The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Caseplay (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84353-caseplay.html)

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:01pm

Caseplay
 
Does anyone have or know where to find the caseplay that says its legal to block the ball after it strikes the backboard in HS?

Welpe Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:26pm

I'm digging through what I have now. I'm guessing that the fact the rule doesn't prohibit it isn't enough? :)

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:32pm

Trying to explain to a buddy that its a different ruling in HS than in NCAA & Pro. He said rule/caseplay please... cant find anything.

grunewar Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 804773)
Trying to explain to a buddy that its a different ruling in HS than in NCAA & Pro. He said rule/caseplay please... cant find anything.

What are you going to call BI or GT? If so, by definition, explain? If not, there you go.

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:40pm

Been there, done that. I know I read it somewhere before, I'm thinking it was part of a caseplay.

Scratch85 Wed Dec 14, 2011 04:56pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 804756)
Does anyone have or know where to find the caseplay that says its legal to block the ball after it strikes the backboard in HS?


No case play that I know of but it is included in the back of the rules book in the grid showing "major basketball differences" NFHS vs NCAA

NFHS= Player touches the ball during a try/tap while it is in its downward flight entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket in flight.

NCAA = Same as NFHS and includes a ball that is touched after it contacts the backboard when it is entirely above ring level - considered to be on it its downward flight.

I don't call NCAA but as I read this, in NCAA it may still be legal to touch a ball after it has contacted the backboard if it was not entirely above ring level when touched.

SNIPERBBB Wed Dec 14, 2011 05:10pm

There is nothing in the rules or casebook that says protects the ball after hitting the board. Though the rules differences table says the NCAA rule is the same and includes the ball hitting the backboard.

tref Wed Dec 14, 2011 05:18pm

Thanks all!

BillyMac Wed Dec 14, 2011 06:48pm

Furthermore ...
 
The backboard has nothing to do with goaltending. Goaltending when a player touches the ball during a try, or tap, while it is in its downward flight, entirely above the basket ring level and has the possibility of entering the basket. On most layups, the ball is going up after it contacts the backboard. It is legal to pin the ball against the backboard if it still on the way up and not in the imaginary cylinder above the basket. Slapping the backboard is neither basket interference nor is it goaltending and points cannot be awarded. A player who strikes a backboard, during a tap, or a try, so forcefully that it cannot be ignored because it is an attempt to draw attention to the player, or a means of venting frustration, may be assessed a technical foul. When a player simply attempts to block a shot and accidentally slaps the backboard it is neither a violation nor is it a technical foul.

HawkeyeCubP Thu Dec 15, 2011 12:09am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tref (Post 804773)
Trying to explain to a buddy that its a different ruling in HS than in NCAA & Pro. He said rule/caseplay please... cant find anything.

As there's no HS caseplay that spells it out, I'd use the fact that there's nothing at all like NCAA 4-34-1-3 that states goaltending involves the backboard in the NFHS definition (or caseplays). It's one of those "No rule against it? Then no rule against it" situations.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1