The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Held ball without holding? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84168-held-ball-without-holding.html)

phansen Sun Dec 11, 2011 01:50pm

Held ball without holding?
 
NFHS

During a loose ball A1 somehow ends up rolling on his back with the ball between his mid back and the floor. A1 cannot reach around himself to
grab the ball but has it pinned to the floor and seems satisfied not to move. B1 reaches under A1 and grabs the ball but cannot free it.
Held ball??
This situation doesn't meet all the 4-25 definition, but I called a held ball.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:22pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 803671)
This situation doesn't meet all the 4-25 definition, but I called a held ball.

You said it yourself. It doesn't meet the definition. Why call it a held ball?

Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:35pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by phansen (Post 803671)
NFHS

During a loose ball A1 somehow ends up rolling on his back with the ball between his mid back and the floor. A1 cannot reach around himself to
grab the ball but has it pinned to the floor and seems satisfied not to move. B1 reaches under A1 and grabs the ball but cannot free it.
Held ball??
This situation doesn't meet all the 4-25 definition, but I called a held ball.


First off, I am inclined to agree with you that this does NOT meet the requirements of NFHS R4-S25-A1, NCAA R4-S37-A1(a), or FIBA R4-A12.1.2, nor do I do not believe that A1 has obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA and FIBA) a Legal Guarding Position (LGP).

That said you have two options:

1) If this took place in B's backcourt, start at tern-second count. Or

2) If this took place in B's front court you have nothing.

But in both cases B1 has to be careful as to not commit a traveling violation.

MTD, Sr.

26 Year Gap Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr. (Post 803679)
Please tell me this was a girls' middle school game.

First off, I am inclined to agree with you that this does meet the requirements of NFHS R4-S25-A1, NCAA R4-S37-A1(a), or FIBA R4-A12.1.2, nor do I do not believe that A1 has obtained (NFHS)/established (NCAA and FIBA) Legal Guarding Position (LGP).

That said you have two options:

1) If this took place in B's backcourt, start at tern-second count. Or

2) If this took place in B's front court you have nothing.

But in both cases B1 has to be careful as to not commit a traveling violation.

MTD, Sr.

Unless he was using older grammar rules, "he" probably meant "he".


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1