball and lands in the BC, it's now a violation.

So, if the ball is tipped (doesn't matter whether it was tipped by A1 or B1), and then A2 jumps from the FC and lands in the BC and then catches the ball? Or if he never jumped from FC to BC, A2 just happened to be standing in the BC?

bob jenkins Thu Dec 22, 2011 09:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachP (Post 807395)
So, if the ball is tipped (doesn't matter whether it was tipped by A1 or B1), and then A2 jumps from the FC and lands in the BC and then catches the ball? Or if he never jumped from FC to BC, A2 just happened to be standing in the BC?

Then the 4 requirements haven't been met and there's no violation.

CoachP Thu Dec 22, 2011 09:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 807397)
Then the 4 requirements haven't been met and there's no violation.

Awesome!! That's what I thought...

BktBallRef Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 807390)
There's an exception to the BC rule for a throw-in (and for a jump ball and for a defensive player). A player can jump from the FC, catch the ball and land in the BC without it being a violation. (The "4 requirements" for a BC violation have been met, so without the exception there would be a violation.)

The exception applies only to the first person to touch the ball. So, if the ball is tipped (doesn't matter whether it was tipped by A1 or B1), and then A2 jumps from the FC, catches the ball and lands in the BC, it's now a violation.

To add, the violation occurs because the throw-in ends when the first player touches the ball. Therefore, the exception ends as well.

letemplay Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:24am

Old dog learning new tricks
 
I'll have to say I would not have seen this play this way and probably would not call a violation (on the jumping from FC to BC after throw in is tipped). I appreciate being corrected and learning something new today. Now if my short (or long) term memory will only kick in when it happens:cool:

CoachP Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:29am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 807402)
I'll have to say I would not have seen this play this way and probably would not call a violation (on the jumping from FC to BC after throw in is tipped). I appreciate being corrected and learning something new today. Now if my short (or long) term memory will only kick in when it happens:cool:

Appropriate time to give pardner the tip signal?

SNIPERBBB Thu Dec 22, 2011 10:46am

The tip signal on this play should be the chopping of the clock.

Not a real fan of the tip signal during a live ball because your partner(s) might not see it in time but everyone else in the gym will.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:21pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1