![]() |
Substitution help ASAP
Here is the situation.Team A has 8 players total.Later on in the game I had to whack a kid for pushing a team B player during a dead ball.School has a policy that if a player gets a T he must sit out the remainder of the game.Later a player gets injured so another player is out leaving them wit 6 players.Now 2 players foul out.I need a sub.Coach says he don't have one because one kid is injured and the other kid got a T.I forced him to bring in the kid that I whacked because he was an eligible sub.Coach not happy about it,but I am worried that if I don't make him sub the kid in that I would be in violation of a rule.Help me out here because I got a school upset with me about this.I think if he has a sub he must put him in.Am I wrong?Case book Rule 3 1.1 is what I found.I had a partner let a team finish with 4 one time when the had another player on the bench to sub,and he got in trouble and no playoff game because of this.
|
If a player is suspended from the team for violating rules, I don't see why anyone would have a problem. Just don't let him reverse the suspension later in the same game.
|
You were right, they must play with five if five eligible players are available. A "school" rule doesn't trump this (no different than a "five quarter in night situation").
Now having said that, the coach could of simply said he was injured and unavailable. |
If the coach says they're unavailable, they're unavailable. Play with 4. It doesn't matter it is an injury or disciplinary. We don't ask why nor do we need to know. The coach might just decide to send the kid to the locker room to avoid having to play them and we don't want to put them in that bind (we can not send the player to the locker room but that doesn't stop the coach from doing so).
For all you know, a bench player, in any other game that appears to be available, could be serving a state imposed suspension. Do you think that player should be forced to play? No. |
What Camron said. You wouldn't bring the player back if he was DQ'd becasue of a flagrant T -- and the league rules are that any T is to be treated as flagrant.
|
Quote:
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
B has 7 players, but two foul out. After the 2nd player fouls out, the coach tells you he only has four eligible players because B15 has reached his maximum quarters for the day. Are you telling me you're going to tell the coach he has to break the state participation rules? Based on what? The rule says they have to play with 5 if they have 5 eligible players. If the coach tells me he isn't eligible, he isn't eligible. |
Bob summed it up -- all technical fouls are flagrant here.
I'm going to assume that this was something lower than high school ball. If I'm working something at that level, I usually ask in pre-game if there are any special rules that we should know (no pressing rules, etc.), so we're not caught by surprise. As BNR suggested, let the assigner know about this rule, so others are made aware. In addition, clarify whether ALL technical fouls are flagrant. I can't imagine tossing a kid for reaching through the plane and touching the ball (and a few other non-unsportsmanlike infractions). |
Quote:
|
Quote:
2. I'm not treating them like flagrants, the coach gets to make that choice according to school policy. He may well decide not to enact it if the T is for breaking the plane and hitting the ball. That's why I'd rather not know before the fact, so I don't alter the way I call a game. 3. The player is, essentially, suspended even if he's in uniform. I'm not forcing the coach to either play the kid or lie (he's injured). If I need to answer to an assigner for that, so be it. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29pm. |