![]() |
Good 'you make the call' traveling video
Found this on Youtube and thought it was helpful.
Travel or Not Part 8: You Make the Calls - YouTube |
Embedding for convenience:
<iframe width="420" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/fcoUc6K-g9k" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe> |
I have a big problem with a couple of these "legal" plays.
|
Would you care to elaborate?
|
The "psuedo" jump stop followed by the true jump stop. He gathers the ball with one foot on the floor, then jumps and lands on the other foot, then jumps again and lands on both. When you jump off one foot and land on the other, that alone is a travel, no matter what happens afterward.
On the behind the back move he catches the ball with one foot on the floor, then simply passes the ball from one hand to the other while taking two more steps. |
I have no idea what a "psuedo" jump stop is supposed to mean. How about just sticking to the rule book definition of a jump stop.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
There was one "illegal" one that was debatable....where they declared the player had a pivot foot and lifted it before releasing the dribble. I'm not so sure the pivot foot had been established to start with since a pivot foot doesn't exist until the other foot touches in a step. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
On the behind the back move, he gathers with his feet in the air. It's a layup from there. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Your statement is true only when jumping of the non-pivot foot and landing on the pivot foot -- and that's relatively rare. |
Quote:
|
+1
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
4-44-3b: After coming to a stop and establishing a pivot foot, if the player jumps, neither foot may be returned to the floor.......... Well, the argument follows that the pivot foot has not been established until the second foot touches the floor in a step, and you cannot have a travel without the pivot foot established. Well if this blanket statement were true, the player could catch the ball standing on his left foot and hop on that same foot from one end to the other. So that leaves us with separating a step from a jump. Yes, a single normal step of a running person involves both feet off the floor briefly. But is the intent of the rule that a player be allowed to catch the ball standing on one foot, hesitate, and then do a standing broad jump and land on the other foot? My opinion is no. |
Quote:
A "Step" is "touching the other foot to the floor." It's only a grey area for those who refuse to see black and white. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:00am. |