The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Did the rookies get this right? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/83617-did-rookies-get-right.html)

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:01pm

Did the rookies get this right?
 
I was helping train some rec league rookies last night at a 6th grade boys scrimmage. During an AP throw-in, the offensive team was called for an illegal screen while the inbounder was still holding the ball. The refs gave the ball to the other team for a throw-in but weren't sure whether or not to change the AP arrow. Later, almost the same thing happened during another AP throw-in but this time the inbounder stepped over the line prior to the throw-in for a violation. Again, they weren't sure what to do, if anything, with the AP arrow. In the first case, they finally decided to leave it alone. In the second case, they discussed it then changed it. Were they correct in either case?

tref Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:05pm

2 for 2

APG Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:06pm

Are you asking this as a question for rookies or yourself not sure?

Either way 6-4-5

berserkBBK Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:22pm

They got it right. I had a defensive holding on an AP throw in where the home team was on defense. I know we all have our terrible table stories but they refused to keep the arrow for black. It was an under level game and we had to have the head coach for white tell the table to flip it. Later he told me he did not know if I was correct but "I sold the crap out of it." We laughed and I assured him it was correct and we moved on

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:22pm

The arrow is changed when the AP throw-in ends.

The throw-in ends when the ball is touched on the court, or the inbounding team violates.

The throw-in does NOT end on a foul.

So, the first throw-in did not end, and the arrow should not be changed.

The second throw-in did end, and the arrow should be changed.

tref Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by berserkBBK (Post 801300)
I know we all have our terrible table stories but they refused to keep the arrow for black. It was an under level game...

Thanks for coming out, God bless & good night!

Toren Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:26pm

Impressed
 
This is impressive for two rookies to get this right. Two solid calls.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801312)
This is impressive for two rookies to get this right. Two solid calls.

Yeah - one of them is a college freshman and the other a HS junior. They'll both be working a "competitive" MS program that starts next week. The assignor asked me to work with them last night and, overall, they both did a really good job. I worked one quarter with each of them, then let them work the second half together.

Oh yeah, neither of them called any reaches or over the backs. And yes, I made sure they both now know the first rule of officiating. :D

Camron Rust Fri Dec 02, 2011 01:55pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 801301)
The throw-in ends when the ball is touched on the court, or the inbounding team violates.

I think you meant...

The throw-in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched, or the inbounding team violates.

A kick is not a legal touch and the throwin doesn't end on a kick. The arrow will be unchanged and the new throwin will be for the kick, not the AP.

Also, "on the court" has, at least in some contexts, been interpreted to be inbounds (see LGP rules). An OOB player touching the released throwin will have violated but it is not a throwin violation. That is considered to be a legal throwin that has ended....then a OOB violation occurred....arrow changes.

Mark Padgett Fri Dec 02, 2011 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801312)
This is impressive for two rookies to get this right. Two solid calls.

The one that impressed me the most was when a throw-in went OOB without being touched and the rookie brought it back to the original spot for the throw-in. I know a few veterans who don't get this one right.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2011 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 801342)
I think you meant...

The throw-in ends when the ball is LEGALLY touched, or the inbounding team violates.

A kick is not a legal touch and the throwin doesn't end on a kick. The arrow will be unchanged and the new throwin will be for the kick, not the AP.

Also, "on the court" has, at least in some contexts, been interpreted to be inbounds (see LGP rules). An OOB player touching the released throwin will have violated but it is not a throwin violation. That is considered to be a legal throwin that has ended....then a OOB violation occurred....arrow changes.

Correct on both counts.

mbyron Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801312)
This is impressive for two rookies to get this right. Two solid calls.

Yeah, the probability of flipping a coin to get both calls right is just 0.25!

rockyroad Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Camron Rust (Post 801342)

A kick is not a legal touch and the throwin doesn't end on a kick. The arrow will be unchanged and the new throwin will be for the kick, not the AP.

Hmmm...what if the kick is by the offensive team? Wouldn't that be a violation and therefore the arrow WOULD change since the inbounding team violated?

APG Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 801360)
Hmmm...what if the kick is by the offensive team? Wouldn't that be a violation and therefore the arrow WOULD change since the inbounding team violated?

I always took that to mean a throw-in violation...not just any violation.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:45pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 801364)
I always took that to mean a throw-in violation...not just any violation.

NCAA specifically says "throw-in violation." Don't have my FED books handy to check, but I think it is (or interpreted as) the same.

Toren Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:50pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by AllPurposeGamer (Post 801364)
I always took that to mean a throw-in violation...not just any violation.

By the wording of the rule 6-4-5 it doesn't specify. This might be one of those intent instances that some of our leadership can shed some light on.

At this point, I'm going change of arrow and the next throw in for Team B is for the kick by Team A.

mtn335 Fri Dec 02, 2011 03:59pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 801365)
NCAA specifically says "throw-in violation." Don't have my FED books handy to check, but I think it is (or interpreted as) the same.

NFHS 4.42.5 (Emphasis mine)

The throw-in ends when:
(a) the passed ball touches or is legally touched by another player inbounds
(b) The passed ball touches ir is touched by another player out of bounds, except as in 7-5-7 [endline after score]
(c) The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation

Camron Rust Fri Dec 02, 2011 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by rockyroad (Post 801360)
Hmmm...what if the kick is by the offensive team? Wouldn't that be a violation and therefore the arrow WOULD change since the inbounding team violated?

You're correct. I didn't consider a kick by the offensive team. I was only thinking of the defensive team kicking the ball. The part about the throwin team violating is not restricted to throwin violations...but just violations.

RULE 6-4-5 . . . The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates. (cut more on fouls)

While all violations end the throwin it doesn't limit the loss of the arrow to throwin violations..

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2011 04:05pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801368)
By the wording of the rule 6-4-5 it doesn't specify. This might be one of those intent instances that some of our leadership can shed some light on.

At this point, I'm going change of arrow and the next throw in for Team B is for the kick by Team A.

You need to look in the right spot -- 4-throw-in (4-42?) and see when it ends. I'm "certain" it says "throw-in violation."

mtn335 Fri Dec 02, 2011 04:21pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 801376)
You need to look in the right spot -- 4-throw-in (4-42?) and see when it ends. I'm "certain" it says "throw-in violation."

4-42-5, I put the text above. Throw-in violation only.

Toren Fri Dec 02, 2011 04:38pm

Thanks guys. I'm convinced.

4-42-5 is the secondary part of this ruling.

Team doesn't lose arrow, but they would lose throw-in privledge and Team B gets the ball for a kicking violation by Team A. No change in arrow.

Scratch85 Fri Dec 02, 2011 04:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801385)
Thanks guys. I'm convinced.

4-42-5 is the secondary part of this ruling.

Team doesn't lose arrow, but they would lose throw-in privledge and Team B gets the ball for a kicking violation by Team A. No change in arrow.

I'm not sure what play you are referring to but I think you have this one wrong.

A/P throw-in for Team A. Player A1 commits a kicking violation. Team B gets a throw in for the violation. The arrow is reversed and pointed to Team B for the next A/P throw-in.

6.4.5A

rockyroad Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mtn335 (Post 801381)
4-42-5, I put the text above. Throw-in violation only.

Beautiful!

I learned something today.

Life is good.

Toren Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:41pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 801387)
I'm not sure what play you are referring to but I think you have this one wrong.

A/P throw-in for Team A. Player A1 commits a kicking violation. Team B gets a throw in for the violation. The arrow is reversed and pointed to Team B for the next A/P throw-in.

6.4.5A

Look at 6-4-4 and 4-42-5.

6-4-4 the direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5.

4-42-5 c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

Consequently, a kick ball by team A doesn't end Team A's alternating possession throw in. So they don't lose the arrow. They keep the arrow, but team B gets the throw-in for the kick ball violation.

6-4-5 The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates.

As the other rules help us interpret what violations are being referred to, we can deduce from 4-42-5 c that it's only throw-in violations.

Scratch85 Fri Dec 02, 2011 05:53pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Toren (Post 801399)
Look at 6-4-4 and 4-42-5.

6-4-4 the direction of the possession arrow is reversed immediately after an alternating possession throw-in ends. An alternating-possession throw-in ends when the throw-in ends as in 4-42-5.

4-42-5 c. The throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

Consequently, a kick ball by team A doesn't end Team A's alternating possession throw in. So they don't lose the arrow. They keep the arrow, but team B gets the throw-in for the kick ball violation.

6-4-5 The opportunity to make an alternating-possession throw-in is lost if the throw-in team violates.

As the other rules help us interpret what violations are being referred to, we can deduce from 4-42-5 c that it's only throw-in violations.

Case Book 6.4.5 Situation A.

4-42-5 tells us how a throw-in ends. If an A/P throw-in ends we reverse the arrow. But that is not the only time we reverse the arrow. 6-4-5 gives us another time. The Case Book play 6.4.5A even tells us that a violation by Team A during an A/P throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure.

If the throw-in ends as described in 4-42-5 then they used their opportunity and they did not lose it. 6-4-5 is a way (and the only way) to lose the arrow without completing the throw-in.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 02, 2011 09:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 801387)
I'm not sure what play you are referring to but I think you have this one wrong.

A/P throw-in for Team A. Player A1 commits a kicking violation. Team B gets a throw in for the violation. The arrow is reversed and pointed to Team B for the next A/P throw-in.

6.4.5A

The "violation" in 6.4.5A means a "throw-in violation" (5-seconds, stepping across the line, not passing the ball directly on the court, etc.).

It doesn't mean a kicking violation.

Adam Fri Dec 02, 2011 10:10pm

So, AP throw-in, A1 throws a throw-in pass. The pass is heading OOB and A2 is giving chase, he's left with the choice of letting it go OOB or kicking it. You're saying if he kicks it his team keeps the arrow?

Far fetched? Maybe, but it hardly seems like an intended advantage.

Scratch85 Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins (Post 801468)
The "violation" in 6.4.5A means a "throw-in violation" (5-seconds, stepping across the line, not passing the ball directly on the court, etc.).

It doesn't mean a kicking violation.

I don't agree.

6-4 are the rules addressing Alternating Possession.
4-42 are the rules addressing Throw-in, Thrower and Designated Spot.

4-42 does not address or have any bearing on when the Alternating Possession arrow is reversed. It only addresses the the items mentioned above. For the purposes of Alternating Possession, it does tell us when a throw-in ends. And a throw-in ends when the throw-in team commits a throw-in violation.

6-4 addresses how we are to handle the Alternating Possessions and when the Alternating Arrow is to be reversed. It has 2 articles that address this. 6-4-4 tells us that the arrow is reversed when the throw-in ends. If 6-4-5 didn't mean something other that 6-4-4, why would it be in the book. It would be redundant.

"Violation" is defined in 4-46. Throw-in violations are part of that definition as described in 9-2. But I don't believe the NF chose to write their rules by saying that we defined "violations" but as far as 6-4 goes only consider 9-2
and ignore 9-4. I do think 9-4 is the only violation that would likely happen during a throw-in, but it is very possible.

If 6-4-5 didn't mean any violation, why would 6.4.5A say: "A violation by Team A during an alternating-possession throw-in is the only way a team loses its turn under the procedure?" All of the ways that a throw-in ends would be a way that a team loses its turn under the procedure.

I am not convinced that 6-4-5 only refers to throw-in violations.

Edit: Since this thread has taken on a few scenarios, let me clarify: Team A is awarded an alternating-possession throw-in. A violation (9-4 or any violation 9-1 thru 13) by Team B = no reversal of the alternating-possession arrow. A violation (9-4 or any violation 9-1 thru 13) by Team A = reversal of the alternating-possession arrow.

bainsey Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Scratch85 (Post 801505)
I am not convinced that 6-4-5 only refers to throw-in violations.

I've been instructed that it's ALL violations. Thinking about it, though, what kind of violations COULD you have here that aren't throw-in violations? Kicked ball, excessive elbow swinging (almost non-existent here), anything else?

Scratch85 Sat Dec 03, 2011 12:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bainsey (Post 801519)
I've been instructed that it's ALL violations. Thinking about it, though, what kind of violations COULD you have here that aren't throw-in violations? Kicked ball, excessive elbow swinging (almost non-existent here), anything else?

Probably only 9-4 and 9-13. I am not very imaginative but like you, I think 9-13 (elbows) is very unlikely. But a kick or fist seems like it could happen.

ga314ref Mon Dec 05, 2011 03:06am

I'm not being snarky. This is a serious question.
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Mark Padgett (Post 801321)
Oh yeah, neither of them called any reaches or over the backs.

But they called an "illegal screen". What made it illegal?

APG Mon Dec 05, 2011 03:24am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ga314ref (Post 801917)
But they called an "illegal screen". What made it illegal?

Most likely a blocking foul.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1