The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Thrower-in delay (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/84112-thrower-delay.html)

youngref33 Sat Dec 10, 2011 01:42pm

Thrower-in delay
 
Coaching friend of mine asked me this. Can't find anything in the rules against it. He was told it was a technical.

Thrower-in passes ball in. He then delays before stepping in bounds.

Do we have a call? If so what? And can you give me a rule or case book reference I can show him?

26 Year Gap Sat Dec 10, 2011 01:52pm

I couldn't find it in this year's rule book, but it was encompassed by the delay in returning to the court provision. There was a sister play of leaving the court for an unauthorized reason, which was changed from a technical to a violation a few seasons back. I had hopes that this one would have been changed to a violation as well, but it hasn't been. Bigger fish to fry, I guess.:rolleyes:

mbyron Sat Dec 10, 2011 01:52pm

Probably thinking of 10-3-2: A player shall not..."purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds."

The case play gives you an idea of how to call this:

10.3.2 SITUATION A: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes
the throw-in to A2 and then purposefully delays his/her return by taking
four or five steps along the end line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set
by A3 and A4. A1 gets a return pass from A2 and takes an unchallenged try for
goal. RULING: A1 is charged with a technical foul for purposefully delaying
his/her return to the court following the throw-in. A1’s movement out of bounds
along the end line was to take advantage of the screen and return to the court in
a more advantageous position.

26 Year Gap Sat Dec 10, 2011 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron (Post 803382)
Probably thinking of 10-3-2: A player shall not..."purposely and/or deceitfully delay returning after legally being out of bounds."

The case play gives you an idea of how to call this:

10.3.2 SITUATION A: A1 has the ball out of bounds for a throw-in. A1 completes
the throw-in to A2 and then purposefully delays his/her return by taking
four or five steps along the end line prior to coming inbounds behind a screen set
by A3 and A4. A1 gets a return pass from A2 and takes an unchallenged try for
goal. RULING: A1 is charged with a technical foul for purposefully delaying
his/her return to the court following the throw-in. A1’s movement out of bounds
along the end line was to take advantage of the screen and return to the court in
a more advantageous position.

Bingo, bango. That's it. But they have 2 more years of altering the sleeve rule before they can properly address this one.

youngref33 Sat Dec 10, 2011 01:57pm

Thanks for the info guys!

Adam Sat Dec 10, 2011 04:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by youngref33 (Post 803388)
Thanks for the info guys!

This does not, imo, refer to a player who takes a second to come back in.

26 Year Gap Sat Dec 10, 2011 04:38pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Snaqwells (Post 803417)
This does not, imo, refer to a player who takes a second to come back in.

It is the guy who is by the lane line and then pops back in near the arc that should draw the whistle. But it should be a violation, not a technical. I hope that turns up in the survey this year, and they (the rules committee) address it rather than more sleeve drama.

bob jenkins Sat Dec 10, 2011 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 26 Year Gap (Post 803422)
It is the guy who is by the lane line and then pops back in near the arc that should draw the whistle. But it should be a violation, not a technical. I hope that turns up in the survey this year, and they (the rules committee) address it rather than more sleeve drama.

+1. We can hope they treat it like the "swinging elbows" that was not called when it was a T, so they changed it to a violation.

Rob1968 Sun Dec 11, 2011 02:05am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 803425)
+1. We can hope they treat it like the "swinging elbows" that was not called when it was a T, so they changed it to a violation.

Yet, they allow for a "swinging elbows" violation, by the shooter's teammate, to kill a shot - see 9.13.1, which seems terribly inconsistent.
So, if the teammate swings elbows and makes contact, the ball isn't dead until the attempt has ended, but if there's no contact, the ball is immediately dead, and cannot count. Weird!

bob jenkins Sun Dec 11, 2011 09:59am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 803538)
Yet, they allow for a "swinging elbows" violation, by the shooter's teammate, to kill a shot - see 9.13.1, which seems terribly inconsistent.
So, if the teammate swings elbows and makes contact, the ball isn't dead until the attempt has ended, but if there's no contact, the ball is immediately dead, and cannot count. Weird!

That's a different issue, but I agree with you.

Raymond Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 803538)
Yet, they allow for a "swinging elbows" violation, by the shooter's teammate, to kill a shot - see 9.13.1, which seems terribly inconsistent.
So, if the teammate swings elbows and makes contact, the ball isn't dead until the attempt has ended, but if there's no contact, the ball is immediately dead, and cannot count. Weird!

Just a like a violation by the offense during an AP throw-in will cause the arrow to change but a foul by the offense will not.

BktBallRef Sun Dec 11, 2011 10:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 803538)
Yet, they allow for a "swinging elbows" violation, by the shooter's teammate, to kill a shot - see 9.13.1, which seems terribly inconsistent.
So, if the teammate swings elbows and makes contact, the ball isn't dead until the attempt has ended, but if there's no contact, the ball is immediately dead, and cannot count. Weird!

Wierd AND uncommon. I've yet to see a swinging elbows violation by a player that didn't have the ball.

Rob1968 Mon Dec 12, 2011 09:49am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BktBallRef (Post 803760)
Wierd AND uncommon. I've yet to see a swinging elbows violation by a player that didn't have the ball.

Nor have I. The inconsistency of the penalties, in seeming inverse proportion to the acts, is curious. It goes to the conversations ln the Forum regarding poor wording of rule changes.

Raymond Mon Dec 12, 2011 10:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rob1968 (Post 803833)
Nor have I. The inconsistency of the penalties, in seeming inverse proportion to the acts, is curious. It goes to the conversations ln the Forum regarding poor wording of rule changes.

I'm guessing the reason the violation by a teammate of the shooter kills the shot is because if the shot goes in there would be no way to penalize the violation.

A foul by the shooter's teammate on the other hand comes with the penalty of one personal foul charged to the offender and possibly free throws for the offended team.

Loudwhistle2 Mon Dec 12, 2011 03:49pm

Dang, another rule I'm confused on.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by BadNewsRef (Post 803750)
Just a like a violation by the offense during an AP throw-in will cause the arrow to change but a foul by the offense will not.

Can someone point me to where I can find this foul situation to be true. I thought the offense loses the arrow when they foul on an AP throwin?

Thanks


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1