The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Throwin Intentional Foul Question (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84261-throwin-intentional-foul-question.html)

tophat67 Tue Dec 13, 2011 09:54am

Throwin Intentional Foul Question
 
On a throwin, when the defender fouls the player putting the ball in play, this is an intentional foul as we all know. In this case, does the player throwing the ball inbounds get awarded two free throws?

Smitty Tue Dec 13, 2011 09:58am

Yes

letemplay Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:03am

And if it's an AP throw-in, they keep the arrow? The subsequent throw following the ft's is NOT an AP throw, correct?

tref Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:11am

Correct

JugglingReferee Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:19am

Quote:

Originally Posted by letemplay (Post 804198)
And if it's an AP throw-in, they keep the arrow? The subsequent throw following the ft's is NOT an AP throw, correct?

Yes. It helps to know the penalty for an intentional foul. It is two shots plus a throw-in nearest the spot of the foul. If it was an AP throw-in, then the throw-in would be a Point-of-Interruption throw-in, and the rule clearly states otherwise. So then it can't be an AP TI.

Raymond Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 804192)
On a throwin, when the defender fouls the player putting the ball in play, this is an intentional foul as we all know. In this case, does the player throwing the ball inbounds get awarded two free throws?

If I may ask, what were the other options you were thinking of?

tophat67 Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:34am

I was the non-calling referee in this situation. The other referee called the intentional foul, reported it but did not award free-throws. I stopped the game and we talked as I said there should be free throws awarded but he was insistent that there should not be. So we played on without the free-throws and discussed it after the game. So this thread just re-assures me that I was correct. (which I knew I was but got the bull crap "I've been refereeing for 15 years, blah blah blah)

He also called another intentional foul on a play where a girl was holding the ball high, and was swinging her elbows and hit the defender in the face with her elbow. Again, he gave the ball to the other team and did not award free-throws. (incorrect again I told him)

mbyron Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:38am

I was going to say that it sounds as if he might have been confused about A having team control during a throw-in, and ruled that you can't have free throws no matter what kind of foul B commits.

But then you posted the second play. Now it sounds as if he doesn't know the penalty for an intentional foul. :(

tophat67 Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:44am

So you agree that even in the second intentional foul (throwing elbows) the defender should have been awarded free-throws?

bob jenkins Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 804224)
So you agree that even in the second intentional foul (throwing elbows) the defender should have been awarded free-throws?

A Player Control foul is a common foul. An Intentional foul cannot be a PC foul.

Adam Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 804224)
So you agree that even in the second intentional foul (throwing elbows) the defender should have been awarded free-throws?

The combination of free throws and the throw in is the only thing that distinguishes an intentional foul. Without it, it's just a common foul or a PC foul.

mbyron Tue Dec 13, 2011 10:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tophat67 (Post 804224)
So you agree that even in the second intentional foul (throwing elbows) the defender should have been awarded free-throws?

Yes, of course. The penalty for an intentional foul is always 2 shots and the ball (ignoring a couple irrelevant exceptions).

Raymond Tue Dec 13, 2011 11:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 804226)
The combination of free throws and the throw in is the only thing that distinguishes an intentional foul. Without it, it's just a common foul or a PC foul.

Yep. Otherwise what would be the purpose of designating it an IF?


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1