The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   He bobbled. Did he travel? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/8354-he-bobbled-did-he-travel.html)

JeffTheRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:17am

This is a situation that was described to me by a brother official.

A1, who has not yet dribbled, is holding the ball while closely guarded by B1. Under the pressure of B1's defense, A1 pivoting loses balance, and takes several steps. Before lifting the pivot foot, A1 also loses control of the ball (bobbles it). Did A1 travel and why?

Let me make a fool of myself first.

If it is a travel, and I think it is, it is because 'bobbling the ball', once A1 has gained control, is not defined - thus A1 is still in control. Interrupted dribble, that is defined. Bobbling the ball on the catch, that is understood, though I'm not sure where - in the Casebook I would think - it is codified. But just bobbling the ball without their being a foul, without the ball being tapped away, this is not an inference that an Official can properly make. You juggle the ball after you have gotten it in control and you take steps, you traveled.

Yah?

bigwhistle Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:26am

Ever hear of the term "fumble"?

BktBallRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
This is a situation that was described to me by a brother official.

A1, who has not yet dribbled, is holding the ball while closely guarded by B1. Under the pressure of B1's defense, A1 pivoting loses balance, and takes several steps. Before lifting the pivot foot, A1 also loses control of the ball (bobbles it). Did A1 travel and why?

Let me make a fool of myself first.

If it is a travel, and I think it is, it is because 'bobbling the ball', once A1 has gained control, is not defined - thus A1 is still in control. Interrupted dribble, that is defined. Bobbling the ball on the catch, that is understood, though I'm not sure where - in the Casebook I would think - it is codified. But just bobbling the ball without their being a foul, without the ball being tapped away, this is not an inference that an Official can properly make. You juggle the ball after you have gotten it in control and you take steps, you traveled.

Yah?

Nah.

NF 4-21
A fumble is the accidental loss of player control when the ball unintentionally drops or slips from a player' s grasp.

NF 4-43
Traveling (running with the ball) is moving a foot or feet in any direction in excess of prescribed limits while holding the ball.

JeffTheRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 10:37am

So, it's an inference that can be properly made?
 
Purely a judgment call? A player can bail out of stumbling in this circumstance by 'fumbling' the ball?

Camron Rust Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:53am

Re: So, it's an inference that can be properly made?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
Purely a judgment call? A player can bail out of stumbling in this circumstance by 'fumbling' the ball?
Fumbling is "accidently" losing control. It's up to the official to determine whether it was accidental or <em>controlled</em>.

BktBallRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 11:58am

Re: So, it's an inference that can be properly made?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
Purely a judgment call? A player can bail out of stumbling in this circumstance by 'fumbling' the ball?
Stumbling is not fumbling. If the he stumbles, lifts the pivot foot and puts it back down, it's traveling if he's HOLDING the ball. If he's already lost control of the ball, it's nothing.

And, no, it's not a difficult call to make.

mick Tue Apr 22, 2003 12:06pm

Re: Re: So, it's an inference that can be properly made?
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by JeffTheRef
Purely a judgment call? A player can bail out of stumbling in this circumstance by 'fumbling' the ball?
Fumbling is "accidently" losing control. It's up to the official to determine whether it was accidental or <em>controlled</em>.

Camron,
I agree. I have no problem 'inferring'.

How's your wheel?
mick

JeffTheRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 01:39pm

Well, take it one step, hehe, further . . .
 
What really happened, I am told, is that the guy did this while unguarded. The idea that one can fumble the ball unprompted is hard to swallow. Have you ever actually seen this happen?

Hawks Coach Tue Apr 22, 2003 01:49pm

This isn't the exact same situation, but it is similar.

Tournament we were in three weeks ago. We make a pass upcourt, ball is caught by pinning ball to shoulder/neck with one hand (apparent player control), then whatever control was there is lost and ball is bobbled, couple of steps taken while bobbling ball, then control regained, no more steps taken. Ball never hit floor, so we can't call this a dribble. There were not two steps taken while ball was pinned. Ball is clearly not under control while steps were being taken. Ref called travel, I pleaded no control. Ref agreed that there was no control while the steps were taken, but said control was established first, then lost, so travel was the right call. Thoughts?

mick Tue Apr 22, 2003 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
This isn't the exact same situation, but it is similar.

Tournament we were in three weeks ago. We make a pass upcourt, ball is caught by pinning ball to shoulder/neck with one hand (apparent player control), then whatever control was there is lost and ball is bobbled, couple of steps taken while bobbling ball, then control regained, no more steps taken. Ball never hit floor, so we can't call this a dribble. There were not two steps taken while ball was pinned. Ball is clearly not under control while steps were being taken. Ref called travel, I pleaded no control. Ref agreed that there was no control while the steps were taken, but said control was established first, then lost, so travel was the right call. Thoughts?

I agree with you, Coach.
That official made one up cuz it seemed like the thing to do when he did it, but we know that ugly isn't always illegal. Otherwise, they wouldn't let me ref.

Dan_ref Tue Apr 22, 2003 02:01pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
This isn't the exact same situation, but it is similar.

Tournament we were in three weeks ago. We make a pass upcourt, ball is caught by pinning ball to shoulder/neck with one hand (apparent player control), then whatever control was there is lost and ball is bobbled, couple of steps taken while bobbling ball, then control regained, no more steps taken. Ball never hit floor, so we can't call this a dribble. There were not two steps taken while ball was pinned. Ball is clearly not under control while steps were being taken. Ref called travel, I pleaded no control. Ref agreed that there was no control while the steps were taken, but said control was established first, then lost, so travel was the right call. Thoughts?

Maybe he punched up the wrong "instant response" button - he probably meant to say "no coach, he had control" but got "hey coach, he never had control" instead. Then he had to say something stupid to cover himself. ;)

Anyway, it sounds like a case of it looked too ugly to let pass without a whistle. :)

canuckrefguy Tue Apr 22, 2003 02:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Ref agreed that there was no control while the steps were taken, but said control was established first, then lost, so travel was the right call.
YIKES...if you're gonna botch a call, you can at least find a better way to bull**** the coach than contradicting the rules twice in one sentence!

Hawks Coach Tue Apr 22, 2003 02:40pm

First, I don't think he was BSing me, because this pair of officials was one of the better I have had this year (PA refs - they've been great every time I have been there!). They were willing to pass on the bobbling travels and the fumble double dribbles that other refs think they need to call. So this one call stood out among other (no) calls they made. We had the same crew for three games in two days, so you know what they are calling and not calling. And I think that this is how he views the rule.

And his response is better than what usually happens, like when I have a player fumble on the pick-up of a dribble and they get called for DD. You ask about a fumble and all you get is the blank stare, as though they really don't know there is a rule on that.

JeffTheRef Tue Apr 22, 2003 03:29pm

Hawks Coach - in essence, it is the same situation
 
and, as I think this thread's responses have shown, it is difficult and important. One of the most common errors I see is when a player is called for a travel, say, when falling down trying to control the ball. It all depends on when control is gained.

In a local D2 college game a few years back, a long pass ended up on the catcher's shoulder, and the player managed to balance the ball there while taking a few steps till he had reached up and back to gain control. The ruling was he didn't have control. 'Balancing' the ball on your shoulder is not control . . . although, what would you do if some clown headed the ball in little bumps, soccer-style? Is THAT control?

Nevadaref Wed Apr 23, 2003 04:01am

This is a coach saying this???
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
This isn't the exact same situation, but it is similar.

Tournament we were in three weeks ago. We make a pass upcourt, ball is caught by pinning ball to shoulder/neck with one hand (apparent player control), then whatever control was there is lost and ball is bobbled, couple of steps taken while bobbling ball, then control regained, no more steps taken. Ball never hit floor, so we can't call this a dribble. There were not two steps taken while ball was pinned. Ball is clearly not under control while steps were being taken. Ref called travel, I pleaded no control. Ref agreed that there was no control while the steps were taken, but said control was established first, then lost, so travel was the right call. Thoughts?

Once again I am simply stunned by your rules knowledge. Be careful, they won't let you coach anymore if you can't fail the rules test!

Mlancaster Wed Apr 23, 2003 11:45am

fumble
 
A good rule of thumb taught in a couple of camps I have been to:

It is OK to fumble-dribble-fumble.
It is not OK to dribble-fumble-dribble.


Hawks Coach Wed Apr 23, 2003 12:47pm

Re: This is a coach saying this???
 
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Nevadaref
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Once again I am simply stunned by your rules knowledge. Be careful, they won't let you coach anymore if you can't fail the rules test!
Thanks, but don't be stunned. Just credit the experienced people on this board with having provided me a free rules clinic for the last few years. I wasn't here knowledge wise three years ago. By staying around this group, I continue to get a lot of knowledge of the nuances of these rules and how different people cna read them.

I also think there are lots of coaches that have pretty solid rules knowledge, and you probably don't hear as much from them. The louder they are, the less they know in my experience. And we all get some things wrong - just look at the number of refs, coaches and fans that come on looking for guidance, and turn out to have mis-understood a rule.

I owned (and opened) NFHS rule books for several years before coming on the board, but have learned much more since getting into the discussions. The rules are easier to understand once you know how to read them.

zebraman Wed Apr 23, 2003 01:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach

And his response is better than what usually happens, like when I have a player fumble on the pick-up of a dribble and they get called for DD. You ask about a fumble and all you get is the blank stare, as though they really don't know there is a rule on that.

Coach, you're more knowledgable than you give yourself credit for. At a recent girls state tournament game, I had this exact thing happen. Two-person mechanics and I was trail. The girl went to end her dribble around the top of the key and fumbled the ball so I called nothing. Unfortunately my partner (yes, even at the state tournament some officials fish in your pond at times) decided to call a double dribble from the baseline as lead. It was a blowout game so I decided to just go with the flow and head the other way. On my evaluations, three of my four evaluators had a clue and wrote down, "your partner shouldn't have made that call." Unfortunately, one of the evaluators wrote down, "you missed an obvious double-dribble right in front of you and your parnter had to call it." This evaluator had been a ref for 30 years. Yikes.

Z

Nevadaref Thu Apr 24, 2003 04:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
The girl went to end her dribble around the top of the key and fumbled the ball so I called nothing. Unfortunately my partner (yes, even at the state tournament some officials fish in your pond at times) decided to call a double dribble from the baseline as lead.

...three of my four evaluators had a clue and wrote down, "your partner shouldn't have made that call." Z

Could you please clarify whether these three evaluators wrote this because they believed that this wasn't a double dribble and shouldn't have been called at all or because they knew the play was not in your partner's area and that is why he shouldn't have made that call?
The crux of the situation was that this was not a double dribble. So the reasoning behind what these evaluators wrote is more important than what they wrote.
The comment you passed along seems ambiguous to me.

zebraman Fri Apr 25, 2003 08:25am

Nevadaref,

The other three evaluators indicated that it wasn't a double dribble <b> and </b> that my partner should not have been looking in my area.

Z

Nevadaref Sat Apr 26, 2003 05:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by zebraman
Nevadaref,

The other three evaluators indicated that it wasn't a double dribble <b> and </b> that my partner should not have been looking in my area.

Z

FANTASTIC!


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1