![]() |
Wrong Starters in the book to start the game
We have been having many discussions lately on the beginning of the game and the book. The situation is this. To start the game each team has 5 starters on the floor and the ball is thrown for the tip. After a couple trips up and down the floor the horn sounds and the book shows us that the players that started the game are not the ones marked in the book. The NFHS rule book states that once the ball becomes live all players are now legal and there is no penalty. Others officials say that since the same 5 players that were in the book didn't start the game then there is a technical foul. I would love some help on this one. What is correct? Technical foul or play on?
Thanks |
Play on.
If it's discovered before the game starts, then the coach can (a) put the marked startes in the game, or (b) take a T for changing the starters. |
Wrong Starters in book to start the game
I will say , take a moment before the toss and have the coaches and table to verify who the starters will be
This is not to hard to do , if you can avoid the Technical please do so |
Quote:
Quote:
|
Designated Starters ...
If a team changes a designated starter (with exceptions) after the ten minute time limit, then a team technical foul is charged. If a player starts, and that player was not designated to be a starter, the infraction has to be discovered, and penalized, before the ball becomes live to start the game. Once the ball becomes live, it is too late to penalize this specific infraction, and no penalty can be assessed. As a reminder, the ball becomes live when: on a jump ball, the tossed ball leaves the referee’s hand; on a throw-in, it is at the disposal of the thrower; and on a free throw, it is at the disposal of the free thrower.
|
And techincally, when starting the game, the ball can only become live either during a jump ball or when the ball is at the disposal of a free thrower. :)
|
Exactly-it has to be caught before the ball becomes live.I've had coaches come up to me and ask to change a starter after the deadline and here's what I always say:"Coach if you would like to change a starter at this point in the clock it is an administrative technical foul."and proceed to notify my floor officials that a starter has been changed after deadline .Once they hear the words "Administrative Technical Foul" come out of my mouth they always withdraw the request.
|
Administrative Infraction Technical Fouls ???
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09am. |