![]() |
BC at the end of the game.
Did anyone see the end of the VT-Minnesota game?
There was a BC violation called on a throw-in where the ball was tipped and not controlled by VT and the ball went into the BC and a violation was called. This might be one where APG might need to clip up. I could not believe that was called. Peace |
Not only could I not believe that it was called, I was surprised that there was no visible complaining from the VT bench.
|
I noticed this and was shocked. I actually recorded it.
|
I did see that. I was shocked as soon as he called it. How could that happen? Didn't think that it was difficult at all to see there was no possession. Didn't need the replay.
|
Florida St. v. Michigan State Game too!!!!
Then there was another call made in FSU v. MSU game too. A throw from the end line and the MSU player bobbles the ball and then the ball falls into the BC and the official calls a violation. Well at least they get together and discuss the situation and get the call right.
Man it has not been a good night for the officials in the Big Ten-ACC Challenge that is for sure. Peace |
Saw that one. The official looked really unsure of himself when he called it.
Thought Ted Valentine standing in front of Izzo was comical. |
Here's the play in question. No doubt an incorrect call:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/siYxqLLmdac" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
Thanks man. Can you get the MSU play I was referring to as well?
Peace |
Quote:
|
Hmm...
Not saying was the right call to make, but is it possible the calling official looked at this as PC when he muffed the catch with both hands, then appears to get one dribble in before the ball goes into BC. Wondering if his interp of what he saw was a controlled dribble prior to the ball/player entering BC. ? Even still, not much control to the dribble, dunno if I could make that call. |
Quote:
I just saw the highlight again. The play took place at 8:30 in the first half. Peace |
Quote:
I'm sure after looking at the tape, he wishes he could have the call back because that wouldn't be a backcourt violation under NFHS, NCAA, or NBA (final two minutes of the 4th/OT). |
Quote:
Maybe he had FIBA on his mind because it would have been a backcourt violation there! |
Quote:
|
Quote:
<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/2i__h5I4eHU" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
APG,
We all appreciate you posting the vids. I'm curious about the lack of audio. Is there a way to have audio in your clips? |
Quote:
|
VT-Minn
I'm glad to see this post this morning. Watching game on tv last night, I thought the call was wrong, but figured it was an NCAA rule of team possession/control on a throw in. You guys are saying not so what's up? I had sound down on tv and didn't hear any discussion about it. Wonder if Bobby Knight had anything to say..I think he was doing game. Like someone else posted, the VT coach seemed to accept it without much argument, but it was a rather huge play, with VT setting up last shot down by one. Come out of TO and that's what happens? Ouch
|
Chances are the announcers will take what they saw last night and project it, assuming the call was correct. They're more likely to criticize future refs who don't make that call.
|
Quote:
Peace |
Quote:
|
The announcers may no mention of this being a wrong call.
The only thing Bob Knight said was he thought maybe a Minnesota defender got his hand in there and defelected it. But, then when the replay was shown it was clear there was no touch by defender. Nobody said a word. VT was behind one point with under 10 seconds to go and the ball was given back to UM when this was called a violation. |
Quote:
Peace |
This just in
Official has been disciplined:
Big Ten admits officiating error near end of Gophers/Virginia Tech game | StarTribune.com |
Disciplined
How so?
|
And this was a very well known official this happened to. That is just too bad.
Peace |
What gets me the most is the VT staff said nothing!
Izzo certainly was knowing of the rule. |
Quote:
|
Must be pretty embarrassing for the calling official when the call is corrected. How the @#$@#$ do you explain that screw up. "Uh coach I messed up. I don't know basic definitions".
Yup, not knowing rule 4 kinda is not a good thing. At least at that level. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:44pm. |